Tibarn Posted June 20, 2021 Posted June 20, 2021 (edited) It started in 2019, when the CM of AP decided: Round 1 https://tfipost.com/2019/11/jagan-gets-slammed-for-replacing-telugu-with-english-as-mode-of-instruction-in-govt-schools/ Quote YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, the newly elected CM of Andhra Pradesh, is running the government on expected lines. A few months after announcing salary for Imams and pastors, the government has decided to change the ‘medium of instruction’ in government schools from Telugu to English. The government has decided that all the government-run schools will change the medium of instruction to English from the next academic year, initially for class 1 to 8. Classes 9 and 10 will go for the same from 2021-22. Now Round 2 https://www.hindustantimes.com/education/news/ap-government-makes-english-medium-compulsory-at-undergraduate-level-101623819655911.html Quote The Andhra Pradesh government on Tuesday announced the compulsory introduction of the English medium at all the undergraduate colleges in the state, doing away with Telugu as the medium of instruction with effect from the academic year 2021-22, as per an official state release. “It is essential that these students pursue their undergraduate courses in English medium. The transition from Telugu medium to English Medium would be easier at the graduation level,” the official release said, adding that it would also introduce spoken English courses at various levels in the undergraduate courses. In the release, the department of higher education said the decision to make English medium mandatory at all the government, private and government-aided degree colleges was taken at a recent meeting held by chief minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy. Thoughts on these actions by Reddy? Will other states follow suit? If so, which ones do you think? Edited June 20, 2021 by Tibarn
coffee_rules Posted June 20, 2021 Posted June 20, 2021 I studied in Kannada medium upto 8th . I’ll be an alien species in India soon. Good, let’s compete with China thinking in a language that colonized us. Soon to follow is UP. Or it has already leading in this effort.
sarcastic Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 On 6/19/2021 at 6:25 PM, Tibarn said: It started in 2019, when the CM of AP decided: Round 1 https://tfipost.com/2019/11/jagan-gets-slammed-for-replacing-telugu-with-english-as-mode-of-instruction-in-govt-schools/ Now Round 2 https://www.hindustantimes.com/education/news/ap-government-makes-english-medium-compulsory-at-undergraduate-level-101623819655911.html Thoughts on these actions by Reddy? Will other states follow suit? If so, which ones do you think? Personally, I think it is not a good thing to mandatorily do it but then when I talk to some people from AP, they do seem to support that idea. One question that will be asked by the proponents is: If you are going to send your kids to an English medium school, why do you want the poor person's kids to study in telugu medium in the government schools> Honestly, there is no answer I can give to that question. I want those local vernacular medium schools to be there so that our culture will be preserved but do I want to send my own kids to such a school. Probably not and this answer is the same for everyone one of us here on ICF. raki05 1
zen Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 Growing up in Ind, I have only studied in English schools. A major regret is not taking Sanskrit classes. Now I am getting attracted to old languages such as Sanskrit and Latin. coffee_rules 1
Turning_track Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 Never thought a declared classical language which is still in use would be treated as such.
maniac Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 At least it’s not Italian or Latin I guess raki05, Jimmy Cliff, Sandeep99 and 1 other 4
sarcastic Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 13 minutes ago, maniac said: At least it’s not Italian or Latin I guess There is no link to Jagan reddy's actions and what you post here. English is made the language of instruction since it increases employability of the kids when they grow up. Not all can afford to send their kids to English medium private schools most of whom charge exorbitant fees. We don't need to see everything through a biased lens of personal beliefs. In fact, there is pressure on TRS government to follow suit in Telangana.
maniac Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 18 minutes ago, sarcastic said: There is no link to Jagan reddy's actions and what you post here. English is made the language of instruction since it increases employability of the kids when they grow up. Not all can afford to send their kids to English medium private schools most of whom charge exorbitant fees. We don't need to see everything through a biased lens of personal beliefs. In fact, there is pressure on TRS government to follow suit in Telangana. Not everyone need to become a corporate coolie and work at an MNC. There are plenty of ways you can learn the local language over English and make yourself a lot more Resourceful and fulfilling than working in a software job. Sandeep99 1
sandeep Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 3 hours ago, zen said: Growing up in Ind, I have only studied in English schools. A major regret is not taking Sanskrit classes. Now I am getting attracted to old languages such as Sanskrit and Latin. Its an exquisitely beautiful language, and is taught poorly in India at the school level. I took it for 4 years in India, got a 99 in my "board" exam, something that I take pride in to this day. But the teaching methodology is completely useless, focusing primarily on a highly evolved and complex grammar with its rules, instead of the actual language. zen 1
BacktoCricaddict Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 6 minutes ago, sandeep said: Its an exquisitely beautiful language, and is taught poorly in India at the school level. I took it for 4 years in India, got a 99 in my "board" exam, something that I take pride in to this day. But the teaching methodology is completely useless, focusing primarily on a highly evolved and complex grammar with its rules, instead of the actual language. You mean Sanskrit, right? It is not only beautiful, but it is as close to logically perfect as a language can get. The rules are clear, there is no room for confusion, things are pronounced as they are written, and there is very little room for taking liberties. Every base is covered. I learned it in school/college for 8 years, and also took a lot of extra lessons outside of the curriculum. I still get chill-bumps when I hear, in my mind's ear, a whole class of 80 students reciting the "shabdas." Forgot a lot of it once I hit my 20s. My children are now very interested and this summer, I am trying to re-learn and simultaneously teach them. But you are right - as beautiful as it was, the focus was on reading, grammar and writing, and not on colloquial use. I so wish it was different. Laaloo, coffee_rules and Vilander 2 1
sarcastic Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 (edited) 37 minutes ago, maniac said: Not everyone need to become a corporate coolie and work at an MNC. There are plenty of ways you can learn the local language over English and make yourself a lot more Resourceful and fulfilling than working in a software job. As I noted in my first post, you are preaching to the choir.`One question that will be asked by the proponents is: If you are going to send your kids to an English medium school, why do you want the poor person's kids to study in telugu medium in the government schools>` Can you answer this question. Hypothetically, if you were living in an Indian town/city (without great financial situation), would you send your kids to one of the Telugu medium schools and say that `Not everyone need to become a corporate collie` and what not. Edited June 21, 2021 by sarcastic
maniac Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 26 minutes ago, sarcastic said: As I noted in my first post, you are preaching to the choir.`One question that will be asked by the proponents is: If you are going to send your kids to an English medium school, why do you want the poor person's kids to study in telugu medium in the government schools>` Can you answer this question. Hypothetically, if you were living in an Indian town/city (without great financial situation), would you send your kids to one of the Telugu medium schools and say that `Not everyone need to become a corporate collie` and what not. I don’t have a problem of improving the standard of English education in government schools to give the poor kind an additional resource along with Telugu education. Me and you can afford to teach our kids additional local language or other extra curricular skills where as the poor kid might not have the same luxury.
