Sunil Gavaskar hits back at workload management issue: 'Do you think the jawans complain about the cold?'

sage

9 hours ago, putrevus said:

IMO that is not an acceptable excuse, if he felt he was not right he should have sat out.

India played without him and won both tests, they would have done okay without him in other tests too.

He is being asked to create impact that he failed.To me his bowling was one of the biggest disappointment in this series.

He didn't fail but others failed when he played. He didn't get the support from other bowlers. I already posted how Siraj was so poor in the tests Bumrah played. He still picked two fifers, still has better bowling average than anyone else along with stokes.

11 hours ago, sage said:

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/india-tour-of-england/sunil-gavaskar-hits-back-at-workload-management-issue-do-you-think-the-jawans-complain-about-the-cold/articleshow/123107745.cms

Legendary India cricketer Sunil Gavaskar has hit back at the idea of "workload management," citing the example of Indian Army jawans who patrol the borders in the harshest conditions.

“If you're going to succumb to people talking about workload, then you’ll never have your best players on the field," Gavaskar told India Today.

"You’ve got to get them to a situation where you say, 'Hello, you are playing for your country, and when you're playing for your country, you have to forget the aches and pains in your muscles. That’s what happens on the border.'

"Do you think the jawans complain about the cold or the conditions? They are out there, ready to give their lives for the country. You must give your very best for the nation.

"Don’t worry about minor aches and pains. What did Rishabh Pant show you? He came out to bat with a fracture. That’s the kind of spirit you want to see from your team.

"That’s what is expected. Don’t be held back by small injuries. It is an honour, given to you among 140 crore people, to represent India. You are incredibly lucky, and you should not take that lightly. "And we’ve seen this attitude in Siraj—five Test matches, bowling non-stop," he said.

This is why we never had a bowler like Bumrah before in our history and will likely never have in the future. 

I think only Kohli understood how to manage fast bowlers in tests. 

Every country in the world manages fast bowling load and they continue to produce great fast bowlers.

Pakistan stopped that and their bowlers start trundling in a couple of years.

No one would/should want to be a fast bowler in India. Siraj averages around 32, if he is not managed, he would become way worse too. 

Someone remind Mr. Gavaskar that our soldiers pay with their lives and limbs to guard our borders in those harsh conditions. Does he really want to see people dying on a cricket pitch now?

Also, that only those of our bravehearts who are in their peak fitness physically and mentally get chosen to be in those areas and even they are rotated after small stints and get an extended period of rest and recuperation before their next posting (mostly at non-border areas)

Edited by ShoonyaSifar
8 hours ago, putrevus said:

I am not changing anything.I was  talking about all matches he played. 373 was target in first test.He was at his best health then.

Third test he played pitch went flat as the match progressed and it is also understandable he might have picked up injury.But that is not the problem at all.

Problem always was first test.India lost unlosable test, Bumrah was one of the main reasons why it happened.

How is a bowler taking 2 5-fers in 3 tests "failing"? Did you expect Kohli to score 6 100s in 3 tests? 

bumrah  was the pick of the bowlers in the tests he played

I repeat, the guy who was defending Kohli who was failing 5+ years wants bumrah to take a 5-fer not every match, but now every innings.

Never ever seen a bigger hypocrite indian fan in my entire life.

11 hours ago, Gollum said:

Seems like a dig at Bumrah, uncalled for. 

Sunny too has the dehati sporting view, no hope from that generation. 

In 2025, whole sporting world talks about managing workload, but these boomer uncles come up with such lame examples?

Arey fast bowlers ko majdoor manta hai ye

People like him are responsible for batsmen getting credit overdose and pacers are sidelined(140+) making them entitled 

22 minutes ago, New guy said:

How is a bowler taking 2 5-fers in 3 tests "failing"? Did you expect Kohli to score 6 100s in 3 tests? 

bumrah  was the pick of the bowlers in the tests he played

I repeat, the guy who was defending Kohli who was failing 5+ years wants bumrah to take a 5-fer not every match, but now every innings.

Never ever seen a bigger hypocrite indian fan in my entire life.

This genius gentleman believes batsmen failing to chase 193 and 180+ in 4th innings is also Bumrah's fault

Jawans doesn't bowl 90 miles Per hour with stress fracture  on back, Mr Gavaskar. Nothing to do with coldness at the border. Have some sense please. Bumrah's career can be over with one more breakdown. He is a once in a century fast bowler. Please have some respect for a fast bowler who bends his back. You can't win a test match with out 20 wickets irrespective of how many tons you make. In India batsmen are the superstars and fast bowlers are like coolies. No respect whatsoever. 

Edited by devisreeprasadmahesh
37 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Someone remind Mr. Gavaskar that our soldiers pay with their lives and limbs to guard our borders in those harsh conditions. Does he really want to see people dying on a cricket pitch now?

Also, that only those of our bravehearts who are in their peak fitness physically and mentally get chosen to be in those areas and even they are rotated after small stints and get an extended period of rest and recuperation before their next posting (mostly at non-border areas)

Wonder why Sunny chose to play cricket instead of volunteering to serve as a soldier for the country.

3 hours ago, New guy said:

Wonder why Sunny chose to play cricket instead of volunteering to serve as a soldier for the country.

Sunny G is abd will forever be an Indian legend but, after a nearly 38 year long broadcasting career, aged 76, he should really call it a day. His stories are stale, there are no new insights plus many a times his ideas are out of sync with the modern game. Most other commentators from the current times are at least 15 years junior to him, that's where the generational gap reflects even if not so obviously.

3 hours ago, New guy said:

He wanted to. But he would have failed the height cut off.

So he did the next most patriotic thing. Became a batting legend for India and later a biased commentator. 

No wonder India never produced fast bowelrs. Kapil's record could have looked better had India invested in unearthing fast bowlers instead of bowling them to ground. Kapil Dev bowled 30 overs on the trot at Ahmedabad. I am 100% sure he would have been clocking 115-120 by 30th over yet took 9 for 83. 

11 hours ago, rkt.india said:

He didn't fail but others failed when he played. He didn't get the support from other bowlers. I already posted how Siraj was so poor in the tests Bumrah played. He still picked two fifers, still has better bowling average than anyone else along with stokes.

what do you call not showing up while defending 373.

His figures flatter him. Stokes not being main bowler kept them in the matches especially first test without Stokes England was losing this series 4-0.

Without Bumrah India was just fine.

Personally i feel bumrah should have played.

Wi series could have been rested or even Sa with kuldeep jaddu and washington doing most of bowling. Pacers will barely bowl 20 overs in the match.

While sunnyji has been very crude in what has been said, it raises a question. Will ben stokes be rested if the ashes are on the line even if its medically advised? The answer is no.

Gavaskar is defending his own mumbaikar who caused this in first place. Man doesn’t understand fast bowling no wonder he had no bowlers when he was in the team. He need to stop doing commentary and giving opinions. Ravi shastri on the other hand understands cricket better than Gavaskar. Gavaskar became that old guy shouting at the clouds. He initially did this to pant and now bumrah.

22 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Personally i feel bumrah should have played.

Wi series could have been rested or even Sa with kuldeep jaddu and washington doing most of bowling. Pacers will barely bowl 20 overs in the match.

While sunnyji has been very crude in what has been said, it raises a question. Will ben stokes be rested if the ashes are on the line even if its medically advised? The answer is no.

I thought he was injured. He was not rested. Even BCCI came with a statement. The team wanted to not give out any clues about bumrah.