Ankit_sharma03 Posted June 23, 2021 Posted June 23, 2021 2 minutes ago, Frustrated said: Bhai. Match me haar jeet lagi rehti he. Koi problem nahi. Lekin bar bar icc tournaments harna kuch alag ishara karta he. Wo bhi ek hi Kaptan ke captaincy me. ha to problem captaincy hai isme population kaha se aa gayi. Ye problem to ganguly ke time bhi thi...he also use to choke final after final If anythiing population shud mean good bench strength which we have in abundance
Jay Posted June 23, 2021 Posted June 23, 2021 5 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: I feel gutted. For all the money, size and massive pool of super talented cricketers - we continue to get shafted by a country whose population is a small fraction of our cities and for whom cricket is their 3rd or 4th sport. Feel like smashing rat's ugly face. Shameless pathetic excuse of captain and leader. What size money? What is the standard of living in India? Compared to n.z What about facilities. India is still 3rd world. What about infrastructure. What about political system Corruption Account for all this and then you will see that india has done well. Also bonehead kohli. And u do sound like someone from pakpassion now.
Jay Posted June 23, 2021 Posted June 23, 2021 5 hours ago, Gollum said: NZ is one of the greatest sports nations out there. Look at Olympic medals per capita....India and other South Asian countries are at the other end of the spectrum. Number of reasons to explain our underperformance but not getting into that. They are better than us in almost every damn sport. Rank Country Gold est. population total gold /million pop 1 Finland 101 5,493,577 18.39 2 Hungary 175 9,823,000 17.82 3 Bahamas 6 378,040 15.87 4 Sweden 147 9,906,331 14.84 5 Norway 56 5,236,826 10.69 6 New Zealand 46 4,710,740 9.76 7 Grenada 1 103,328 9.68 8 Jamaica 23 2,723,246 8.45 9 Denmark 45 5,724,456 7.86 10 Bulgaria 51 7,153,784 7.13 Dude we don't encourage sports. Only the privileged can even dream of sport unless they get spotted randomly off the streets. Do u ever see indian parents encourage sports? No
SujitPrakash Posted June 23, 2021 Posted June 23, 2021 (edited) 6 hours ago, Gollum said: NZ is one of the greatest sports nations out there. Look at Olympic medals per capita....India and other South Asian countries are at the other end of the spectrum. Number of reasons to explain our underperformance but not getting into that. They are better than us in almost every damn sport. Rank Country Gold est. population total gold /million pop 1 Finland 101 5,493,577 18.39 2 Hungary 175 9,823,000 17.82 3 Bahamas 6 378,040 15.87 4 Sweden 147 9,906,331 14.84 5 Norway 56 5,236,826 10.69 6 New Zealand 46 4,710,740 9.76 7 Grenada 1 103,328 9.68 8 Jamaica 23 2,723,246 8.45 9 Denmark 45 5,724,456 7.86 10 Bulgaria 51 7,153,784 7.13 I have travelled to most of these countries currently living in Australia, and I must say that in Australia and NZ we have a sporting culture. Even in Australia 25 million population and cricket is only a summer sport, NZ have rugby and 3 other sports before cricket and that too with a population of only 5 million. Any surprise that these countries always excel at the Olympics etc? Norway and all those countries mentioned above all have tiny populations when compared to India and yet they do extremely well on the international sporting stage. As I am living in Australia at the moment the winter sports are on like AFL (Australia Football League) and other winter sports in Australia, and it's a brutal game if any Indian watches it, then they have Rugby, Hockey, Volleyball, Swimming, Soccer (football) and many other sports. The thing is Australians will try anything, and the kids in school are made to try different sports etc to find the sports that best suits them. And that goes for education as well, the education system in Australia is based on critical thinking, physical activity etc. And the teachers are highly qualified and motivated, unlike in India where kids are forced to learn everything by rote learning and then just vomiting that crap our again, and the teaches aren't qualified and very unmotivated. Yes India is good a cricket, but when you have 1.35 billion people and cricket is the countries obsession India should be doing better. Would love to discuss these ideas, because I have always wondered why Indians don't know much about the world. When I was living in India I thought I knew everything and would always chest thump about how wonderful and great India is, but then I started travelling and found out that India is not great at all, it's at the bottom of almost every list. Australia, NZ, Europe etc have a good quality of life, when I was working in India my first job was in a call centre where you had to work 12 - 14 hours and get paid peanuts, in Australia that is unheard of. The company will ask you if you want to work overtime and pay you accordingly, the quality of life in these countries is amazing, even a taxi driver can own 2 or more houses and still save and enjoy life. You can be filthy rich and sitting in a bar and you can have a great conversation with a cleaner, this is called dignity through labour and this is another thing lacking in India. Sorry for the long post, turned into a bit of a rant, wonder if I should make a new thread so we can discuss these issues? Edited June 23, 2021 by SujitPrakash GoldenSun, SRT100 and Lone Wolf 1 2
Yoda-esque Posted June 23, 2021 Posted June 23, 2021 I feel gutted. For all the money, size and massive pool of super talented cricketers - we continue to get shafted by a country whose population is a small fraction of our cities and for whom cricket is their 3rd or 4th sport. Feel like smashing rat's ugly face. Shameless pathetic excuse of captain and leader.NZ is a better team period
rangeelaraja Posted June 23, 2021 Author Posted June 23, 2021 2 minutes ago, Yoda-esque said: 6 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: I feel gutted. For all the money, size and massive pool of super talented cricketers - we continue to get shafted by a country whose population is a small fraction of our cities and for whom cricket is their 3rd or 4th sport. Feel like smashing rat's ugly face. Shameless pathetic excuse of captain and leader. NZ is a better team period for the conditions and that they had the advantage of playing a whole Test series unlike the Indian team which did not play a single competitive match. Fixed. Under_Score 1
EnterTheVoid Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 Said it before. Will say it again, NZ are perennial overachievers. For a country that has a population of some 5 million, they punch way above their weight. Formidable in cricket, practically God like in rugby. kepler37b 1
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 9 hours ago, sandeep said: Reading too much into a single game, where conditions favored NZ, and so did the toss. Typical randi-rona for folks unable to enjoy the sport for what it is. And just want to enjoy 'wins'. There is no excuse for getting out at. 170 in good batting conditions, couldn't even touch first innings score where it was tough to bat.
