Suhaan Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 (edited) It started rising with the rise of Umesh,Ishant and then became venomous with Shami's inclusion Yes,I'm talking about India's potent pace attack especially for these conditions Relentless Ishant from one end,then we had a skiddy and highly rapid Umesh who had a stellar home record,didn't allow opposition to have a sigh of relief Shami on the other hand with his beastly quality of picking wickets in cluster,and finish of the mid to tail was icing on the cake The best exponents of reverse swing in modern times That was our golden period,yes it was before Bumrah Bumrah gave it new dimension but nucleus was already there Ashwin,Jadeja were enough to exploit spinning conditions Often we had our pace quartet being the chief destroyers of batting lineups Sadly we don't have those kinds of pacers anymore ,it will be tough to find their replacements ,not 1 but 2 Bumrah is declining,we will certainly won't find another Bumrah maybe in next 20-25 years,honestly But even if we find one Umesh or Shami ,that will be Gold in these conditions We had so many match winners luckily at the same time in bowling but unluckily they'll all go at the same time Filling the hole will be impossible It was great till it lasted Share your thoughts @express bowling @Mosher @rkt.india @vvvslaxman @Lord @Lord @raki05 @Vk1 @singhvivek141@ @AuxiliA @Number @Gollum @rollingstoned @Frustrated @Majesticand others @tweaker Edited October 26, 2024 by Suhaan rollingstoned, singhvivek141, Downtown and 5 others 8
vvvslaxman Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 Bumrah is a different sort of bowler. There is a particular length and channel you have to bowl at. Especially first Test we should have never allowed them to get to 402.
Suhaan Posted October 26, 2024 Author Posted October 26, 2024 5 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Bumrah is a different sort of bowler. There is a particular length and channel you have to bowl at. Especially first Test we should have never allowed them to get to 402. Those two were skiddy and had that length to exploit the conditions raki05, express bowling and Mosher 1 2
Nikhil_cric Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 Just now, Suhaan said: Those two were skiddy and had that length to exploit the conditions They had very effortless and efficient actions which allowed them to sustain pace as well for years.
vvvslaxman Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 4 minutes ago, Suhaan said: Those two were skiddy and had that length to exploit the conditions Yes Length is the key. In between length with seam movement. You can neither come forward nor backward. India needs a resource that can offer a bit of variety.
tweaker Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 Kuldeep Sen was selected at the right time.He had pace ,was experienced while playing for Ranji.He could have been a potent force with Bumrah and Shami. But he got injured after playing one odi. Prasiddh was also selected by the team but he was also injury prone. If this two were bowling alongwith Bumrah amd Shami our fast bowling would have been lethal. This team management wasted lot of time on Mukesh and Avesh . Akashdeep from the lot looks promising, but Rohit has more faith on.Siraj then Akashdeep Harshit could be our solutions but team management preferred Mayank but Mayank is too injury prone to be considered regularly. Ideally Harshit and Akashdeep should have been ready before Australia tour. singhvivek141, Suhaan, express bowling and 1 other 4
Suhaan Posted October 26, 2024 Author Posted October 26, 2024 1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said: Yes Length is the key. In between length with seam movement. You can neither come forward nor backward. India needs a resource that can offer a bit of variety. Why they held back Harshit express bowling 1
vvvslaxman Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 2 minutes ago, Suhaan said: Why they held back Harshit Gambhir for selfish reasons. if he plays he will become a capped player.
Number Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 Shami and Umesh were actually created when the team management and captain gave them roles and responsibilities. If you see how Bumrah and Akashdeep were used in this match, utterly useless and disrespectful to no. 1 bowler in the world. We looked super desperate, after every boundary the fields were changed, no plan for pacers, nothing. They were just waiting for their customary 3-4 overs so that spinners could be tried. Mosher, Manucrick, express bowling and 4 others 7
rkt.india Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 6 minutes ago, Number said: Shami and Umesh were actually created when the team management and captain gave them roles and responsibilities. If you see how Bumrah and Akashdeep were used in this match, utterly useless and disrespectful to no. 1 bowler in the world. We looked super desperate, after every boundary the fields were changed, no plan for pacers, nothing. They were just waiting for their customary 3-4 overs so that spinners could be tried. You have to respect the conditions. Our pacers still got more overs than NZ pacers and that was a mistake by Rohit as they conceded too many runs. There was no business playing more than one pacer on this pitch. Axar in place of deep would have been better. Suhaan and singhvivek141 2
Suhaan Posted October 26, 2024 Author Posted October 26, 2024 1 minute ago, Lord said: naya Kohli nahi chahiye? Paindu Gill hai na naya bhi sasta bhi Lord 1
Chakdephatte Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 2 minutes ago, Lord said: naya Kohli nahi chahiye? That's actually easier for us. Great batsmen will keep coming. Umesh was basically the best bowler for Indian conditions even if he lacked control. And we most probably won't find a bowler as skillful as Shami even though he himself underachieved.
