diga Posted July 18 Posted July 18 When is the next ODI series?if he is not selected for that based on current performance, then goodbye
jf1gp_1 Posted July 18 Posted July 18 14 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: Bhai my post was not about anyone's batting. It was an attempt at a joke to highlight that Virat is British and would like to host RGS' retirement in his home country UK. Clearly my standup comedy career has no chance of taking off :-) Btw I've been unhappy with RGS in the team for years now. I think VK can still be useful. no not your problem. the tone is lost in post which leads to others misreading it. there is this gentleman on this forum who always reads my post incorrectly.
Sandz Posted July 18 Posted July 18 8 hours ago, sarcastic said: This is such a roller coaster of emotions. I am so happy to hear the latest update. @Gollum Here is my rant. How I disagree with some rational people like you on this forum. Cricket, for me, is ultimately about emotion, not optimization. As fans, we often pretend that supporting a team is a purely rational exercise—always choosing whatever gives the highest probability of success. But that's not why I watch sports. I watch because I become emotionally invested in certain players. Those emotional connections are what make victories feel special and defeats hurt. Yes, I support the team. But within that team, there are individuals I identify with more deeply. That connection cannot simply be replaced by saying, "Support whoever gives the team the best chance today." Sports don't work that way for me. That's why I will continue to root for Rohit Sharma. When people say, "He should retire so the team can win," it doesn't resonate with me. Watching someone I have followed, admired, and celebrated succeed gives me far more joy than watching a different player succeed simply because it may marginally improve the team's prospects. I don't watch cricket as a manager trying to maximize outcomes. I watch it as a fan looking for moments that make me happy. And for me, those moments come from seeing the players I have emotionally invested in succeed. Everyone has different reasons for following sports. Mine is simple: I cheer for the people I have grown attached to. That's where my happiness lies, and I don't think there's anything wrong about that. This right here is an example of what is wrong with Indian cricket or sports in general. Hero worship. It has no place in cricket, needs to be stamped out for India to become an efficient machinery worthy of its capabilities. Otherwise we will forever be a middling team. express bowling, Gollum, Manucrick and 1 other 4
Nikhil_cric Posted July 18 Posted July 18 3 minutes ago, Sandz said: This right here is an example of what is wrong with Indian cricket or sports in general. Hero worship. It has no place in cricket, needs to be stamped out for India to become an efficient machinery worthy of its capabilities. Otherwise we will forever be a middling team. Yep. Imagine if Australia had ploughed on with Mark and Steve Waugh in 2003, Bevan and Lehmann in 2007, Ponting in 2015 etc. Manucrick, Lone Wolf and Gollum 3
jf1gp_1 Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Larger point is there is only one sport where we sort-of excel. Objective should be improve than hanging onto has-been heros. Not saying this only happens in cricket, but we only have one sport. express bowling 1
Lone Wolf Posted July 18 Posted July 18 8 hours ago, Gollum said: If this indeed is a PR move, Modi should make Rohit in charge of our info warfare against ISPR and CCP @Lone Wolf Even chess super GMs don't think so many moves ahead. It's an obvious PR move bhai... Reckon selectors and TM as per Vikrant Gupta and ToI had told him that Afg is his last series but he wanted another series in England. Now that it's expiry has run out, He is pulling these stunts. Would fully support Agarkar GG and Gill if they dump him in next series.. Damn I now want Brook to play Archer in Lords Gollum 1
Lone Wolf Posted July 18 Posted July 18 2 hours ago, diga said: When is the next ODI series?if he is not selected for that based on current performance, then goodbye Vs Kanglus in late August - Sep