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 4 hours ago, Yoda-esque said: 10 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: I feel gutted. For all the money, size and massive pool of super talented cricketers - we continue to get shafted by a country whose population is a small fraction of our cities and for whom cricket is their 3rd or 4th sport. Feel like smashing rat's ugly face. Shameless pathetic excuse of captain and leader. NZ is a better team for those conditions period Fixed
Vilander Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 4 hours ago, SujitPrakash said: I have travelled to most of these countries currently living in Australia, and I must say that in Australia and NZ we have a sporting culture Lol who is the we ... coffee_rules and express bowling 2
Vilander Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 4 hours ago, SujitPrakash said: Yes India is good a cricket, but when you have 1.35 billion people and cricket is the countries obsession India should be doing better. Would love to discuss these ideas, because I have always wondered why Indians don't know much about the world. When I was living in India I thought I knew everything and would always chest thump about how wonderful and great India is, but then I started travelling and found out that India is not great at all, it's at the bottom of almost every list You have done nothing by traveling etc you still are ignorant lol..
A1Singga Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 (edited) I have said again and again. The problem is superstar culture when people stop worshipping players who are just doing their job and that too not even good enough(like Loli as a captain) media will start criticizing them heavily. I remember some guy from the Vikrant Gupta show criticized Kohli and all his fangirls defended him. All thanks to his PR team. I would go far to say that they might even be anti-national for masking Kohli's ineffective& harmful leadership with some useless performance in bilaterals here and there. Honesty speaking kohli will be remembered as a joke of captain. For all his 'aggression' He shits his pants when the occasion comes. Edited June 24, 2021 by A1Singga sorak, Frustrated and express bowling 2 1
kepler37b Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 (edited) 10 hours ago, Serpico said: money, population, passion, talent pool etc are all useless if you don't have a culture of accountability. of course there are other nuances like developed post scarcity country vs poor country etc but lack of accountability is the biggest issue, I would say This. Our institutions are highly inefficient due to our ingrained culture of selfishness and lack of accountability. The incompetence is not limited to one field. Its pervasive. Edited June 24, 2021 by kepler37b
kepler37b Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 10 hours ago, sandeep said: Reading too much into a single game, where conditions favored NZ, and so did the toss. Typical randi-rona for folks unable to enjoy the sport for what it is. And just want to enjoy 'wins'. Yes. Enjoy the wins and analyze the defeats. And that is what is being done here.
SujitPrakash Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 1 hour ago, Vilander said: You have done nothing by traveling etc you still are ignorant lol.. How am I ignorant? I agree in some things I am ignorant, you might even say I am stupid. But if you think that calling me ignorant instead of discussing the point's I have made, just goes to show who really is ignorant.
EnterTheVoid Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 Take Australia, population of 25 million odd. Won three world cups in a row (99, 03, 07). And cricket isn't even their premier sport. They are no slouches in swimming, soccer, rugby, track and field, power lifting, netball and tennis either. Got world class athletes in all those sports. In India, it is cricket or nothing. You can't excel in one endeavour all time. SujitPrakash 1
SujitPrakash Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 12 minutes ago, EnterTheVoid said: Take Australia, population of 25 million odd. Won three world cups in a row (99, 03, 07). And cricket isn't even their premier sport. They are no slouches in swimming, soccer, rugby, track and field, power lifting, netball and tennis either. Got world class athletes in all those sports. In India, it is cricket or nothing. You can't excel in one endeavour all time. If you have and are obsessed by only one sport then you should be excelling at it all the time, then you have India one sport played by 90% of the country and NZ who have about 110 - 150 professional cricketers and here we are.
EnterTheVoid Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 Just now, SujitPrakash said: If you have and are obsessed by only one sport then you should be excelling at it all the time, then you have India one sport played by 90% of the country and NZ who have about 110 - 150 professional cricketers and here we are. Our problem is that, because we are obsessed with one sport, we are expected to win all the time. Unfortunately, doesn't work.
R!TTER Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 17 minutes ago, EnterTheVoid said: And cricket isn't even their premier sport. Don't kid yourself, it is their national sport! Yeah rugby might be more popular now but cricket's popularity hasn't exactly died down, not to mention Rugby season lasts much longer IIRC.
nevada Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 Conditions, conditions, conditions. Even post Sanga and Mahela SL has done clean sweep of Australia at home. That being said, NZ's captaincy and execution was relentless and flawless in this match. Having lost the WC in heartbreaking fashion, they deserve this win.