Umesh- what has gone wrong with Umesh?

10 hours ago, velu said:

@Rightarmfast  your views :phehe: 

No views. Let people waste time. The problem was openers, not Umesh Yadav. And in any event, 4 right arm fast bowlers dont make sense. Can be 3 right arm fast and one left arm fast-fast medium or leg spinner/ chinaman / offie. In any event, Umesh was playing his 1st match and didnt look comfortable. 

But the fault lies with the openers so I think its a waste of time to discuss the bowlers till the time this team sorts out the batsmen.

4 hours ago, fineleg said:

UY is yet another in the looooong lineup of Indian fast bowlers who promised a lot when they started in the Indian team in the last 10-15 years and then withered away. Tells you something about the BCCI setup.

Cant blame BCCI for umesh 

2 hours ago, Rightarmfast said:

No views. Let people waste time. The problem was openers, not Umesh Yadav. And in any event, 4 right arm fast bowlers dont make sense.

We played 4 fast bowlers, so umesh will perform badly.....ye kya logic hai

Can be 3 right arm fast and one left arm fast-fast medium or leg spinner/ chinaman / offie. In any event, Umesh was playing his 1st match and didnt look comfortable. 

Bumrah , ishant n shami also played their 1st matches in 1st test 

But the fault lies with the openers so I think its a waste of time to discuss the bowlers till the time this team sorts out the batsmen.

Openers are at fault, again that doesnt allow umesh to perform badly. Overseas is the toughest for openers specially such pitch

Umesh cnt leak runs on such pitch like that , even though he leaks everywhere 

13 hours ago, Late Cut said:

BK is currently quicker than him, and a much better swing bowler, and with much better numbers. Umesh is redundant with his pace being in the low to mid 130s, with no swing or seam movement. 

Bk has slowed Down a lot after his back injury. Doesn't cross 135 but it's not just about but accuracy as well.

He may have played his last test for India with the next test series only in July vs WI where we should try out a couple of younger pacers.

Don't know on whose advice Umesh decided to become a medium pacer bowling 135-138 kmph occasionally hitting 140. Was the beginning of the end for him. Lesson for all upcoming out and out pacers - never ever give up speed, will not help you have a long career. 

1 hour ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

He may have played his last test for India with the next test series only in July vs WI where we should try out a couple of younger pacers.

Don't know on whose advice Umesh decided to become a medium pacer bowling 135-138 kmph occasionally hitting 140. Was the beginning of the end for him. Lesson for all upcoming out and out pacers - never ever give up speed, will not help you have a long career. 

Even Pace is not an issue and 135-138 is not a bad pace.  the issue is inaccuracy at that pace.  No one will have an issue bowling 135-138 if you are bowling accurately.

10 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Even Pace is not an issue and 135-138 is not a bad pace.  the issue is inaccuracy at that pace.  No one will have an issue bowling 135-138 if you are bowling accurately.

Someone who started at 150 kmph and goes to 135-138 will have questions on the need to reduce speed when ideally the speeds should have gone up.

Still remember how well he bowled in domestic cricket around in 2010 bowling really pacy spells consistently above 140+ bowling lots of 145+ deliveries, then the 150+ spells in Australia in 2011-12. Was so exciting to watch and then it all disappeared. Not sure whom to blame - Duncan Fletcher or Dhoni or his own mentors. He reduced pace despite suffering no injuries.

He's still the fittest athletic pace bowler we have produced. Kamlesh Nagarkotti looks like another one but has been out injured.