Anil Kumble steps down as coach

1 hour ago, maniac said:

I was the first to open a thread here that there will be a influx of Tenvic cricketers in the side and was scared that would happen.

it hasn't t happened and neither were there any rumors that Kumble wanted a Tenvic player and kohli fought against it

That has been ruled out.

In fact the selections have been more in accordance with Kohli's demands than Kumble's.

Yeah, I remember that thread.   Credit to you for owning up to it and accepting that it wasn't the case.  

4 minutes ago, prudent_kreeda said:

This does not look so simple 

""

The more I read about this the more I feel that Kumble played smart to gain sympathy of people by resigning and including that lett

""

Yep.  Ticsy is trying to put a neutral spin on a simple fact - Virat Kohli just got his coach fired - a genuine legend of the game and a quality coach - for reasons only known to him.    And Kumble's letter says it extremely loud and clear - AK doesn't think he did anything wrong.   

Virat has some 'splaining to do.  And the fact that he isn't so vocal about it, given that he's vocal about everything under the sun, implies that the truth isn't really flattering to him.     

4 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Yep.  Ticsy is trying to put a neutral spin on a simple fact - Virat Kohli just got his coach fired - a genuine legend of the game and a quality coach - for reasons only known to him.    And Kumble's letter says it extremely loud and clear - AK doesn't think he did anything wrong.   

Virat has some 'splaining to do.  And the fact that he isn't so vocal about it, given that he's vocal about everything under the sun, implies that the truth isn't really flattering to him.     

I am sure one of the areas would be selection of buddy gang 

3 minutes ago, prudent_kreeda said:

I am sure one of the areas would be selection of buddy gang 

We don't know that.    And to be fair, a captain is allowed a degree of latitude in terms of backing players he believes in.   But to indulge in power games and get the coach fired is not honorable - in my opinion.   I expect better from players who play for our national team, and particularly the captain. 

13 minutes ago, sandeep said:

We don't know that.    And to be fair, a captain is allowed a degree of latitude in terms of backing players he believes in.   But to indulge in power games and get the coach fired is not honorable - in my opinion.   I expect better from players who play for our national team, and particularly the captain. 

Yeah we do. Look at the selection in the only test Kohli didn't captain.

13 minutes ago, sandeep said:

If Players Wanted A Coach Who Would Let Them Go Shopping, Then Anil Kumble Wasn't The Man: Sunil Gavaskar

Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar came down heavily on reports suggesting that Anil Kumble was a hard taskmaster and that didn't go down well with some of the Indian players. Speaking exclusively to NDTV on Tuesday, Gavaskar said, "So you want softies. You want somebody to just tell you, 'ok boys, don't practice today because you guys are not feeling well, ok take a holiday, go shopping'. You want that kind of a person. If somebody is a hard taskmaster and he has got you results like Anil Kumble has got over the last one year. If any of the players are complaining, I feel those players are the ones who should be left out of the team."

http://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/if-players-expect-a-coach-wholl-take-them-shopping-then-anil-kumble-had-to-go-sunil-gavaskar-1714853?pfrom=home-topstories

34 minutes ago, maniac said:

If Players Wanted A Coach Who Would Let Them Go Shopping, Then Anil Kumble Wasn't The Man: Sunil Gavaskar

Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar came down heavily on reports suggesting that Anil Kumble was a hard taskmaster and that didn't go down well with some of the Indian players. Speaking exclusively to NDTV on Tuesday, Gavaskar said, "So you want softies. You want somebody to just tell you, 'ok boys, don't practice today because you guys are not feeling well, ok take a holiday, go shopping'. You want that kind of a person. If somebody is a hard taskmaster and he has got you results like Anil Kumble has got over the last one year. If any of the players are complaining, I feel those players are the ones who should be left out of the team."

http://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/if-players-expect-a-coach-wholl-take-them-shopping-then-anil-kumble-had-to-go-sunil-gavaskar-1714853?pfrom=home-topstories

Gavaskar as usual losing his head.

Too much credit being given to coach for home series win.He was sucessful with helping the team win

He failed as a man manager.

Gavaskar just needs to blow up steam  from time to time

Edited by beetle

The tide and support is very quickly turning against Kohli. Kumble is not a Chappell that he cannot be gotten along with. This is on Kohli and Kohli alone. Now he has his team and his coach, whoever that may be. If he backs this up by winning in SL, doing well in RSA and winning the next ICC tournament, only then will I accept that Kohli was right.

http://m.timesofindia.com/sports/cricket/india-in-west-indies/scolding-team-for-champions-trophy-debacle-hastened-anil-kumbles-departure/articleshow/59244432.cms

The players, some of whom were already very distraught after the defeat, complained about Kumble's "overbearing attitude" all over again to captain Virat Kohli.

Following India's 180-run defeat on Sunday, Kumble is understood to have had one-on-ones with some players regarding their performance in the game, leading to some frayed nerves in the dressing room. Kumble was upset by the team's poor bowling in that match and is said to have mentioned to the bowling lineup that they compared poorly with some past legends of Indian cricket.

On Monday night, Kumble and Kohli met BCCI secretary Amitabh Chowdhury, CEO Rahul Johri and general manager (cricket operations) MV Sridhar, lea ding to Kumble not boarding the team bus to the airport along with the cricketers hours later.

Kumble, it is learnt, was miffed that the board did not publicly announce that it was amenable to giving him an extension for the West Indies tour, and did not back him more after details of captain Kohli's reservations about his "intimidating" work style became public. The board advertised for the head coach's job instead of giving him an extension.

