Vilander Posted May 20, 2021 Posted May 20, 2021 48 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: Off topic. One of the big shocks after moving to TN was drunkard state that it had become. Bit like rural areas in Maharashtra and definitely like Kerala. People drinking and sleeping at unhygenic places drinking cheap liquor, making life difficult for women and children. And this is Chennai. I remember writing an essay in competition success to rally against degradation of this great culture. PS No problems in them drinking. This was not healthy and causes great deal of social malaise. definitely lots of people who drink in TN, i wont call it a drunkard state lol there are 83 mil domiciles - what percentage of them need to drink alcohol for it to be called drunkard state lol. but does not mean they should not get vaccine and we should lie in this thread that low vaccination is due to covid vaccine hesitancy due to drinking problem lol.
Jimmy Cliff Posted May 20, 2021 Posted May 20, 2021 49 minutes ago, dial_100 said: Majority of people were/are taking it lightly. "Kuchh nahi hota" attitude is costing us great losses. I still have to sit and count how many people I know, are close to me, have lost someone. Its a list and it is quite big. That is why I dont want to put it. While we grieve for our losses, this thing is far from being over yet. We have duties, please do your part, help someone. People don't take it seriously until it happens to someone in the family. Sad but true. Up until early April, senior citizens still used to go out to buy groceries in my circle. dial_100 1
G_B_ Posted May 20, 2021 Posted May 20, 2021 1 hour ago, Vilander said: definitely lots of people who drink in TN, i wont call it a drunkard state lol there are 83 mil domiciles - what percentage of them need to drink alcohol for it to be called drunkard state lol. but does not mean they should not get vaccine and we should lie in this thread that low vaccination is due to covid vaccine hesitancy due to drinking problem lol. dude you need to stop being so touchy. What he said of rural Maharashtra is 100% true. Especially during the harvest season you will see men sleeping anywhere and everything from drinking too much. It is what it is. States like Maharashtra TN and Kerala do have a drink problem. Especially the cheap fermented type.
rising Posted May 20, 2021 Posted May 20, 2021 3 hours ago, dial_100 said: Majority of people were/are taking it lightly. "Kuchh nahi hota" attitude is costing us great losses. I still have to sit and count how many people I know, are close to me, have lost someone. Its a list and it is quite big. That is why I dont want to put it. While we grieve for our losses, this thing is far from being over yet. We have duties, please do your part, help someone. There few idiots but majority are scarred but they don't have discipline to follow basic guidelines like removing mask while talking . And some are just trying take extra risk hoping they would make some money and some are desperate in regards which is also adding to problem
Vilander Posted May 20, 2021 Posted May 20, 2021 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: dude you need to stop being so touchy. What he said of rural Maharashtra is 100% true. Especially during the harvest season you will see men sleeping anywhere and everything from drinking too much. It is what it is. States like Maharashtra TN and Kerala do have a drink problem. Especially the cheap fermented type. There is drinking problem what % of people have it - do we have stat. There is regular articles the latest from Yesterday - sounding vaccine shortage in Chennai, people being sent home without vaccine shot galore. And here some random coffee mama will post links on some SM nut claiming there is lots of vaccine hesitancy in TN because people Drink ? Are there any reliable stats around it ? i will certainly ask questions sorry.
Vilander Posted May 20, 2021 Posted May 20, 2021 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: Especially the cheap fermented type. that is called Kallu and its not really a problem as long as the person drinking it does it in moderation.
