Does Kohli over rely on analysts than making instinctive decisions?

maniac

I have seen a couple of players say this about him how he consults and utilizes coaches a lot even at RCB.

I am sure these days with technology there is a space for such analysts. I heard Prasanna who is the chief analyst for SA cricket team on Ashwin’s YouTube show and it’s fascinating to see how  data is used to plan strategies.

Obviously doesn’t work all the time and that is where you need human instinct to take over.

Yesterday for example, Shami was the best bowler from the Indian side and he just took a wicket of Warner. Smith walks in and looks a bit shaky but what does Kohli do? Next over one of the spinner bowls but then instead of a in rhythm Shami, he brings in Saini. That seemed so text book of saving overs for the death of your best bowlers.

To make matters worse our Coach is Ravi “Bewda” Shastri who has 0 coaching credentials.

Edited by maniac

Virat Kohli is not a strategist/on field tactician as a captain. He is a classic "lead by example as a batsman" captain. He tries to uplift his side by personal performances. He neither has any foresight for team building/backing players/making players. 

As the poster above said, he is robotic & he has made the whole team play like that. No instinct or natural flair, just robotic performances.

Indian cricket needs to look beyond his leadership asap.

I am sure we have top notch analysts given the cricket nerds and on top of that math geniuses we have in our country.

what really is the point of Shastri if he can’t even do the role of man manager he is supposedly good at? The recent Kohli-Rohit fiasco, the whole Shankar-Rayudu drama during WC, mental disintegration of Pant, the whole handling of Saha and Pant keeping role, all recently retired Indian cricketers sounding like bitter ex Pakistani cricketers etc 

To add to that you have a guy who needs all of the above to even function as a leader/captain.

This is not just warning signs for on field

Performances but  immediate future of Indian cricket as well.

46 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

Virat Kohli is not a strategist/on field tactician as a captain. He is a classic "lead by example as a batsman" captain. He tries to uplift his side by personal performances. He neither has any foresight for team building/backing players/making players. 

As the poster above said, he is robotic & he has made the whole team play like that. No instinct or natural flair, just robotic performances.

Indian cricket needs to look beyond his leadership asap.

in other words, he is a lame duck leader, actually he is not leadership material.

1 hour ago, sarchasm said:

Kohli allows himself to be manipulated by his wife and handlers for something as personal as his food choices. It's all downhill from there so best to modulate your expectations accordingly. We are talking about a weak, impressionable character who cannot resist the fad of the day, looks and talks like a programmed robot. A man with ZERO personality.

Heard it all. Lol

"Kohli is a man with zero personality" 

"looks and talks like a robot" 

I heard about people living in their own bubble but this is next level stuff.

This is a man who wears his heart on his sleeves, is 10 times more marketable than any indian cricket top star and is usually known for being a passionate competitive man. 

Itne denial mai kaise jee lete ho lol. 

Hamein maloom hai jannat ki haqeeqat par dil ke behlane ko ghalib ye khayal accha hai. 

Anyway the guy is making millions and is the most popular cricket star on earth. 

Kohli and what we have seen from him since WC has been so disappointing. Rohit and email bullshit, dont care who was at fault he is the captain should have kept his mouth shut instead of looking like a school girl. Its like a CEO saying i got an email from board that CFO is on indefinite leave and i don't have any further information on next quarter result. You prick pick up the phone and ask. Also what body language nonsense was he blabbering yesterday. You dick you are the captain its your fault if team is down. 

Great batsman or not, he leads this team and he is responsible for every loss. 

The guy is mentally unstable, never seen such crass BS from a top level batter day in  day out. What's even more pathetic are his antics like :facepalm:

Image result for kohli 2017 champions trophy finalImage result for kohli 2017 champions trophy finalImage result for kohli 2017 champions trophy final

13 hours ago, sarchasm said:

Kohli allows himself to be manipulated by his wife and handlers for something as personal as his food choices. It's all downhill from there so best to modulate your expectations accordingly. We are talking about a weak, impressionable character who cannot resist the fad of the day, looks and talks like a programmed robot. A man with ZERO personality.

I love the incel losers here who don't understand normal relationships. For sexist pigs like these, being inspired by a woman can be the worst thing ever for someone. They re so dumb that they cannot understand how someone obsessed woth fitness can also adapt different diets. But no, its the wife who is to blame 

Lately this forum has been crawling with these people. The fact that this post has 5 likes shows that 

11 hours ago, Adamant said:

Heard it all. Lol

"Kohli is a man with zero personality" 

"looks and talks like a robot" 

I heard about people living in their own bubble but this is next level stuff.

This is a man who wears his heart on his sleeves, is 10 times more marketable than any indian cricket top star and is usually known for being a passionate competitive man. 

