WC squad selected, DK n Jaddu selected.....no rayudu, pant

55 minutes ago, Gollum said:

If you wanna see comedy, check twitter. Fans are crying that Biryani, UV, Raina, Chucker, Undertaker have been hard done by:hysterical:

:finger: 

Without Yuvraj singh@YUVSTRONG12 India will not win the worldcup @BCCI against wrong team selected by you @imVkohli best of luck but without yuvi you can’t win

No suresh raina..
No rishabh pant...
No yuvraj singh.. A man who sacrifies hisself for the cricket
Dear @BCCI wht is this???.

@BCCI congratulations for such a nice selection . We are going to lose 2019 World cup. Without @YUVSTRONG12 atleast this world cup is not possible. #WorldCup2019 #YuvrajSingh

5 Indian cricketers who deserved a place in the World Cup squad

#2. Ajinkya Rahane 

The Indian batting line up is immensely top heavy. This leaves the side with a porous middle-order. Although the dynamics of one day cricket has changed over the years, a player of Rahane’s quality is always valuable.

A calm head who can hold an innings together, Rahane will chip in with a much-needed graft to the otherwise silky batting order. Plus a sharp slip catcher.

#3.  Ambati Rayudu 

A relatively patient accumulator, Rayudu, like Rahane, would look to essay the role of the anchor man. A misfiring top order or a flurry of wickets  in the middle overs would require a patient head to stem the tide.

Not one to scythe through the bowling attack, the CSK player can be depended on. Throw in his part-time off-breaks, and Rayudu wouldn’t be a bad option to have on the squad.

https://www.foxsportsasia.com/cricket/1079489/5-indian-cricketers-who-deserved-a-place-in-the-world-cup-squad/

I'm happy with the squad, and especially thrilled that they actually named Shankar as #4. Now, it is up to him to play his natural game instead of slogging - build an innings.

Fourth pacer is not needed, Jadeja is specialist sub fielder :aha:

And, right decision to not pick Pant, as he has to mature in his temperament, and the whole debate is only for a RESERVE keeper. It is not like they'll get into the 11. 

27 minutes ago, The Realist said:

Without Yuvraj singh@YUVSTRONG12 India will not win the worldcup @BCCI against wrong team selected by you @imVkohli best of luck but without yuvi you can’t win

No suresh raina..
No rishabh pant...
No yuvraj singh.. A man who sacrifies hisself for the cricket
Dear @BCCI wht is this???.

@BCCI congratulations for such a nice selection . We are going to lose 2019 World cup. Without @YUVSTRONG12 atleast this world cup is not possible. #WorldCup2019 #YuvrajSingh

kisne likha hai ye

Only 3 pacers might sound like the mother of all moronic decisions, but I think the idea is to play both the leggies every game, in which case the third pacer won't be getting much game time anyhow. They will need the extra pacer only in extreme pace bowling friendly pitches, which are hard to come by in ODIs these days.

Jadeja is the specialist 12th man. His role is to come in as a substitute fielder once the opening bowlers finish their first spell.

Shankar has potential. Glad that he will be our number 4.

So Bumrah, Shami/Bhuvi, Kuldeep, Chahal, Pandya, Shankar.. that is not a bad bowling attack.

Trying Rahul in the middle order might work too.

Rohit

Dhawan

Kohli

Shankar

Rahul

Dhoni

Pandya

Bhuvi

Kuldeep

Chahal/Shami

Bumrah

DK is a wasted spot agreed considering we have Rahul as the back up keeper, but other than that it's not a bad squad.

Edited by motomaverick

Where are the talented batsmen in this country the last talent we have seen emerge is Kohli. Rohit Sharma was before him. We are not seeing that special talents in domestic cricket. Gill may be another one but it is too early for him.Shaw has too many holes in his technique.

We have been playing IPL for more than 15 years and it is still overseas players who are playing the roles of finishers in many teams.IPL has not produced one good hitter.

