Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

18 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

It does feel developed though.

Circa 2009, I was there as a tourist.

We took a train from Xian ( which had totally forgettable terracota soldiers and some hill with a monastery  ) to Wuhan ( which had nothing much and was probably incubating the Corona virus then). The intercity railway system was top notch even then. Timely. Clean. Easy to book. Far better than Eurail. And safe ( we were 5 girls in our late teens/early 20s) .

I know it's a bad metric to judge 'first worldness', but in terms of infrastructure, its visually very modern.

Yeah, the coastal areas and outer states are quite well developed and have living standards similar to Portugal, Greece etc. inner states are poorer. Averages out to “second world”.

tbh same could be said of india. Southern states vs the Hindi heartland. Although both are not similar to Chinese levels the gap is very much there.

26 minutes ago, I6MTW said:

So I'm assuming we'll end up with only 2 medals this time? Like Rio? Any chance of surpassing or equalling London tally? Any chance of a gold?

Naah. Should be more than 2. Would be surprised if it isn’t.

9 minutes ago, Number said:

Tajinder Singh Toor has a chance in shotput ?

His personal best is 21.45 mtrs just last month. In Rio bronze was 21.35 mtrs.

Tajinder's 21.45 is the 15th best throw this season. Shows you the insanely high level of competition.

10 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Tajinder's 21.45 is the 15th best throw this season. Shows you the insanely high level of competition.

In All honesty I guess indians got high when we won a silver in day 1 even before everyone across the globe woke up. It created hysteria and we started assuming it will be a medal rush forgetting this is olympics and every participant is good and anything can happen on the day..this created immense pressure along with expectations across the contingent..

3 hours ago, Lord said:

it won't be a chokejob for Sindhu as she's not the favourite to win.Unlike Kohli's men.

3 hours ago, neel roy said:

In icc wtc india choked. Here if sindhu loses ot ll be as per rankings not choke. She is 6. Tai no 2

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

Tai Tzu is better than Sindhu, enjoys match-up advantage, huge H2H lead, got more rest because of schedule, what inevitable chokejob are you talking about?

You guys misunderstood my post. 

I was explaining why I'm less nervous during an icc knockout because of the obviously inevitable chokejob by Kohli and co

12 minutes ago, neel roy said:

In All honesty I guess indians got high when we won a silver in day 1 even before everyone across the globe woke up. It created hysteria and we started assuming it will be a medal rush forgetting this is olympics and every participant is good and anything can happen on the day..this created immense pressure along with expectations across the contingent..

Like I said. First create indian institute of sports design to churn our athletes just like every other top nation.

We have IiT. IiM.

Need one for sports mate. 

Then we can talk about medals. Not to mention funding. We need that in abundance. Not just some bullshit government job as incentive. 

12 minutes ago, Norman said:

You guys misunderstood my post. 

I was explaining why I'm less nervous during an icc knockout because of the obviously inevitable chokejob by Kohli and co

Haarne se darr nahi lagta Saahab

Choke se lagta hai

Indonesia has 2 top ranked pairs in Mens doubles and none of them could win even a Bronze.

If we were heartbroken with Archery, Amit Panghal and Shooting think how would Indonesian fans would be feeling.

Indian womens team in quarter finals. To face Australia. Chak de India .. didnt we beat them in some world championship finals..

on a serious note india women has indeed beaten australia once that too in Melbourne in 2016 in their first test.. 1-0..

3 minutes ago, Number said:

Indonesia has 2 top ranked pairs in Mens doubles and none of them could win even a Bronze.

If we were heartbroken with Archery, Amit Panghal and Shooting think how would Indonesian fans would be feeling.

We had 6 top ranked in shooting in 6 disciplines