New guy Posted July 15 Posted July 15 (edited) https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/news/india-and-pakistan-to-face-each-other-three-times-iccs-new-world-cup-format-explained/articleshow/132418466.cms Because we will have group of 6, where all play each other and ICC will put india pak together, then super 7 where all play each other and potential semi final clash. Edited July 15 by New guy Gollum and Manucrick 2
BCCISelector Posted July 15 Posted July 15 Pathetic money grab attempt if the teams must play the same teams again in Super 7. The group stage pretty much becomes warmups for the big teams and kills all viewership interest. Ideally, teams should carry forward points from the group stage against other qualifying teams. That way group stage matches will also have a meaning. The Super 6 and Super 8 format in 1999, 2003 and 2007 did this. Gollum, putrevus, nevada and 1 other 4
BCCISelector Posted July 15 Posted July 15 It seems Super 6 was turned into Super 7 to ensure Pakistan also advances from the same group. Pratik77, Norman, Manucrick and 4 others 7
bowl_out Posted July 15 Posted July 15 Does India vs Pak really drive more viewership than other India matches? I don't know of anyone who watches Ind vs Pak with more interest than Ind vs England or Aus express bowling 1
Zero_Unit Posted July 16 Posted July 16 7 hours ago, bowl_out said: Does India vs Pak really drive more viewership than other India matches? I don't know of anyone who watches Ind vs Pak with more interest than Ind vs England or Aus Everyone from IND online will give this same line but deep down, the whole god damn cricket world watches it just because of the name IND V PAK - including closet indians who says "I don't watch IND v PAK matches" Y'all can pretend, but viewership ain't coming out of thin air ... sage and Sgattick10 2
Manucrick Posted July 16 Posted July 16 7 hours ago, bowl_out said: Does India vs Pak really drive more viewership than other India matches? I don't know of anyone who watches Ind vs Pak with more interest than Ind vs England or Aus This view does not come from our side it comes from the pooks who see us as their lifelong enemy even though most of us view them as a worthless worm
Manucrick Posted July 16 Posted July 16 10 hours ago, New guy said: https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/news/india-and-pakistan-to-face-each-other-three-times-iccs-new-world-cup-format-explained/articleshow/132418466.cms Because we will have group of 6, where all play each other and ICC will put india pak together, then super 7 where all play each other and potential semi final clash. Milking some money New guy 1
singhvivek141 Posted July 16 Posted July 16 1 hour ago, Zero_Unit said: Everyone from IND online will give this same line but deep down, the whole god damn cricket world watches it just because of the name IND V PAK - including closet indians who says "I don't watch IND v PAK matches" Y'all can pretend, but viewership ain't coming out of thin air ... India's viewership is always high during Indian games. Recent ODI game itself we had 25.2 Crore watchers on hotstar. For other teams, it will be around 3 or 4 Crore. Pak dont offer any viewership...maybe YouTube channels are able to make more money for their content but thats it.
Austin 3:!6 Posted July 16 Posted July 16 You need to understand from ICCs perspective. Cricket is a dying sport with ODI format is in total dire straits. So you cant blame the organization of milking the biggest rivalry which draw fans
Sgattick10 Posted July 16 Posted July 16 Pak is a sh!t odi team so can go far ahead in h2h stats all good.
Stan AF Posted July 16 Posted July 16 41 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: You need to understand from ICCs perspective. Cricket is a dying sport with ODI format is in total dire straits. So you cant blame the organization of milking the biggest rivalry which draw fans We can bury the format and put a headstone on top of it after LA games 2028.
Gollum Posted July 16 Posted July 16 Every year we will play 3 games against these guys. Some way or the other.
Norman Posted July 16 Posted July 16 14 minutes ago, Gollum said: Every year we will play 3 games against these guys. Some way or the other. That number will only increase in the coming years. ICC and ACC will absolutely abuse the "We won't play Pakistan in bilaterals but we can play them as many times as possible in World cups and Asia cups". This sport has become an absolute joke . Gollum 1
Bigg Brother Posted July 16 Posted July 16 Why blame ICC when they started doing it in Asia cup years ago.
Gollum Posted July 16 Posted July 16 7 minutes ago, Norman said: That number will only increase in the coming years. ICC and ACC will absolutely abuse the "We won't play Pakistan in bilaterals but we can play them as many times as possible in World cups and Asia cups". This sport has become an absolute joke . No sport rigs schedules as blatantly as cricket. Ind and Pak have been in the same group in every ICC/ACC tourney since 2013. Impossible odds.
Gollum Posted July 16 Posted July 16 At least 'no handshake' drama band karo. Pretty sure they are BFFs when there is no camera around.
Gollum Posted July 16 Posted July 16 1 hour ago, Sgattick10 said: Pak is a sh!t odi team so can go far ahead in h2h stats all good. Bhai, H2H is overrated. Hungary has winning H2H against Brazil, Germany, Italy, France, Argentina etc. Because of results from 80 years back when they had Puskas. Koi poochta bhi nahi unke baare mein aaj kal. Pooks also have winning H2H against all teams in field hockey. This Pro League, they lost 16/16 matches. Norman, Lone Wolf and Manucrick 3
LordPrabhzy Posted July 16 Posted July 16 as much as I am purist when it comes to ODI WCs, this is a farce. Band karo, stop the format!- I DO NOT WANT TO WATCH INDIA PAK forced matches!! -Make T20WC every 4 years, expand it to 24 teams and ICC should aim to fund the sport so it grows -Keep WTC every 2 years. - Reduce these meaningless bilateral series, once ODI format is gone, more time in the calendar to Franchise cricket league to increase in length singhvivek141 and Lord 1 1