Veteran Indian Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar set to return

BH-BAIB

I wanted to write a lot of smack on this but thought why bother, why not just repost  what I wrote a few months ago? Here goes:

My theory of bowler selection for the Indian team is simple.  First, avoid whenever possible, selecting a bowler by the surname Kumar. It’s an ordinary name, without the weft and weight an accomplished bowler should possess. Kumar? Kumar?  If his parents put such little thought in choosing their surname, how much of an effort is the lad himself making in his bowling, you wonder.  Remember Praveen Kumar?

The more complicated or multisyllabic the name, the better that bowler is going to be.  Hence Bhuvneshwar Kumar was a better choice (if such a choice were to be made) than the syllable - deprived, and pace deprived, Mukesh Kumar.  As per my theory, had his parents named him Mukararaladbadavhalchittlralal Kumaramangalam, he probably would have had fifty Test wickets by now. 

Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, Erapalli Prasanna, Venkataraghavan.  Such magnificent, syllable rich worthies who set a glorious tradition followed by Ravichander Ashwin.  With a name like that you knew he had to succeed.  Anil was saved by his unusual surname, Kumble.  And the ostensibly simply named Kapil was actually Nikhanj, hence clearly destined for greatness. And if you’re named Javagal or Zaheer or Venkatesh, these somewhat more unusual names predict you’re going to do well. 

Look at the magnificently named Jasprit Bumrah, or Mohammed Siraj.  They may lack a few syllables compared to others, but their names stand out.  I mean to have Bumrah or Siraj or Shami as a surname requires incredible foresight, you know these boys were born to bowl for India. Basis that, I now have high hopes for Prasidh.  

Of course based on my theory Jaydev Unadkat should have had 500 wickets by now, but I feel that it’s the fault of the selectors, who should have paid more attention to the name.  And given him at least 200 games. 

Thanks for coming to my Ted Talk. Do not bother to reply if your name doesn’t have at least three syllables.

Edited by NameGoesHere
25 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said:

I wanted to write a lot of smack on this but thought why bother, why not just repost  what I wrote a few months ago? Here goes:

My theory of bowler selection for the Indian team is simple.  First, avoid whenever possible, selecting a bowler by the surname Kumar. It’s an ordinary name, without the weft and weight an accomplished bowler should possess. Kumar? Kumar?  If his parents put such little thought in choosing their surname, how much of an effort is the lad himself making in his bowling, you wonder.  Remember Praveen Kumar?

The more complicated or multisyllabic the name, the better that bowler is going to be.  Hence Bhuvneshwar Kumar was a better choice (if such a choice were to be made) than the syllable - deprived, and pace deprived, Mukesh Kumar.  As per my theory, had his parents named him Mukararaladbadavhalchittlralal Kumaramangalam, he probably would have had fifty Test wickets by now. 

Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, Erapalli Prasanna, Venkataraghavan.  Such magnificent, syllable rich worthies who set a glorious tradition followed by Ravichander Ashwin.  With a name like that you knew he had to succeed.  Anil was saved by his unusual surname, Kumble.  And the ostensibly simply named Kapil was actually Nikhanj, hence clearly destined for greatness. And if you’re named Javagal or Zaheer or Venkatesh, these somewhat more unusual names predict you’re going to do well. 

Look at the magnificently named Jasprit Bumrah, or Mohammed Siraj.  They may lack a few syllables compared to others, but their names stand out.  I mean to have Bumrah or Siraj or Shami as a surname requires incredible foresight, you know these boys were born to bowl for India. Basis that, I now have high hopes for Prasidh.  

Of course based on my theory Jaydev Unadkat should have had 500 wickets by now, but I feel that it’s the fault of the selectors, who should have paid more attention to the name.  And given him at least 200 games. 

Thanks for coming to my Ted Talk. Do not bother to reply if your name doesn’t have at least three syllables.

Now I understood why Thirunavukarasu Kumaran failed as a bowler. :phehe:

I am now worried about future of Mayank Yadav as well.

We should ask him to change his name to Mayankeshwarnath Yadavendra, Harshit Rana should change his name to Harshiteshwar Ranavaidyanathan. 

Kartik Tyagi to Kartikswamy Tyagisekhara.

Rajvardhan Hangargekar is safe on that front.

44 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said:

whats your name btw :D

kya bc hai..if Bhuvi Kumar is back..they are willing to take him for next T20 wcup..all the T20 matches going fwd shud be for T20 wcup prep..PERIOD..

Role of Bhuvi nd other Kumars should be to test the new generation of Indian domestic batters..how they smack their line and length bowling..thats how they can still contribute to Indian cricket..

I feel this is Bhuvi's PR putting pressure on selectors..

2 hours ago, Lord said:

Glad you included Arshdeep :D

I'd have following pace attack

Arshdeep

Prasidh

Mohsin (if fit)

Harshit (as bowling AR)

I want Harshit to debut in ODIs.  5 day and 50 over cricket are his forte till now. 

Mayank Y is bowling so well in 50 over and 20 over cricket that he has to be tried now. 

Mohsin is looking so unfit and obese.  We should not promote unfit cricketers, especially pacers. 

24 minutes ago, express bowling said:

I want Harshit to debut in ODIs.  5 day and 50 over cricket are his forte till now. 

Mayank Y is bowling so well in 50 over and 20 over cricket that he has to be tried now. 

Mohsin is looking so unfit and obese.  We should not promote unfit cricketers, especially pacers. 

Didn't know about Mohsin. Looked good in IPL. Its sad if he has become obese :((.

Mayank is good but its certain that they won't select anyone in T20 without IPL exposure. Sad but its true.

Other than these, Hangargekar,Kuldeep Sen,Yudhvir Singh etc should be tried.

Its also very important to groom a genuine pacer who can bat at 8.

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

Now I understood why Thirunavukarasu Kumaran failed as a bowler. :phehe:

I am now worried about future of Mayank Yadav as well.

We should ask him to change his name to Mayankeshwarnath Yadavendra, Harshit Rana should change his name to Harshiteshwar Ranavaidyanathan. 

Kartik Tyagi to Kartikswamy Tyagisekhara.

Rajvardhan Hangargekar is safe on that front.

Yes! Otherwise we are doomed to failure!’ Doomed I tell you!

Edited by NameGoesHere