rkt.india Posted December 1, 2021 Posted December 1, 2021 59 minutes ago, cricketpitch said: Sorry Colorism becomes racism when you leave your country. We are racist because of the colorism which for some reason is accepted and is considered normal in India. It should not be. We come outside and experience racism and get angry or frustrated but we don't mind being racist towards other communities in the US and other western countries. In India, if you call someone kaalu, kaalia, blackie. It's not racism. It's abusive. Here thread is about LSRK being discriminated for being dark skinned and not about racism. His discrimination isn't racism.
R!TTER Posted December 1, 2021 Posted December 1, 2021 On 11/29/2021 at 11:15 PM, Jay said: It does limit job opportunities in movies though. That is being racist technically. Even if the other person is of the same race? Yeah not for me, you could argue it is degrading the other human by equating their (dark) color to something inferior but let's face it none of us have all family members (close or distant) who look fair! So basically I don't find it racist, yes prejudiced/classist/narcissist etc. But not specifically racist - there are other reasons for instance. It is a fact that among humans with similar facial structure & overall body, but say one being dark & the other being white, at least 5 (if not 7 or 8) out of 10 would find the fairer colored one to be more attractive. That's just an irrefutable fact. Coming to the Indian context, do you have say relatives who are darker in complexion & have fairer spouses? Why do you suppose that is? 1 hour ago, cricketpitch said: In India we are oblivious to that fact that we can be racist. In India what we ignore is that we generally prefer fair skin! Even the darker complexion ones look to find spouses with a fair skin, not always but a lot of time - so are the dark colored people also "racist" towards their own race? 1 hour ago, cricketpitch said: We are racist because of the colorism which for some reason is accepted and is considered normal in India. Their is no direct correlation between race in the US or the West to preferring fairer skin here! That's just a fact, anyone trying to conflate racism there with whatever happens in India is basically living in cuckoo land velu and Lord 1 1
Lord Posted December 1, 2021 Posted December 1, 2021 10 hours ago, cricketpitch said: Nope talking about an entire community and passing that off as some sort of generic comment is. In India we are oblivious to that fact that we can be racist. We come across as hypocrites when we call "Kalu", "Chinki", "Gora", "Makku" etc in the US but get agitated when someone passes racist comments on us. Being Indian somehow makes such name calling right. It is imbibed in all communities and nationalities in the world, only Indians come up with juvenile excuses and deny being one. Abusing isnt cool whether its those words or calling someone 'takla' 'mota' etc. Calling a gora 'gora' isnt racial. Treating him differently based on that is.
velu Posted December 1, 2021 Posted December 1, 2021 darky , skinny , fatty , baldy ,..... is not racism Lord 1
kosingh Posted December 2, 2021 Posted December 2, 2021 He may be dark, but i am surprised LSK's killer good looks and immensely charming personality didn't help him. He is the Will Smith of Indian cricket.
Jay Posted December 3, 2021 Posted December 3, 2021 colourism is inherently being racist towards someone who looks different to you. It shouldnt happen regardless. People associate white with the colour of light, hence they gravitate towards being lighter in skin tone. However, no amount of justification for discriminating through colourism should be condoned. Reason why we are still a 3rd world country anyway. Colourism should be abolished. colourism is just a vestige of colonialism. Funny thing is many indians when they come overseas cry about racism yet they effectively discriminate against their own people. Hell my parents are guilty of this. My mother who is punjabi always justifies someone's beauty through their skin tone. She does not hesitate to call any dark skinned indian a blackie etc. I try to correct her but you know how adamant and stubborn indian parents can be.
Pollack Posted December 3, 2021 Posted December 3, 2021 On 12/1/2021 at 8:57 PM, velu said: darky , skinny , fatty , baldy ,..... is not racism [sarcasm] Neither is Madrasi, mallu, bimaru, chinki, bhaiyya etc.. [/sarcasm]
rkt.india Posted December 3, 2021 Posted December 3, 2021 1 hour ago, Pollack said: [sarcasm] Neither is Madrasi, mallu, bimaru, chinki, bhaiyya etc.. [/sarcasm] Chinki is because it's a different race and people with different facial structure.
Mesky99 Posted December 3, 2021 Posted December 3, 2021 On 11/30/2021 at 10:50 PM, Jay said: Sri promotes adds for fair skin lol. Devgan is the son of a director iirc. Shetty was already rich before entering movies. Pretty much every other Shetty in Mumbai own hotels/restaurants/motels, big business in mumbai, Sunil Shetty also played a bit of cricket, had trials for Mumbai u19, played with Ravi shastri, chandrakant pandit etc in the 80s
Jay Posted December 3, 2021 Posted December 3, 2021 24 minutes ago, Mesky99 said: Pretty much every other Shetty in Mumbai own hotels/restaurants/motels, big business in mumbai, Sunil Shetty also played a bit of cricket, had trials for Mumbai u19, played with Ravi shastri, chandrakant pandit etc in the 80s Oh alright. Yea ur right. Most shettys I know are filthy rich.
