https://www.firstpost.com/entertainment/netflixs-ghooskhor-pandat-controversy-film-body-refuses-to-support-makers-decoding-legal-case-release-dilemma-and-makers-response-over-manoj-bajpayee-starrers-title-13977464.html/amp

Since when did we start calling Pandit as Pandat ( like Pakjabi pigs ) ? 

Shame on the makers of this piece of ****. 

Was a huge fan of Manoj Bajpai and his performance in family man was really good - surprised he agreed to work under this film title. Not a single opposition politician has raised objection to such a disparaging way of addressing a Sanatani priest. 

Imagine if the title was Atankwadi Moulvi. There would be riots in the country and parliament would be stalled. 

Secularism  in India is an effing fraud. 

Edited by rangeelaraja
1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said:

https://www.firstpost.com/entertainment/netflixs-ghooskhor-pandat-controversy-film-body-refuses-to-support-makers-decoding-legal-case-release-dilemma-and-makers-response-over-manoj-bajpayee-starrers-title-13977464.html/amp

Shame on the makers of this piece of ****. 

Was a huge fan of Manoj Bajpai and his performance in family man was really good - surprised he agreed to work under this film title. Not a single opposition politician has raised objection to such a disparaging way of addressing a Sanatani priest. 

Imagine if the title was Atankwadi Moulvi. There would be riots in the country and parliament would be stalled. 

Secularism  in India is an effing fraud. 

This is the problem with brosadiwala Netflix and other secularism ke ghode.
Should have actually vandalized the Netflix office and locked their telecast in India, unless they succumb.
But, naah, secularism comes first, and making fun of majority religion is cool.

Man, I really wish our PM become the Fascist which dear Congress and other opposition parties calls him. 

11 hours ago, jf1gp_1 said:

Cant be this sensitive. 

Agree, but Brahmins are also soft targets when Urdu movie writers have normalized anti-Hindu hate with phrases like Hawas ke pujari,  ponga pandit, dhongi baba, mooch mein raam bagal mein choori,, so every caste prople are seeing the bias and are calling it out more openly. Producers also don’t mind the free publicity and promote such debates in tv channels. People are also kept distracted by looking at bad state of infra, health and society.

Tull on cynical mode today

Since forever?

In North India, even Pandats call themselves Pandats, so what’s the fuss about? Short “i” → “a” often happens in unstressed syllables, very common in Punjabi, Haryanvi, Rajasthani dialects. It’s basically a vowel lowering pattern. Same with Brahman/Bahman for Brahmin.

It's literally in Sikh's holy book, which was written more than 400 years ago? Why single out Pakistani Punjabis when we all speak the same Punjabi?

eg.

SGGS Ang 1003 (Guru Arjan Dev Ji)

ਬੇਦੁ ਪੁਕਾਰੈ ਮੁਖ ਤੇ ਪੰਡਤ ਕਾਮਾਮਨ ਕਾ ਮਾਠਾ ॥

Bedu pukaarai mukh te pandaṫ kaamaaman kaa maathaa

Meaning (summary):

“O learned one (pandat), you proclaim the Vedas on your lips, but you delay in acting on what you preach,” — criticizing those who know scripture only on the tongue rather than embodying its wisdom.

This line clearly uses “ਪੰਡਤ / pandat” in the sense of a religious scholar or learned person, showing Guru Arjan Dev Ji’s emphasis on true practice over mere verbal knowledge.

Edited by Vancouver
11 hours ago, kepler37b said:

Brahmin contribution to untouchability is HIGHLY over-rated.

The contribution of other GC's, BC's, OBC's is highly under rated.

Reason is simple..

To destroy the roots of a culture, destroy its most influential community first which keeps them close to their culture and religion.

Started with so called "meat eating Brahmins"...few rotten apples destroyed the trust. Add to that the propaganda.

Once Brahmins dissociated themselves with religion, other communities too followed.

Love when other communities and religions have been shown like this for ages, bo one complained. But the most privileged section in indja is throwing a fit  like toddlers because for a change something negative was said about them.

And of course the low IQ right wing bigots think freedom of expression and media is going to "destroy m" a country.

Other civilized country mock every single thing, from the president to church to everything else and are flourishing every day. But low IQ morons think such freedom destroys a country.

