KL Rahul named vice-captain of Test team for South Africa series

vvvslaxman

43 minutes ago, Majestic said:

Chalo ab to Rahane ko drop karoge!

No Rohit means both Rahane and Pujara are safe. Plus Kohli will be desperate to win them (and Ashwin) over. Totally expecting him to be super diplomatic with them now.

KL, Mayank, Pujara, Kohli, Rahane, Pant, Ashwin, Shardul, Bumrah, Shami, Siraj.

If Mayank fails, Pujara as opener and Iyer at 5.

6 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Doubtful starter in June to vice captain in Dec in 6 months. Wah! Kya tarakkhi payee hain

Same thoughts. Applicable for Rohit as well. Both of them should have had a lot better numbers. Atleast Rahul made some runs overseas in between. Rohit went completely AWOL in overseas tours for the best part of his career. One half decent year (did not average 50 either) he is the VC. You would think someone like Ashwin who has been a big match winner/match saver in Tests for so long should have been handed over vice captaincy.

In 2021

Ashwin batting average 29.08 Bowling average 16.23

Rahane batting average 19.57 

KL Rahul 39.37

Rohit 47.68

31 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Same thoughts. Applicable for Rohit as well. Both of them should have had a lot better numbers. Atleast Rahul made some runs overseas in between. Rohit went completely AWOL in overseas tours for the best part of his career. One half decent year (did not average 50 either) he is the VC. You would think someone like Ashwin who has been a big match winner/match saver in Tests for so long should have been handed over vice captaincy.

In 2021

KL Rahul 39.37

Rohit 47.68

Rohit hardly played overseas regularly. In fact, Rohit hasn't played a lot of tests.

46 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

In 2021

KL Rahul 39.37

Rohit 47.68

And Ashwin was bowling one match winning spell after another? 

22 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

India has won 2 man of the series in 2021. Both won by Ashwin. Pray tell me how the heck these two guys achieved more than Ashwin in Tests.

Read what I highlighted in your post. You said Rohit went AWOL in overseas tests. Ashwin was bowling match winning spells in overseas tests?

As for Ashwin as VC, can't appoint someone who is not even a sure shot starter in the 11 in SENA. If Jadeja was fit, he would have again started ahead of Ashwin. However if we were playing in Asia, I'd have agreed to your point.

BTW Ashwin shouldn't be complaining about not getting recognised for his performances. He's himself come back to the LOI side without any performances in last 2-3 years (including in the IPL)

Edited by ShoonyaSifar

There is something about KL Rahul, the player, the style, the flourish, the technique, the person, the name itself.... it all points to one word -  Peerless.  KL vs Rabada/Nortje/Olivier... should be easy peasy for KL.

And then there is Mayank.... Already the nightmares have begun for Rabada, Olivier and co.

4 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

India has won 2 man of the series in 2021. Both won by Ashwin. Pray tell me how the heck these two guys achieved more than Ashwin in Tests.

Ashwin is an ATG level player.  

And he's being treated as a squaddie.  Now to be fair, he does have a track record of 'failure' in away conditions in the past.  But I believe he's risen above that, and done so very clearly, for more than a couple of years now.  But sometimes Captains lose faith in players.  It happens.  One of many errors in judgement made by our test kuptaan.

5 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Read what I highlighted in your post. You said Rohit went AWOL in overseas tests. Ashwin was bowling match winning spells in overseas tests?

As for Ashwin as VC, can't appoint someone who is not even a sure shot starter in the 11 in SENA. If Jadeja was fit, he would have again started ahead of Ashwin. However if we were playing in Asia, I'd have agreed to your point.

BTW Ashwin shouldn't be complaining about not getting recognised for his performances. He's himself come back to the LOI side without any performances in last 2-3 years (including in the IPL)

It was more of peace making deal more than anything else after backlash. Credit to him he grabbed the chance. Still don't htink he is not a long term options in LOI. He should be playing all the Tests home and away regardless of dips just like how other great spinner played. Just to cover up the the three clowns in the middle order they kept picking Jaddu ahead of Ashwin which is not his fault.  Ashwin himself is not a total dud with bat. He did save a Test in Australia didn't he?. He missed 50% of the overseas SENA matches. Not his fault. Missed an entire series in England. Most of his poor performances overseas came in early in his career. In the last 5 years his average is 29.97 in SENA.  Overseas doesn't mean not just SENA. It also includes other Asian countries, He has done well in other countries as well.  Basically Jaddu will go missing injured for a while. He will come back Ashwin will have to vacate his place. That is a bad treatment when guys like Kohli/Rahane/Pujara have been sucking balls for 2 or 3 years. 

38 minutes ago, cricketfan28 said:

KL rahul is a good choice compared to ashwin, pant is the best option.

With or without Ashwin KL Rahul is a terrible choice.  A clueless guy like DIlip Vengsarkar as India's captain.  Pant is another viable option if we are looking long term. Because he is going to be part of INdia's XI in almost every match. Bumrah untested. He seems to be a reserved guy.

Your next captain or vice captain should be sure shot starter from next gen players. Only Bumrah in this team is that kind of player. He deserved to be vice-captain because he has brain. 

1 minute ago, puneet28 said:

Your next captain or vice captain should be sure shot starter from next gen players. Only Bumrah in this team is that kind of player. He deserved to be vice-captain because he has brain. 

One reason teams are reluctant to give captaincy to fast bowler is because they are injury prone and they can go missing for 6 months out of nowhere. Cummins had several injuries at the start of his career.