gattaca Posted June 21, 2021 Posted June 21, 2021 My god what must Japanese think. They still use Japanese for teaching.
Vilander Posted June 22, 2021 Posted June 22, 2021 3 hours ago, maniac said: Not everyone need to become a corporate coolie and work at an MNC. There are plenty of ways you can learn the local language over English and make yourself a lot more Resourceful and fulfilling than working in a software job. Easy for you to say it after working you way to the US and making sufficient money , consider yourself a parent from a semi urban rural small town who has a kid in AP and want the best for the kid but can only afford govt school for now. sarcastic, Mariyam and BacktoCricaddict 3
Vilander Posted June 22, 2021 Posted June 22, 2021 This is good if it increases knowledge in the students if they understand the subjects more if they are able to do original work in essays and become more creative but it's still academic, research mindset is not set just based on academicia.
kepler37b Posted June 22, 2021 Posted June 22, 2021 It's useless to debate in AP. Peoples opinion are driven by caste and blind individual worship.
Mariyam Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 (edited) Not really related to the topic, but here goes nonetheless: Long years ago, I was in one of the silver/trinket shops that are aplenty around the Charminar. Wanted to get some cheap but expensive looking stuff for gifting purposes. I enter this one shop and ask the shop keeper about the wares. In Hindi/Urdu. The guy just replies really fast and I follow nothing. So I ask again, this time in English and says the same thing again. Finally, at a very slow pace in Hindi/Urdu I tell the shop keeper that I do not speak Telugu. He replies at an even slower pace telling me that he was speaking Urdu all along. Hyderabadi Urdu is really Edited June 24, 2021 by Mariyam maniac, BacktoCricaddict and Lord 3
BacktoCricaddict Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 57 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Hyderabadi Urdu is really And then take that Hyderabadi Urdu and mix it in with Dharwad Kannada, which is itself a mix of Kannada and Marathi, and you get a truly beautiful language. Mariyam 1
coffee_rules Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 (edited) 4 hours ago, Mariyam said: Not really related to the topic, but here goes nonetheless: Long years ago, I was in one of the silver/trinket shops that are aplenty around the Charminar. Wanted to get some cheap but expensive looking stuff for gifting purposes. I enter this one shop and ask the shop keeper about the wares. In Hindi/Urdu. The guy just replies really fast and I follow nothing. So I ask again, this time in English and says the same thing again. Finally, at a very slow pace in Hindi/Urdu I tell the shop keeper that I do not speak Telugu. He replies at an even slower pace telling me that he was speaking Urdu all along. Hyderabadi Urdu is really you are as elitist as @maniac about UK cricket audience. Kya baata karti so! nakko bol ma, lite lo, kidhar se aata re..malooma nahi kya?, hydrabad mein aisich baata karte, hallu bol zara Edited June 24, 2021 by coffee_rules BacktoCricaddict and maniac 2
maniac Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 52 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: you are as elitist as @maniac about UK cricket audience. Kya baat karti so! maloom Elitist sounds like a compliment than a criticism TBH Anyway just to clarify my issue is not just against some UK audience but I believe I have pointed this out about Indian origin crowds in Australia UAE or even some sections of the Indian audience. I am annoyed with men and women dressing up in clothing outside their comfort zone. It’s not about what one should wear or not but I see potbellied guys dressing up in tight fit Armani Xchange, American Eagle or Aeropostale and tighter jeans that probably scrapes away at their buttocks or Indian girls who probably got freedom for the first time staying away from their families wearing something out of their comfort zone and carrying it awkwardly. Anyway even if it’s an eyesore that doesn’t bug me much as it’s their choice but now watching them gracelessly dance away with a lot of awkwardness is really embarrassing and repulsive. I don’t mind the color or fancy dresses or creativity or even the musical instruments among the audience. In fact I love it and want to see more of it but watching confused and befuddled folk not knowing what to do and just do these weird jigs ruins it for me. To each his own. There is a milk delicacy called junnu also known as Kharvas. It’s apparently very exotic but when I was told what milk it was it turned me off and I refuse to eat it even though it is supposed to be rare. If these things bug me than elitist it is. What @Mariyam has done doesn’t make her elitist. She is a “predujist”. Just because someone doesn’t speak Urdu like Majboor Sultanpuri and are sticking to their ethnic slang, demeaning them is not nice