coffee_rules Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 Chalo round figure hogya! Sab jan khush. Pathake phodo Do we count the dead and gasp or try to save and recover the living? Liberals are undertakers counting the dead rather than help the survivors. Lage raho. This veteran has a Gul Panang’s dad, perpetual aap anarchist
diga Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 5 hours ago, Vilander said: that is called Kallu and its not really a problem as long as the person drinking it does it in moderation. Isnt that same as Feni which is made from Cashew/Palm trees ? If you consider that per capita consumption in Goa/Kerala should easily outrank any other state
beetle Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 50 per cent people in India do not wear a mask, seven of 100 wear it correctly: Survey http://dhunt.in/fN6uo?s=a&uu=0xacead4534ef0c2be&ss=pd Source : "TimesNowNews" via Dailyhunt Download Nowhttp://dhunt.in/DWND
coffee_rules Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 9 hours ago, ravishingravi said: I think let’s not push on mask thing. Those who want to protect themselves, they will. In India, not much more is possible. We back our immunity and fate. To be honest, I recall a foreigner once told me years back that coming to India has made him believe in god. Cause only god is running this country. And it’s largely true. It should be an absolute free fall and it isn’t. No one knows why. Vaccination plus herd immunity we are there in 6 months. Or that’s the hope. Masking is not about spreading, but safeguard yourself from contracting and who knows what it will lead to - spread within family , hospitalization, beds shortage, meds shortage, and god forbid, death and grievance to family. beetle 1
ravishingravi Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 (edited) TN has highest balance as on 18 th May. How can there is be balance and shortage at the same time @Vilander Edited May 21, 2021 by ravishingravi
R!TTER Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 12 hours ago, ravishingravi said: Vaccination plus herd immunity we are there in 6 months. Well I'm sure we'll see God descend on earth in that time or lots of fellow citizens meet him in person
rkt.india Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 32 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: TN has highest balance as on 18 th May. How can there is be balance and shortage at the same time @Vilander I had said this too lack of demand in TN means lack of supply and then mismanagement by the govt.
ravishingravi Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, R!TTER said: Well I'm sure we'll see God descend on earth in that time or lots of fellow citizens meet him in person For people living in real world with real numbers, none of the countries will vaccinate majority of their population in 6 months. Again, for people living in real world, people are dying and will continue to in that time. The question is how much can it be contained. Edited May 21, 2021 by ravishingravi
ravishingravi Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 Its improving everyday guys. Hopefully all goes on track by end of June we should be back to Jan numbers. Hope and pray the worst is over. G_B_ and coffee_rules 2
G_B_ Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 5 hours ago, beetle said: 50 per cent people in India do not wear a mask, seven of 100 wear it correctly: Survey http://dhunt.in/fN6uo?s=a&uu=0xacead4534ef0c2be&ss=pd Source : "TimesNowNews" via Dailyhunt Download Nowhttp://dhunt.in/DWND Then we blame authorities... dial_100 1
Mariyam Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 17 minutes ago, G_B_ said: Then we blame authorities... We don't blame authorities for us not wearing masks. We blame them, and rightly so, for failing to provide any beds/oxygen/medicine/vaccines. We blame them for the fact that there is NO TRANSPARENCY on any of these and most people have to rely on twitter/IG to avail a bed. Or some random telegram group to know the status of vaccines in the city. Case in point, the BMC website of beds availability was a sham when Mumbai was at 8-10k cases a day. And BMC helplines would direct you to specific private hospitals from which they would get a cut presumably. The entire wave 2 has resulted in people having no trust in governments. Centre or State. beetle, speedheat, Vilander and 1 other 1 3
jf1gp_1 Posted May 21, 2021 Posted May 21, 2021 22 minutes ago, Mariyam said: We don't blame authorities for us not wearing masks. We blame them, and rightly so, for failing to provide any beds/oxygen/medicine/vaccines. We blame them for the fact that there is NO TRANSPARENCY on any of these and most people have to rely on twitter/IG to avail a bed. Or some random telegram group to know the status of vaccines in the city. Case in point, the BMC website of beds availability was a sham when Mumbai was at 8-10k cases a day. And BMC helplines would direct you to specific private hospitals from which they would get a cut presumably. The entire wave 2 has resulted in people having no trust in governments. Centre or State. Same in Delhi, let take o2 as an example first you had state/central govt blame each other for not being prepared. Then both went to court on O2 supply as soon as center started 710mt per day at the directive of SC, delhi govt said we have surplus please give to other state. I dont know whom to trust now ? Look at the whole Singapore virus fiasco started by kejriwal. He did a pakistan, cancel flights from Singapore when direct flights stopped over a year ago and then Jaishankar shouldn't have criticized kejriwal Mariyam and beetle 2