sarcastic Posted July 18 Posted July 18 @Gollum I am not able to directly reply to your post. ICF moderators, is there any issue here. Posting my response here: I completely agree with your distinction between individual and team sports. In an individual sport, I can keep supporting my favorite player regardless of rankings because it affects nobody else's opportunities. In a team sport, selection has consequences for everyone else. That's precisely why I didn't want Rohit to hang on in Tests. The moment it became clear he was no longer contributing consistently, I wanted him to retire on his own terms rather than be forced out. In fact, I've been saying for quite some time that I hoped he would walk away before his performances started hurting both the team and his own legacy. My emotional attachment doesn't mean I want him picked regardless of merit. It means that as long as he is good enough to justify his place, I'll always root for him over someone else. But if he genuinely isn't performing and better options exist, then I would much rather see him say goodbye with dignity than stay on and tarnish what has been a remarkable career. I sincerely hope that day hasn't arrived in ODIs. I still want to believe he has more to offer there. But if it does come, I'd rather see Rohit himself make that decision than be pushed out. Gollum 1
The Realist Posted July 18 Posted July 18 (edited) At the same age Messi has single handedly dragged his team to another world cup final. While Rohit Sharma with his antics is trying make sure his team never reach one. What is bigger, Rohit's belly or ego? Edited July 18 by The Realist Norman, Manucrick and Lone Wolf 1 2
Manucrick Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Honestly it is disappointing to see how some members of IndianCricketFans are reacting to the Rohit retirement news I always believed this community was a space for true cricket fans who value mature objective discussion Seeing the conversation devolve into casual IPL style fan wars and childish hero worship is not what I expected from ICF Stan AF and Norman 1 1
Nikhil_cric Posted July 18 Posted July 18 If Rohit is not in the plans for the World Cup, this series should have been used to get some experience into a new opener. What a waste of a tour express bowling 1
Gollum Posted July 18 Posted July 18 24 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said: If Rohit is not in the plans for the World Cup, this series should have been used to get some experience into a new opener. What a waste of a tour CT 2025 should have been his final ODI game. We need to learn to start afresh after every ICC tournament. Also we must take max one 35+ guy to any WC. A guy like Jaiswal should have gone to 2027 WC with 40 ODIs under his belt. Tempo of ODI batting can't be learnt in 10-12 games, even for super talented players. cricspirit and Lone Wolf 2
Nikhil_cric Posted July 18 Posted July 18 11 minutes ago, Gollum said: CT 2025 should have been his final ODI game. We need to learn to start afresh after every ICC tournament. Also we must take max one 35+ guy to any WC. A guy like Jaiswal should have gone to 2027 WC with 40 ODIs under his belt. Tempo of ODI batting can't be learnt in 10-12 games, even for super talented players. 35-36 is still fine. As long as they are extremely fit and performing, there's no issue at all. But can't have multiple guys at 38+ . All 3 of Rohit, Jadeja and Kohli playing ODIs until this year has been completely counterproductive
Stan AF Posted July 18 Posted July 18 3 hours ago, The Realist said: At the same age Messi has single handedly dragged his team to another world cup final. cricspirit 1
sage Posted July 18 Posted July 18 4 hours ago, The Realist said: At the same age Messi has single handedly dragged his team to another world cup final. and so will rohit next year
putrevus Posted July 18 Posted July 18 (edited) The problem in Indian cricket is making sure the incoming player gets his fixed batting slot. Getting Jaiswal's bat into the lineup should have been the bigger priority in 2023 world cup itself. Sachin started his career in middle order, Kohli played at number 4 in 2011 world cup. Does anyone trust Iyer in SA. Why cannot Jaiswal play in middle order . Iyer since CT 2025 has lesser avg than Rohit.Ishan Kishen is better than Rohit according to some geniuses here. Age cannot be the only factor to remove a player. They removed Shami who is the best ODI bowler in this country from system without any notice. Edited July 18 by putrevus
zen Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Dhoni was forced to retire due to COVID pandemic. I doubt Rohit will retire so easily without any drama including maybe the need to retire at home. Let’s hope for the best, while preparing for the worst. wanted_desi 1
Manucrick Posted July 18 Posted July 18 18 minutes ago, zen said: Dhoni was forced to retire due to COVID pandemic. I doubt Rohit will retire so easily without any drama including maybe the need to retire at home. Let’s hope for the best, while preparing for the worst. Rohit won't going to retire he will repeat Dhoni 19 wc semi
gattaca Posted July 18 Posted July 18 (edited) Rohit lost all respect. He made PR move with vidya balan and now another actress. He made sure his friend send fake news showing he will be thrown out forcing BCCi to show his hand. Hopefully he will be kicked out. He is putting pressure on coach and selection committee indirectly Edited July 18 by gattaca Manucrick, Lone Wolf, nitinbwj and 1 other 1 2 1