Edited by putrevus
1 hour ago, maniac said:

True non-regional biased fans @beetle ji and @Switchblade protesting for Rishabh Pant's outster :giggle:

I havr no problems with pant not going ...only him not being considered as good as dk.

Plus I feel Pant has not been responsible enough and WC spot would have rewarded that .

At least Pant was in serious contention because according to Prasad,that was the only selection (pant or dk) that was debated . Rayudu was not even in contention.

As the biggest vocal supporter of srh,you should not call me biased.:no:

1 hour ago, beetle said:

I don't think Pant should have got in.

Only that he is no worse than dk and if they had to send one ,Pant being one for the future would have made better sense.

But a bowler would have been better than both.

As for rayudu,if he took his place in wc squad for granted based on some performance  many months back ..then one can only call him delusional or him having too much faith in his biryani.

Sunny or someone did speak about it. His point was simple if idea is to select backup keeper then kartik is right choice as he is better keeper.

42 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Where are the talented batsmen in this country the last talent we have seen emerge is Kohli. Rohit Sharma was before him. We are not seeing that special talents in domestic cricket. Gill may be another one but it is too early for him.Shaw has too many holes in his technique.

The names ur taking didnt become big names in few yrs......rohit was 0 till 5-6 yrs 

Shaw, gill, rahul , shankar, pant all are special talent. Give few yrs......biggest of the biggest name took yrs n yrs

Every batsman has holes in his technique , at the end runs matter

We have playing IPL for more than 15 years and it is still overseas players who are playing the roles of finishers in many teams.IPL has not produced one good hitter.

this is 12th IPL , how have we been playing it for more then 15 yrs 

Pant, kishen, pandya are not good hitters ????

Tbh .. a fair selection based on our experimentation. If only they did not choose rayudu for last one year it could have been different.

DK is more versatile than pant . So TM trusstrd DKs experience over Pant's explosive potential . I think it's okay also for pant not to be there . Imagine there is a pressure situation and he chokes or plays a rash shot, it will haunt him for life or probably kill his career. It's better to leave it to DK and dhoni who have no future after this WC.

Jadeja is probably a gamble here . But having dhoni, they feel they can control pace of game through spinners. Kuldeep and chahal are different when dhoni is behind the wickets. And if we play 2 spinners jadejr will be there. Probability of playing kulcha pair is remote.

Thinking about it, the squad offers a lot of flexibility for the middle order.. Maybe that was the best thing to do given the rickety middle order.

Top 3 are surely : Rohit, Dhawan, Kohli

4,5,6,7 can be :

• Vijay Shankar, Dhoni, Jadhav, Pandya
  • Vijay Shankar, Dhoni, Karthik, Pandya
  • Rahul, Dhoni, Vijay Shankar, Pandya
  • Rahul, Dhoni, Jadhav, Pandya

10 overs have to be shared between Pandya and Shankar/Jadhav.  

Can play Shankar when we go with two spinners and with Jadhav when we go with all three quicks.

I really like the third combination with Rahul and Shankar making the XI.  

Edited by bowl_out
17 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

The names ur taking didnt become big names in few yrs......rohit was 0 till 5-6 yrs 

Shaw, gill, rahul , shankar, pant all are special talent. Give few yrs......biggest of the biggest name took yrs n yrs

Every batsman has holes in his technique , at the end runs matter

this is 12th IPL , how have we been playing it for more then 15 yrs 

Pant, kishen, pandya are not good hitters ????

Rahul has been in the scene since 2014, he is 27 if he is not among the best by 27 he never will be in his life. Stop hyping him , he is never going to be that great batsman.

Shaw and Gill it is too early , they are still kids, where are the taleneted batsmen since 2011 world cup, we are seeing the repeat of 2015 squad.

Since when Pandya is good hitter. Let Kishen make the team first before counting him as something, Pant is not a good one yet.

There is serious lack of incoming talented batsmen at this time.