Vk1 Posted December 12, 2021 Posted December 12, 2021 many years ago, when i was watching match analysis on tv.. my sister saw this guy and said he looks like prabhu devas sidekick from premikudu ( telugu version ).. we tend to do color discrimination rather unknowingly
Vilander Posted December 12, 2021 Posted December 12, 2021 On 11/28/2021 at 10:37 AM, Forward Defence said: If it doesn't bother him then why tweet about it. With all this wokeness around this might now get magnified to extraordinary proportions. What he said is probably true but I'm not sure tweeting about it helps anybody. If he was ever discriminated because of his skin color by rest of interestingly similar skin tone Indians its patheticand needs to be condemned no matter if he is woke or not. And he might have tweeted it because it impacts him and puts a brave face saying it does not impact him anymore, it overall very poor on any one trying to victim blame here. And when he says anymore it means it used to impact him before. So shame on Indians who discriminated against him due to his skin color. Even if it helps no one its good to expose these scum since its utterly satisfying.
Vilander Posted December 12, 2021 Posted December 12, 2021 1 hour ago, Vk1 said: tend to do color discrimination rather unapologetically Corrected
Vilander Posted December 12, 2021 Posted December 12, 2021 On 12/1/2021 at 10:27 AM, velu said: darky , skinny , fatty , baldy ,..... is not racism Its discrimination, exclusion. Any form of exclusion hurts people especially young and has no place in a civilised society.
Vilander Posted December 12, 2021 Posted December 12, 2021 On 11/30/2021 at 4:39 AM, Lone Wolf said: They hilariously cast North Indian actresses in their movies. Why should North Indian actress not be cast in Malayalam movies?
Forward Defence Posted December 12, 2021 Posted December 12, 2021 10 hours ago, Vilander said: If he was ever discriminated because of his skin color by rest of interestingly similar skin tone Indians its patheticand needs to be condemned no matter if he is woke or not. And he might have tweeted it because it impacts him and puts a brave face saying it does not impact him anymore, it overall very poor on any one trying to victim blame here. And when he says anymore it means it used to impact him before. So shame on Indians who discriminated against him due to his skin color. Even if it helps no one its good to expose these scum since its utterly satisfying. In that case he should have been more direct in his attribution and named the ones who indulged in such discrimination. I still feel that our society has been gradually getting better at dealing with these issues although we are far from getting rid of them completely. If someone of the stature of LS still continues to face colour discrimination all the perceived progress we have made is immediately undermined. In that case he should be forthright about it. What he has done instead is being suggestive and letting the reader interpret it as he/she chooses. I don't question his intent , he might have said it in an offhand manner, just the wisdom of such posts after achieving such a lofty status in his area of work is bewildering. I remember Abhinav Mukund facing some similar comments on a social media forum and he had immediately expressed disappointment when some posters chose to talk about his complexion. That was a far better response I think. Vijy 1
krakatoa Posted December 13, 2021 Posted December 13, 2021 Lo ji BC, Vinod Kambli ka chacha is feeling left out of woke olympics.
kubrickian Posted December 13, 2021 Posted December 13, 2021 Anyone who claims there is no color discrimination in India is either living in a bubble or a damn right liar. Just look at Indian mainstream movies and check how many of the lead actors have dark skin despite many of the people among the audience being dark skinned. There is a reason why fairness products make crores of money in India. Its because fair skin is considered beautiful and dark skin as ugly. Its associated to belonging to wealthy or educated class while if you are dark, it means you are lower class and have spent more time in the sun because of being under privileged. Dark skinned girls have a much lower chance getting married compared to fair skinned girls. I can bet you that fair skinned people also have a much better chance of getting jobs or climbing up the ladder. This goes on and on in every sphere of life. Of course, not everyone is completely biased but the fact is this happens mostly on a sub conscious level and the mentality clearly exists in society. Vilander, Austin 3:!6, nevada and 3 others 1 5
putrevus Posted December 13, 2021 Posted December 13, 2021 On 12/1/2021 at 12:09 AM, rkt.india said: In India, if you call someone kaalu, kaalia, blackie. It's not racism. It's abusive. Here thread is about LSRK being discriminated for being dark skinned and not about racism. His discrimination isn't racism. Colorism is part of racism.You are being discriminated by your tone of skin.
Vilander Posted December 13, 2021 Posted December 13, 2021 23 hours ago, Forward Defence said: In that case he should have been more direct in his attribution and named the ones who indulged in such discrimination. I still feel that our society has been gradually getting better at dealing with these issues although we are far from getting rid of them completely. If someone of the stature of LS still continues to face colour discrimination all the perceived progress we have made is immediately undermined. In that case he should be forthright about it. What he has done instead is being suggestive and letting the reader interpret it as he/she chooses. I don't question his intent , he might have said it in an offhand manner, just the wisdom of such posts after achieving such a lofty status in his area of work is bewildering. I remember Abhinav Mukund facing some similar comments on a social media forum and he had immediately expressed disappointment when some posters chose to talk about his complexion. That was a far better response I think. Sorry I don't support discrimination in any manner and imposing expectations and restrictions on anyone coming out with their experience is tacit support to discrimination. It does not matter if any perceived socital progress is undermined by it, since the said progress did not exist in the first place. There is lot of skin color based casual discrimination that happens in India, its pathetic and anything that exposes is good.