Gollum Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 I have had enough with our ODI team. The mindset reeks of arrogance and an inability to adapt with time. We haven't evolved at all in the last 4-5 years. In fact our game has gone backwards especially if you see our approach back in 2013. This issue is amplified when we are setting targets. This is 2017 where 300-320 won't cut it against most teams. 400 is the new 350 and 350 is the new 300. Plodding our way to 45/0 in the 1st 10 is obsolete, look at teams like Australia, England and RSA(when they aren't choking). We need to be constantly attacking no matter how many wickets fall, yes we may have 1 or 2 bad days out of 10 but that is the only way to win matches, especially with our relatively weak bowling attack. Our approach against Pak sucked, but we got away with it because Pak are even worse than us in T50s. Unless the pitch is a greentop, which is basically never we need to be very dynamic. What Rohit did against Pak and what UV did today was criminal. We need to get free flowing batsmen like Pant and Iyer ASAP. Time to get rid off oldies like MSD and UV. It is clear that they are in the team for non cricketing reasons. If we somehow beat RSA we will get eviscerated by Eng/Aus in the knockouts and the team will have done enough(SF) to remain unchanged for another 2 years. I believe that are vested interests(sponsors, politicians/babus) who want to keep certain players in Team India for a few more years. If these oldies and this rotten mindset goes into CWC 2019, we have no chance of competing for the crown. Bring in attacking, modern generation youngsters like Iyer/Pant/Sarfaraz and give them 2 years of experience before we head into CWC 2019. UV and MSD have overstayed for quite some time, selectors must have a few words with them and if they don't co operate force them to retire like they did to SRT in 2012. Rohit needs someone to look him in the eye and give a final warning, there is no place for selfishness in Team India. Kohli the LOI captain is pathetic, simply clueless. If he can't bring in the mindset change and improve his tactics this year, we need to move to someone else. Neither does Kohli know how to set targets, nor can he rotate bowlers, nor can he set fields. His love affair with certain hacks like UV and Rahane isn't helping us either. Today we should have played Ashwin who is deadly against the Lankans, moreover they were playing 5 southpaws today. Kohli lacks the flexibility, no wonder he was so terrible in IPL. Las but not least we need proper coaches after this. Bharat Arun and Sridhar can't stay, especially the latter. Can't believe the dross I see when India is fielding these days, kinda like 2000s Pakistan. Can't catch, can't field, cam't stop singles, can't throw....WTF is wrong with BCCI that makes them continue with that assclown Sridhar is beyond me. They want to sack Kumble and keep these 2 clowns, beyond me. Players should stop worrying about Kumble and told to focus on their cricket. Get a Bond/Vaas/Mcdermott as bowling coach and a Jonty as fielding coach. Get hitting coaches from American baseball like England and USA have done. Coaching needs a revamp. Come Sunday, hope we get our asses handed over to us. Our group loss to Bangladesh in 2007 propelled us to greatness, we went on to beat ATG Aussies in the CB series and the CWC 2011. Hope this loss does something good for the long term benefit for Indian cricket. tweaker, Austin 3:!6, Adi_91 and 3 others 4 2
kira Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Even Australia and SA aren't doing well in this tournament, aussies avoided a phainty against nz due to rain and sa choked against the worst team in the tournament. I fully expect australia to be knocked out against england in their next match, and the chokers sa don't have a great record of playing well under pressure. I would be very happy if India and sri lanka qualify from our group and Nz, Eng from the other
maniac Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 NO....that would mean Srilanka or Pak are better teams than us because one of them will qualify then. As outdated as our batting is or our bowling not getting it right or our fielding being below par, we are still leagues ahead of these teams. And now if Bangladesh somehow sneaks in to semis as they have a shot, that would be really embarrassing. so no get the job done and then get rid of the deadwood...atleast reach the semis god dammit.
wanted_desi Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 It won't happen. India team is going to change after group exit in 2019 just like it did in 2007. We will win 2023 WC after that. nevada 1
Ultimate_Game Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Why? I hope we win and clean house after CT after hopefully winning the trophy Laaloo 1
Gollum Posted June 8, 2017 Author Posted June 8, 2017 Do you guys really think there will be any change if we qualify for semis? We went till SF in CWC 2015 after basically beating 2 chokers, Pak and RSA. In the SF our flawed strategy was found out ruthlessly. But it didn't cause the tremors back home because folks were happy with a SF spot. End result we haven't progressed at all in the last 2 years. Methinks we need a humiliating exit like we had in 2007 WC or England had in 2015 WC before we start our course correction. Unstable Joe, cricbuz, LordPrabhzy and 2 others 5
chewy Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 I will hoping India win But it would be a positive too, if India get knocked out, Yuvi will chucked out, and Dhoni to come in at no. 4
Laaloo Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Heck no dude. Hopefully this loss wakes us up. I dont care if we keep the same approach as long as we win the tourney. Yeah in the long run it will come back to bite but we will have time to change that Lord 1
maniac Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 A loss may do the following. Making Dhoni captain again Instead of allrounders like Pandya-we will go back to Binny,R.Dhawan Sandeep and Unadkut will be back as pace has lost us matches. So I Actually see a lot more upside in us winning
Adi_91 Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Both Ind and SA don't deserve to go through for losing to lowly ranked teams down in morale before round 2 matches. Unfortunately, one will go through.
veer Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Lol @ OP... Pant/Iyer/Sarfaraz are half proven in T20s, i mean IPL, and you want them in T50.. Rasgulla 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Iyer, sarfraz u cant throw in so many yougsters at same time Then ull complain they are not consistent....a teams needs exp player as well. Among dhoni n yuvi one has to stay and it has to be dhoni, kohli is tactically bad he needs dhoni. Dhoni is struggling but still dooing very decent...so he ll have good phase as well Transition cant be to radical...... These players also have to earn their spots......national spots cant be given for time pass Rasgulla 1
King Tendulkar Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 It's one loss . What crazy over reactions credit to Sri Lanka. Amazing batting and chase also I feel some complacency by India . Now grounded they will on it for next game Lord 1
Vk1 Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Bro you just nailed it. On our think-tank , we seem to have the worst support staff, can't remember when we last dismissed a batsman by preplanning in Odis or t20s. Other teams bounce yuvraj , bring spin for Dhoni and float on 5th stump for kohli. Not sure if we even know the weakness today of say mendis.
Vk1 Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 5 minutes ago, King Tendulkar said: It's one loss . What crazy over reactions credit to Sri Lanka. Amazing batting and chase also I feel some complacency by India . Now grounded they will on it for next game Just went to statsguru for you, since 2011 we won just 10 and lost 24 games against overseas top 4 teams in overseas ( Aussies eng nz rsa ) .
Vk1 Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 (edited) As the old saying goes tests are won by bowlers and Odis by batsman.. on flat pitches batsman have to become batmans and hitmans like superheroes and not some comic heroes like Mr India #badhumor Edited June 8, 2017 by Vk1
cric_fan Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 Pathetic thread. These wrist slitters :hysterical: Rasgulla, Khota, GoldenSun and 1 other 3 1
King Tendulkar Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 25 minutes ago, Vk1 said: Just went to statsguru for you, since 2011 we won just 10 and lost 24 games against overseas top 4 teams in overseas ( Aussies eng nz rsa ) . I filter out all games dhoni skippered
TNAmarkFrmIndia Posted June 8, 2017 Posted June 8, 2017 5 hours ago, Gollum said: Bring in attacking, modern generation youngsters like Iyer/Pant/Sarfaraz and give them 2 years of experience before we head into CWC 2019. They should try Rahul Tripathi.