Itne denial mai kaise jee lete ho lol. 

Hamein maloom hai jannat ki haqeeqat par dil ke behlane ko ghalib ye khayal accha hai. 

Anyway the guy is making millions and is the most popular cricket star on earth. 

its not denial. Its sexist losers who are pushing their agenda. Look at the posts message, you should never be inspired or listen to your wife. You know, a true man always makes all the decisions himself. I wonder what relationships these guys have with their families. These are well educated people in the 21st century 

Do you see anyone else's wives or personal food dragged when discussing their performances? It's because the women in their lives are out of sight, like all good women should be 

Edited by New guy

Agree in principle  that Virat isn't the best of captain. But I think he certainly would have done better if he had players which previous captains had.

However Virat does not has players of calibre of Sehwag, Sachin, GG, Raina, Yuvi and Dhoni. The only advantage Virat has that he has Bumrah and Shami and himself. If you give this team to even Rahul who is likely to be next ODI captain, even he would struggle to win a tournament like WC with this. 

The team has to be developed first and made stronger so that once there are more ODI greats in team as there were in past, the small mistakes in captaincy would not have mattered much. 33 year old Sharma is not there who is a ODI great. Captain is getting exposed more. The problem is much more deeper than the captain itself. The quality of ODI players is in decline. The system that produces ODI players, the selection panel, the development are more important things that need to be reviewed and accordingly making required corrections is the long term solution. Otherwise it's just a patchwork short term solution. 

Forget replacement of Sharma for which Team did not had time to prepare, we do not even have replacement of Yuvraj who retired so many years back.  For all the loss of Sehwag, Sachin, Yuvi and Dhoni the only replacement we have is Kohli. And it's not short time since the last greats have retired. In few years Sharma will also retire. So one more worry to sort out. Sucession planning has not at all happened for whatever the reason may be. 

Back to the topic, Kohli's captaincy is well known to most of us. Its a shame that we have to bear with this. If only BCCI had enough judgement to make Rohit the LOI captain and Pujara the test captain. Kohli is a good batsman probably he is worn out by captaincy which he is not good at.

1 hour ago, sarchasm said:

Stay tuned!

More hottakes to come. And if you are lucky, I might feel generous and tutor you to respond better than a leaky bag of worn out cliches.

There’s no cure to delusion. 

You have my sympathies. 

I have zero problem with analysts making decisions as long as their data understanding is correct. I am not in favor of onfield humans making any decisions because there are biases involved and human brain just cannot process so much information.

19 hours ago, Straight Drive said:

Agree in principle  that Virat isn't the best of captain. But I think he certainly would have done better if he had players which previous captains had.

However Virat does not has players of calibre of Sehwag, Sachin, GG, Raina, Yuvi and Dhoni. The only advantage Virat has that he has Bumrah and Shami and himself. If you give this team to even Rahul who is likely to be next ODI captain, even he would struggle to win a tournament like WC with this. 

The team has to be developed first and made stronger so that once there are more ODI greats in team as there were in past, the small mistakes in captaincy would not have mattered much. 33 year old Sharma is not there who is a ODI great. Captain is getting exposed more. The problem is much more deeper than the captain itself. The quality of ODI players is in decline. The system that produces ODI players, the selection panel, the development are more important things that need to be reviewed and accordingly making required corrections is the long term solution. Otherwise it's just a patchwork short term solution. 

Forget replacement of Sharma for which Team did not had time to prepare, we do not even have replacement of Yuvraj who retired so many years back.  For all the loss of Sehwag, Sachin, Yuvi and Dhoni the only replacement we have is Kohli. And it's not short time since the last greats have retired. In few years Sharma will also retire. So one more worry to sort out. Sucession planning has not at all happened for whatever the reason may be. 

I disagree. Irrespective of skill level of individual members, what I saw in 1st odi wasn't a team. Do you agree with how Rahul is being handled? Up down keeper no keeper. Laxman was in and out for long and then he was made. My problem of late with Virat is he has stopped looking like a captain and more like Ms world contestant. Today I want to see a team and captain who are trying to win than crap we saw couple of days back. 

On 11/29/2020 at 7:43 AM, jf1gp_1 said:

I disagree. Irrespective of skill level of individual members, what I saw in 1st odi wasn't a team. Do you agree with how Rahul is being handled? Up down keeper no keeper. Laxman was in and out for long and then he was made. My problem of late with Virat is he has stopped looking like a captain and more like Ms world contestant. Today I want to see a team and captain who are trying to win than crap we saw couple of days back. 

Rahul is not the typical classy keeper, but I think as a non specialist keeper he has performed above expectations imo. Kohli is probably having Rahul as one of the main players whom he banks on in LOI. I don't think he will discard Rahul.