Low IQ morons in our country want censorship and want to attack and attack and attack every single freedom and expression and want us to be fascists. 

They are not better than any Pakistani or Islamist madrasa educated moron. Such things expose what they really want. They want a fascist country whether they can dominate and can never be questioned while everyone else can be attacked and questioned. 

Fascist losers. Thankfully there are enough normal people in this country still to keep such fascists in check.

Edited by New guy
2 hours ago, New guy said:

Love when other communities and religions have been shown like this for ages, bo one complained. But the most privileged section in indja is throwing a fit  like toddlers because for a change something negative was said about them.

I don't think other communities/religions have been targetted like this in film title. You would see similar protests if the film title were Ghooskhor Jat, Balatkari Yadav, Chor Dalit or Atankwadi Musalman. As long as people protest peacefully, nothing wrong. 

A handful of western countries may mock their leaders/church (certain things are still taboo), but won't be possible in a country like India, there will be civil unrest. Till we reach a stage where we can ape the West without public backlash (from any community !!!!), it will be like this only.....and that day won't ever come. Heck why just India, try mocking the Emperor in Japan and see what they do to you....and Japan is as developed and free as they come.  

And no need to pretend like only Hindus in this country get offended by these things. Make fun of a Muslim or Islam/Quran/Prophet, there will be STSJ. Sikhs have carried out acts of violence over sacrilege. Movies like Da Vinci Code had to be banned in India due to protests by Christian groups, heck AIB had to grovel and apologize to some Mumbai priest because one of their stand-up pieces poked fun at the church. Jains are known to be advocates of peace, but their lobbies shut down meat/fish shops during their festivals, affecting livelihoods of so many people. In most cases, it is more of an Indian thing than religion specific thing (Islam is an exception ofc)....look at how touchy Indian Christians can be, compared to those from the West. 

On 2/10/2026 at 10:57 AM, singhvivek141 said:

This is the problem with brosadiwala Netflix and other secularism ke ghode.
Should have actually vandalized the Netflix office and locked their telecast in India, unless they succumb.
But, naah, secularism comes first, and making fun of majority religion is cool.

Man, I really wish our PM become the Fascist which dear Congress and other opposition parties calls him. 

Raita wing hyped this Neeraj Pandey to the moon  lol..  he does that in every single thing he makes, only got exposed this time as he went too far this time.

Vishwaguru is more focused on hisab Chukta so watch your own backs first

Edited by Lone Wolf
On 2/11/2026 at 4:32 AM, Vancouver said:

Since forever?

In North India, even Pandats call themselves Pandats, so what’s the fuss about? Short “i” → “a” often happens in unstressed syllables, very common in Punjabi, Haryanvi, Rajasthani dialects. It’s basically a vowel lowering pattern. Same with Brahman/Bahman for Brahmin.

It's literally in Sikh's holy book, which was written more than 400 years ago? Why single out Pakistani Punjabis when we all speak the same Punjabi?

eg.

SGGS Ang 1003 (Guru Arjan Dev Ji)

Bedu pukaarai mukh te pandaṫ kaamaaman kaa maathaa

Meaning (summary):

“O learned one (pandat), you proclaim the Vedas on your lips, but you delay in acting on what you preach,” — criticizing those who know scripture only on the tongue rather than embodying its wisdom.

This line clearly uses “ਪੰਡਤ / pandat” in the sense of a religious scholar or learned person, showing Guru Arjan Dev Ji’s emphasis on true practice over mere verbal knowledge.

Yeah in some pahdi lingos the d is silent and folks call them "Pannt".. in my trips to upper reaches of Chamba I encountered similar dialect 

Edited by Lone Wolf
1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Raita wing hyped this Neeraj Pandey to the moon  lol..  he does that in every single thing he makes, only got exposed this time as he went too far this time.

Vishwaguru is more focused on hisab Chukta so watch your own backs first

Personally, I will accept this so called "freedom of expression" if the same standards are applied everywhere. But we all know it isn’t going to happen.

And I would love to see the hisab Chukta version of our PM, thats why I voted for him thrice. Though, now I feel the time to replace the current PM has arrived as he has achieved his goal. Now, we need a new PM who is more aggressive and closer to Fascism. 

