Vancouver Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 Agar aap hai Ollie Pope toh yeh hai India ki top. Other than Gavaskar and Agarkar, other commentators are not conducting themselves in a professional manner. No analysis of game, no attempt to sound unbiased. I think it’s Saba Karin who screams most lol, ohhhh hoooo ohhhhh mazaaaaaaa aaaaa gyaaaa Why India struggles to produce commentators and umpires? Mariyam, Frustrated and speedheat 3
maniac Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 DK is such a breath of fresh air. Either you have cheerleaders or someone like Manju who is the polar opposite almost like an Indian Michael Holding with his views. However I have my doubts once DK takes it up full time he is going to go the cheerleader route too. He already kinda is but is in a more reserved environment at Sky
zen Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 Hindi commentary is probably designed for a different type of target audience. There are ppl who prefer films like The Godfather, there are people who like DDLJ more. Mariyam 1
maniac Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 1 minute ago, zen said: Hindi commentary is probably designed for a different type of target audience. There are ppl who prefer films like The Godfather, there are people who like DDLJ more. I know what you are saying and it is obviously the truth but I think we undermine our own audience. for example movie producers think that they have to insert an item song or a pointless fight or love song but many times I have seen the front benchers take a smoke or toilet break or express frustration when those things kind of things slow down the momentum of the movie. There are plenty of movies that are supposedly catered to the mass audience that people like us enjoy and there are plenty of so called classy masterpieces that have made huge money at the box office in all centers. Basically you put a good quality product everyone can enjoy it. I hope that becomes the mindset. Just because Kapil Sharma show or big boss gets huge rating doesn’t mean that’s the only thing that will make money or that’s the only thing people want to see on TV. The production values of cricket matches in India is top class including domestic games. Surpringly even the commentary is good. That’s where I found a new appreciation for someone like LSRK who used to annoy me in international broadcast. However his domestic commentary and analysis is top notch because there aren’t any commercial obligations. Mariyam 1
Sean Bradley Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 I don't watch much of Hindi Commentary but whatever I have heard of Akash Chopra can be quite witty at times, rest as you said are, orgasming most times, too much of gay **** going on
maniac Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 Guys like Siddhu, Sehwag and Nehra are good in small doses. Nehra has his moments when he is good and gives good insights. Making these guys full time broadcasters is like giving a kid who makes a entertaining tiktok video which get a million views to direct the next big budget movie.
Lord Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 why would Hindi commentary be unbiased? The target audience is India. Mariyam, RedFever and AuxiliA 1 2
maniac Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 7 minutes ago, Lord said: why would Hindi commentary be unbiased? The target audience is India. you can be biased without being cringe. You don’t have to use film dialogues and Kapil sharma jokes every other sentence while commentating. We have ICF, Twitter and other avenues to do that and so do the people watching. I want the commentator to give me something insightful and may be even if we are assuming that the common audience are not as big fanatics as us, you can still be insightful and make them understand the technicalities of the game and other analysis in a elementary way. sandeep 1
Lord Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 1 minute ago, maniac said: you can be biased without being cringe. You don’t have to use film dialogues and Kapil sharma jokes every other sentence while commentating. We have ICF, Twitter and other avenues to do that and so do the people watching. I want the commentator to give me something insightful and may be even if we are assuming that the common audience are not as big fanatics as us, you can still be insightful and make them understand the technicalities of the game and other analysis in a elementary way. that I agree with. But there's nothing wrong in cheering for your team there without being overtly disrespectful towards opposition.There's no obligation to be unbiased. I don't watch much Hindi commentary,but the Sony highlights of Gabba 5th day are with Hindi commentary and I loved it. There are good and bad Hindi commentators,all are not same. maniac 1
Lone Wolf Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 I stopped listening hindi commentary mostly when Sidhu was gone.. He was hilarious most of the times. He knew how to engage the audience. He had the energy & was amazing to listen in ODI & T20Is. Now I think Nehra is good in patches & I think Irfan Pathan is also good one & adds some insight into the game & has good knowledge of players. Rest of them are just rubbish... Manju Sehwag Kaif Aakash Chopra they are the worst. Murli Kartik & Deep Das make my ears bleed & I almost start choking when they come on. Mariyam 1
maniac Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said: I stopped listening hindi commentary mostly when Sidhu was gone.. He was hilarious most of the times. He knew how to engage the audience. He had the energy & was amazing to listen in ODI & T20Is. Now I think Nehra is good in patches & I think Irfan Pathan is also good one & adds some insight into the game & has good knowledge of players. Rest of them are just rubbish... Manju Sehwag Kaif Aakash Chopra they are the worst. Murli Kartik & Deep Das make my ears bleed & I almost start choking when they come on. Siddhu was hilarious the first time I heard him, funny the next 2 times, then the next 2-3 times I was bored but he did say something amusing so I gave him a pass, this was circa 2001-2003 when he started. Eventually it got boring then annoying and eventually I just wanted him to GTFO of broadcasting as I couldn’t stand him. I think even the broadcasters realized that too because I saw him more in pre and post studio shows than actual commentary. Ps: this has nothing to do with his political views or affiliation. Lone Wolf, SK_IH and Lord 3
Bigg Brother Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 Siddhu during that Australia series in 2013 (4-0) at Home was the best anyone I have listened. "Gaind Aise ghum rahi hain mano Rameez ki mashuka zhoom rahi hai" Aakash Chopra,Vivek Rajzdan are trash. Rajzdan is always in shayari mode,but he is no Siddhu. Ajay Jadeja,Agarkar,Nehra at times are enjoyable. Hindi commentary during the Olympics coverage was great. Lord and Lone Wolf 2
jalebi_bhai Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 Guys, does AIR still have Hindi cricket commentary? I picked a decent chunk of Hindi vocab listening to it when there were late night matches
cricketfan28 Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 They have a different set of target audience.. and IMO they do a pretty decent job.