singhvivek141 Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 Jumping straight to the solutions, BCCI and selectors need to immediately lock-in their expectations from what they need from the next-gen pacers. 1. Fitness is an issue with many of our quicks, surely it can't always be sports related injuries. Somewhere something is wrong which the experts need to address, whether it's gym training, lifting too heavy weights, diet or some other causes. If you follow social media handle of young fast bowlers, all you will see is them lifting weights in the gym, hardly any video of them bowling spells after spells on the ground. 2. IPL is too lucrative deal for many pacers, who get used to bowling in T20's by trying some useless gimmicks as their stock bowl. While we need T20 bowlers as well, this shouldn't impact our Test prospects. 3. Broadcast the domestic tournaments, it's a motivation which is unmatched. 4. Appreciate and support quick bowlers who are atleast 132-142k (if they're 6.1 feet plus) and 135-145k (if they're 5.10-6.1 range). If we encounter an express pacer who is skillful, they needs to be appreciated. If we have bowlers who are 125-135 kph, they must have a secondary skill to cover for their lack of reverse swing with the old ball. Fast bowlers are worth a gem. 5. This is toughest, we need good and honest people at all levels. Corruption and politics will give us bowlers like Aaqib Khan who plays for UP at all levels, while a talented quick like Purnank Tyagi will have to knock the doors of railways to get an opportunity for playing even CK Nayudu Trophy. There are good young Test prospects like Himanshu Chauhan, Eden Apple Tom, Prithviraj Yarra, Harshit and many others. We can't lose them. express bowling, Mosher and tapandrun 3
Lord Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 2 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said: That's actually easier for us. Great batsmen will keep coming. Umesh was basically the best bowler for Indian conditions even if he lacked control. And we most probably won't find a bowler as skillful as Shami even though he himself underachieved. That's a myth like 'Indian batsmen are great vs spin' There is no young bat who can bat for time or bat out spells. Our next hope is Sarfaraz who can't resist a big shot for 10 mins. Gill is too inconsistent.
Suhaan Posted October 26, 2024 Author Posted October 26, 2024 4 minutes ago, Lord said: That's a myth like 'Indian batsmen are great vs spin' There is no young bat who can bat for time or bat out spells. Our next hope is Sarfaraz who can't resist a big shot for 10 mins. Gill is too inconsistent. And Sarfaraz is neither a T20 player,wonder why they can't master one art Lord 1
express bowling Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 (edited) For Tests in India / Asia we need skiddy quick pacers who can reverse the ball at pace. This is what Umesh and Shami provided during the 2013 to 2019 period. Akashdeep is skiddy. But not bowling quickly after he had dengue. And his ability to reverse the ball was never that good. The other pacers we brought in after Umesh declined were neither quick nor great exponents of reverse swing. If we wany to find the new Umesh or new Shami then we need to find new pacers who are ... a) skiddy. b) quick in the air c) good at reverse swing Umran Malik could be groomed for this role and taught reverse swing. Need to look out for other skiidy quick pacers in the domestic circuit. Outside Asia we need bouncy quick pacers. Harshit Rana, Mayank Yadav and Kuldeep Sen would be ideal. Prasidh could have been if his attitude was right, but sadly it isn't. So this base is decently covered for the time being. Need one more such pacer if Mayank remains injury prone. Edited October 26, 2024 by express bowling tapandrun, singhvivek141, Mosher and 1 other 4
Ultimate_Game Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 1 hour ago, Lord said: naya Kohli nahi chahiye? Kyon shraap de raha hai... wasn't the last decade of futility and first ever loss to NZ enough? He has made us the laughing stock of intl cricket. Suhaan and Lord 1 1
Suhaan Posted October 26, 2024 Author Posted October 26, 2024 2 hours ago, express bowling said: For Tests in India / Asia we need skiddy quick pacers who can reverse the ball at pace. This is what Umesh and Shami provided during the 2013 to 2019 period. Akashdeep is skiddy. But not bowling quickly after he had dengue. And his ability to reverse the ball was never that good. The other pacers we brought in after Umesh declined were neither quick nor great exponents of reverse swing. If we wany to find the new Umesh or new Shami then we need to find new pacers who are ... a) skiddy. b) quick in the air c) good at reverse swing Umran Malik could be groomed for this role and taught reverse swing. Need to look out for other skiidy quick pacers in the domestic circuit. Outside Asia we need bouncy quick pacers. Harshit Rana, Mayank Yadav and Kuldeep Sen would be ideal. Prasidh could have been if his attitude was right, but sadly it isn't. So this base is decently covered for the time being. Need one more such pacer if Mayank remains injury prone. A young Umesh was as erratic as Umran,sure he can be backed One needs to back like for like,cant have someone like Mukesh/Avesh to play the role of an Umesh or Shami Umesh(barring few occasions )was quite fit as well,problem with these guys is they remain injured at wrong times Mosher and express bowling 2