In another thread I mentioned...India is overburdened with 30-40 crore additional population. Time is high now to clean that additional load. 

1 hour ago, New guy said:

There are million movies which show maulvis as villains and terrorists but not a surprise to see a fascist lying. If a pandit was shown the same you would burn the country down.

Don't tell me you are serious here. There are literally 1000 movies where the villain is a tilak/vibhuti wearing Hindu. Be it Singham movies, Naagin, Omkara, Tumbbad or even the iconic Mother India. Not even talking about South films like Soorararai Potru where Captain Gopinath (Iyengar) was made into a Periyarist and a 'Goswami' villain forcefully included, or the notorious Jai Bhim where real life villanous policeman (Anthony) was turned from Christian to Hindu. So many movies from South where this happens, even good ones like Amaran and Anbe Sivam (villain showing his bhakti for Shiva after every despicable act).

Then YRF spyverse is basically doing sem2sem of RAW and ISI and villain usually is a disgruntled RAW officer. In Main Hoon Na, ex-armyman is the villain and Farah Khan said it was a deliberate choice on her part to have a Hindu villain. 

Only recently has the tide shifted the other way, even though most of the RW propaganda movies are poorly made and BO flops. 

Issue is not with who is villain or hero. Issue is with the title of this project. 

The same thing happened with 'Udta Punjab', remember the controversy around that where the entire industry had to band together. People in Punjab, religious bodies, opposition parties all came together to protest the film title because it was seen as an insult to the state of Punjab. Then Censor Board forced many cuts in that film and assured the protesters that it wasn't in any way meant to defame the entire state. SAD-BJP were in power that time, there was a famous PC of Anurag Kashyap, Zoya Akhtar, Mahesh Bhatt, etc. expressing support to the makers. 

54 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Personally, I will accept this so called "freedom of expression" if the same standards are applied everywhere. But we all know it isn’t going to happen.

And I would love to see the hisab Chukta version of our PM, thats why I voted for him thrice. Though, now I feel the time to replace the current PM has arrived as he has achieved his goal. Now, we need a new PM who is more aggressive and closer to Fascism. 

In another thread I mentioned...India is overburdened with 30-40 crore additional population. Time is high now to clean that additional load. 

Hisab chukta is already happening.. look around.  SC/ST acts have already been strengthened.. they tested waters with UGC as there will be affirmative action applied on GC's sooner than later. Maybe post next Census data is revealed.

Planning for next phase has already begun in Nagpur 

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Don't tell me you are serious here. There are literally 1000 movies where the villain is a tilak/vibhuti wearing Hindu. Be it Singham movies, Naagin, Omkara, Tumbbad or even the iconic Mother India. Not even talking about South films like Soorararai Potru where Captain Gopinath (Iyengar) was made into a Periyarist and a 'Goswami' villain forcefully included, or the notorious Jai Bhim where real life villanous policeman (Anthony) was turned from Christian to Hindu. So many movies from South where this happens, even good ones like Amaran and Anbe Sivam (villain showing his bhakti for Shiva after every despicable act).

Then YRF spyverse is basically doing sem2sem of RAW and ISI and villain usually is a disgruntled RAW officer. In Main Hoon Na, ex-armyman is the villain and Farah Khan said it was a deliberate choice on her part to have a Hindu villain. 

Only recently has the tide shifted the other way, even though most of the RW propaganda movies are poorly made and BO flops. 

Fully agree.

Do you feel the Modi gov (with obvious flaws) is the best option given the opposition?

The way i see it there is no option for the upper castes or general castes than the bjp.

Its the only national political party giving representation at cm level and above to the gc.

With opposition you arw guarenteed to have reservation in private sector.

4 hours ago, Gollum said:

What do you think is the ideal scenario? That both kind of movies are permitted or both are banned?

1 hour ago, New guy said:

What do you think is the ideal scenario? That both kind of movies are permitted or both are banned?

Both permitted and let the box office decide. Basically what Anurag Kashyap keeps saying, let the public decide what they want to watch. If you know my posting history, you will know that I am against all kinds of bans, even beef and alcohol bans. 

But I fully understand why certain protests happen. As long as they are non-violent in nature, no issue. But if someone does gundagardi, make an example out of that person/organization, be it some Islamist, evangelical group or a Karni Sena.