Suhaan Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 Sushil Doshi is the devine voice of Hindi commentary,no one comes close No nonsense,even his jokes dont go below the belt,such choice of beautiful Hindi words Just tune into some Ranji matches ,how well does he connects with the viewers Aakash Chopra,Razdan are piss poor VVS is unbearable,Jadeja,all of them Lord and SK_IH 2
sandeep Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 2 hours ago, maniac said: DK is such a breath of fresh air. Either you have cheerleaders or someone like Manju who is the polar opposite almost like an Indian Michael Holding with his views. However I have my doubts once DK takes it up full time he is going to go the cheerleader route too. He already kinda is but is in a more reserved environment at Sky "I tell you what"; DK is pretty decent, but its easier to be decent slipping into the slipstream of Sky Cricket's excellent coverage - harder to do that without it. sage 1
sandeep Posted September 7, 2021 Posted September 7, 2021 2 hours ago, maniac said: you can be biased without being cringe. You don’t have to use film dialogues and Kapil sharma jokes every other sentence while commentating. We have ICF, Twitter and other avenues to do that and so do the people watching. I want the commentator to give me something insightful and may be even if we are assuming that the common audience are not as big fanatics as us, you can still be insightful and make them understand the technicalities of the game and other analysis in a elementary way. Sky cricket is the absolute best in the business - Aus could be second, but is too 'homer' to be quality. SA is somewhere out there on the next rung. Kiwis do try and pull of fa poor man's Sky, but that's what they end up with. maniac 1
Mariyam Posted September 8, 2021 Posted September 8, 2021 8 hours ago, Vancouver said: Agar aap hai Ollie Pope toh yeh hai India ki top. Other than Gavaskar and Agarkar, other commentators are not conducting themselves in a professional manner. No analysis of game, no attempt to sound unbiased. I think it’s Saba Karin who screams most lol, ohhhh hoooo ohhhhh mazaaaaaaa aaaaa gyaaaa Why India struggles to produce commentators and umpires? I think that analysis of the game is not a given anymore. Maybe @zenmeans that. Commentators have to be entertainers. That is why Siddhu was a great commentator. Funny anecdotes. Random cringe shayari. Great command over the language. Great at storytelling. It was fun to just listen to him. I don't know about the others, but I'd much rather listen to an anecdote about Siddhu's trip to a hypermarket and jumping lines to pay and equating that with Pandya's batting. Much more entertaining than Bhogle's droning on and on about a test match in Antigua in 1973 with an overcast sky and first time an Indian left hander scored a 50 scoring 55.88% of his runs in boundaries etc etc. #who cares Again, for analysis, people tend to watch the studio teams who have fancy graphs. Not just listen to live commentary.
prudent_kreeda Posted September 8, 2021 Posted September 8, 2021 12 hours ago, maniac said: DK is such a breath of fresh air. Either you have cheerleaders or someone like Manju who is the polar opposite almost like an Indian Michael Holding with his views. However I have my doubts once DK takes it up full time he is going to go the cheerleader route too. He already kinda is but is in a more reserved environment at Sky Even DK goes bit overboard when he talks about indian batsmen which is totally not digestible , looking at current show by our MO.
speedheat Posted September 8, 2021 Posted September 8, 2021 Nothing beats Kapil Deva's epic mushkil nahi difficult.