--------------------------

Who were the bowlers?

couldn't be bhuvi...he is not kohlis blue eyed boy.Besides he bowled okay.

Pandya and bumrah are too young and new to complain.

That leaves Ashwin and Jadeja.

-----------------

One of the earlier complaints was about Kumble citing performance too often. Seriously???

How many icc tournaments did the legend bowlers win in the past?

The world cup ( kapil wala) comes to mind.

Telling players they are piss poor compared to past legends. That is not good coaching style.

Bowling was poor but we lost mostly because of our third class batting display that collapsed as a team barring Pandya.

Edited by beetle
http://m.timesofindia.com/sports/cricket/india-in-west-indies/scolding-team-for-champions-trophy-debacle-hastened-anil-kumbles-departure/articleshow/59244432.cms

The players, some of whom were already very distraught after the defeat, complained about Kumble's "overbearing attitude" all over again to captain Virat Kohli.

Following India's 180-run defeat on Sunday, Kumble is understood to have had one-on-ones with some players regarding their performance in the game, leading to some frayed nerves in the dressing room. Kumble was upset by the team's poor bowling in that match and is said to have mentioned to the bowling lineup that they compared poorly with some past legends of Indian cricket.

On Monday night, Kumble and Kohli met BCCI secretary Amitabh Chowdhury, CEO Rahul Johri and general manager (cricket operations) MV Sridhar, lea ding to Kumble not boarding the team bus to the airport along with the cricketers hours later.

Kumble, it is learnt, was miffed that the board did not publicly announce that it was amenable to giving him an extension for the West Indies tour, and did not back him more after details of captain Kohli's reservations about his "intimidating" work style became public. The board advertised for the head coach's job instead of giving him an extension.

Who were the bowlers?

-----------------

One of the earlier complaints was about Kumble citing performance too often. Seriously???

Telling players they are piss poor compared to past legends. That is not good coaching style.

Bowling was poor but we lost mostly because of our third class batting display that collapsed as a team barring Pandya.

I think what kumble did was right.We lost final because of bowling only.If it would have been aus,eng or aus then one can understand 330+ score but if you allow pakistani batsmen to score 330+ that too with 20+extras then definitely bowlers are culprit.Mohammad Hafeez was scoring with strike rate of 170 ,that is simply ridiculous.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G925A using Tapatalk

Now Coach cannot scold or criticize bowlers of his team after a miserable performance.:laugh1:

Can someone list tasks of a coach. Is he supposed to just cheer for team: Common Boys.....Let's do it....Tough luck boys..Next time. 

Why pay high salary for this sh!t. Hire any poor man who is cricket fan from the streets and ask him to do so. Pay him nicely.At least he will do it from his heart rather than just for profession. :phehe:

Edited by Pollack
12 hours ago, rahulrulezz said:

"not our problem"?????

Can't you see damn obvious..What he was doing was worse than robbery.. he was cheating our cricketing system...

Dude, players like VKumar, SAravind not only played for the franchises he "chief mentored" while he was the director of Tenvic, those players also played for team India.. lets not forget.. these players including other players like CM Goutam who were part of Tenvic got to play for Karnatka...

Go and read interviews from domestic cricketers.. How these talent management companies owned by BCCI babus or senior players charge crores from poor domestic cricketers incase they want to play for their state..

This IMO is the biggest crime for Indian cricket...

You mean the same Vinay Kumar and Aravind who won Karnataka back to back Raniji trophies. 

15 hours ago, mishra said:

Nahi yaar. I will be surprised if it wasnt a team decision. Hindsight is blessing but the decision must have been made based on fact that Srilanka allready chased against us with one extra pacer in our side on same ground on relatively poorer pitch conditions

team does take any decision. Decisions are always made by the captain and the coaches.

14 hours ago, BeautifulGame said:

Yes I don't agree the way Kumble is being forced to quit.

Fully agree with that.

Kumble is a legend and the way this has been handled is appalling.

As for the leak, just pointing out that there are plenty of issues between players and Kumble not just Kohli.Thats all .

Can't just criticize Kohli as being arrogant and he forced Kumble to quit without knowing the full details of it.

kumble's one year tenure is over, so, he is not being forced to quit.

7 minutes ago, Pollack said:

Now Coach cannot scold or criticize bowlers of his team after a miserable performance.:laugh1:

Can someone list tasks of a coach. Is he supposed to just cheer for team: Common Boys.....Let's do it....Tough luck boys..Next time. 

Why pay high salary for this sh!t. Hire any poor man who is cricket fan from the streets and ask him to do so. Pay him nicely.At least he will do it from his heart rather than just for profession. :phehe:

Give them shhit for bowling poor and tell them their mistakes....not go grandfatherly on them and start off with hamare zamaane mein...:alberteinstein:

Waisay if it was ashwin and  jaddu, then they  really have some gall to complain after their losing performance.

If it was the pacers...then uncalled for .Bumrah was playing his first big international tournament  and can be excused. Infact he should be counselled so the no ball fiasco doesn't haunt him . The rest two performed fairly okay 

Too much black white stuff talked about here. It is possible that both might be right or both might be wrong on a neutral perspective, but individual perspectives differ. Two individuals will have different opinions. But it is cricket and in the end, it is captain people talk about and not the coach. Captain leads a team. Everyone else is just a support cast.

Who were the bowlers?

-----------------

Our spinners and our inability to take wickets were the major reason we lost the match .

As for performance , Kumble was our leading wkt taker in 1996 world cup with 12 wkts tbh.