Ankit_sharma03 Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Why are you fat Raina?! Just as he takes a breather about family-man accusation, you fire the next barb, again something that has been murmured about here and there. Raina laughs again. “Arre! I was out for viral and illness, and couldn’t train much. It all had an effect but I am fully recovered now and started training. I am fit and ready to play IPL. Tabiyat kharaab tha, bhai, couldn’t train properly and logon ney shuru kar diya!” His fitness would indeed be keenly watched, though. He has a tendency to put on weight – nothing alarming but it’s the optics that counts these days. There would be mumblings about his girth, whether he likes it or not – nothing that can’t be silenced with a few good violent knocks. “I have played for 12-13 years and not once has been my focus and dedication being questioned. What can I react when I don’t even know who this coach is? They didn’t take any name and I don’t know who it is. Koi be xyz kuch bol dega and what can I comment about it?And some nameless figure is now saying stuff or so the report claimed.” Full interview- http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/tabiyat-kharaab-tha-bhai-couldnt-train-properly-and-logon-ney-shuru-kar-diya-suresh-raina-4594501/
Ankit_sharma03 Posted April 1, 2017 Author Posted April 1, 2017 IPL has actually shown the diff- players who play for country and players who are content with money Aur ye konsa beemari hai jo 1 saal se chal rha hai Ye bhajji, irfan, raina domestic men beemar ho jaate hai n ipl aatehi fit ho jaate hai, ye kaise????? G_B_, sscomp32 and nevada 2 1
beetle Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Viral fever! This is worse than ' my nephew did it '. New guy and Mosher 2
G_B_ Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 dont you actually lose weight due to Viral fever? Ankit_sharma03 1
Popular Post Dinx - the Jinx Posted April 1, 2017 Popular Post Posted April 1, 2017 Raina deserved some empathy and respect guys. He has been one of the fittest and quickest on the field. A selfless player who batted according to the situation. Played several if not too many match winning knocks. His value on the field has been immense too. Illness can hit anyone and its not necessary that immediately after that people will be fit and raring to go. Yuvi spent years in treatment to come out of Cancer and he did become fit again, although he lost his game quite a bit. So lets give Raina the space and time instead of being critical. Ultimate_Game, Brainfade, Sidhoni and 9 others 11 1
Number Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Hoping he does well in IPL and gets called for ODIs. I still think when in form he is the best no. 6 we can have. Sidhoni, OpeningBatsman, The Dark Horse and 3 others 6
beetle Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 C'mon...lets not compare Yuvi 's serious sickness with raina's problem. If he had a medical condition then bcci would jave declared him as such for not playing the domestic matches. If the coaches are whispering loudly about his lack of commitment, then it will result in tongues wagging. In this age ...when almost everyone is using their break to get fitter, he seems to be the only one who seems to go in the other direction. Ironhide and Ankit_sharma03 2
Sidhoni Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 23 minutes ago, Number said: Hoping he does well in IPL and gets called for ODIs. I still think when in form he is the best no. 6 we can have. This. Only batsman in the lineup who can hit from ball one. Yuvi did well in England series so deserves more chances otherwise Raina is the guy to replace him. sscomp32 1
North Sea Tiger Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 3 minutes ago, Sidhoni said: This. Only batsman in the lineup who can hit from ball one. Yuvi did well in England series so deserves more chances otherwise Raina is the guy to replace him. Shame he gets out at ball two. Vilander, Mariyam, sscomp32 and 1 other 2 2
sandeep Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 1 hour ago, beetle said: If the coaches are whispering loudly about his lack of commitment, then it will result in tongues wagging. Sorry, but in India, lots of old uncles start "whispering" all kinds of nonsense to the media. Can't always be taken at face value. I will choose to trust the word of a guy who we have seen put himself selflessly on the line for India for years, over the words of some no-name coach who wants a bit of publicity. Raina had plenty of chances to be selfish in his career with his batting - he always batted for the team. And you can never question his fielding efforts either. I'm not going to wipe all that credibility away because he was away for a while and some paindu chachaa said something to a newspaper. Need more evidence before we start bashing a proven faithful servant of Indian cricket. Dinx - the Jinx, Sidhoni, The Dark Horse and 2 others 5
Ultimate_Game Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Raina is one of the very few players who can play shots right from ball one. If he's fit and in form in IPL he should be an automatic pick for CT and would be an ideal no. 6 or no. 7 batsman. sscomp32 1
sscomp32 Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 26 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Raina is one of the very few players who can play shots right from ball one. If he's fit and in form in IPL he should be an automatic pick for CT and would be an ideal no. 6 or no. 7 batsman. Also his last england tour was a very good one and a huge reason we won that series. Ultimate_Game 1
Cricketics Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Say whatever about Raina byt when on field he gives 100 percent or more. Even after being fat he will throw himself on field, won't drop catvhes like many do, and will try to score fast u like many players who block so many balls, complete 2020 package. sscomp32, Ultimate_Game and Vilander 3
beetle Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Agree about his 100% dedication specially when fielding and encouraging teammates....but there is very little excuse for a sportsperson to let go of fitness while still playing top level cricket just a while ago. He has been having this weight issue for some years now...not just this year Any ways , hope he proves people wrong during Ipl and later . Would hate to see him turn into those stars who only play to be part of ipl and not domestic because they don't need to work hard just for peanuts. Ironhide, CoverDrive and Ankit_sharma03 3
Pollack Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Raina is history now. He was a great servant of Indian cricket. Now he must focus to be an IPL legend.
Cricketics Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 9 minutes ago, beetle said: Agree about his 100% dedication specially when fielding and encouraging teammates....but there is very little excuse for a sportsperson to let go of fitness while still playing top level cricket just a while ago. He has been having this weight issue for some years now...not just this year Any ways , hope he proves people wrong during Ipl and later . Would hate to see him turn into those stars who only play to be part of ipl and not domestic because they don't need to work hard just for peanuts. Yeah don't care if he is fat as long as he is still diving and scoring runs and saving runs on the field. He did that very well against England and scored runs at a better rate than most players when team needed someone to score fast. sscomp32 1
sensible-indian Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Well...I guess time to give benefit of the doubt to Raina. Let's wait. I can't think of a more selfless batsman than Raina. No one even comes close. Ultimate_Game, Gollum and sscomp32 3
Dirk_Diggler Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Raina is India's best batsman coming in the middle to end overs.
Dinx - the Jinx Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 Guys - Raina is one of those guys with a bone structure that makes him a little fat even during the time when he was at his top fitness. So when he isnt training for a few days, it will look like he has become a lot fat. There are always some guys like that. Do you think Ashwin look fit looking at his external self? Did Sehwag, Sachin ever look like Kohli in terms of fitness? Cricket is a different sport that doesnt require the fitness of a 100m sprinter. Look at Steve Smith - in terms of body measurements, currently he appears to be the 2nd fattest guy in the Aussie team, no. 1 being David Warner. They still play good cricket due to their techniques. I am sure Raina will get well soon and get fit soon. He has been so selfless while playing for India and one of the best ODI players in the last 10 years or so. Lets give him the space to recovery. sandeep and Gollum 2
Dinx - the Jinx Posted April 1, 2017 Posted April 1, 2017 This reminds me of Romesh Pawar from Mumbai who played a few tests and ODIs at the turn of the last decade. Despite his body mass, he was still playing good cricket when he was on the field New guy 1