Expect a stubborn team management to make no changes

I have a feeling that not only do we have a coach who is traditional and is too much system based, he is very stubborn and egoistic.

His team 11s in SA showed he will not change his ways and if someone criticizes him he takes it on his ego and just stubbornly follows what he wants, even if it costs the team.

The 1st T20 showed that a trundler attack wont work on true pitches. Bhuvi is done. Patel is not international class. Batters are just going to line them up because they know its either a full length or a slower ball. Anyone else will make changes and bring the likes of Umran and Arshdeep. Media reports say the team wont be changed.

On the slow barabati wicket, these guys may do well, but if we are talking about the WC, these trundlers will be taken to cleaners on the hard and true wickets in Australia.

May be we have chosen the wrong coach. And now its going to be nigh impossible to remove him.

May the GODs help team India.

Like Tests, T20s needs its specialists. T20 is the fastest format where an error can make a team lose momentum. You need coaches and captains tailored to this format. 

Noticed that the squad has Hooda & V Iyer, who can chip in an over, so there is no need to play even Axar unless the pitch is dry. One of Kishan or S Iyer can be benched too if both Hooda & V Iyer are played. Umran should be in. He may go for runs but can change a game too. 

Rituraj 

V Iyer

Kishan/S Iyer

Hooda 

SDP (Hardik) 

Pant

DK 

Harshal/Bhuvi (difficult to play both in the line up unless conditions allow) 

Avesh 

Umran

Yuzi/Bishnoi 

Our biggest issue in white ball cricket is that we don't want to pick pacers who can take wickets with the new ball.

The TMs over the last few years have generally preferred pacers who can control runs in the end overs.

The issue with modern day LOIs is that, if wickets don't fall, no one can control runs.

And the ball rarely swings after the first 2 overs in T20Is. So, filling the team with swing bowlers don't work in T20s either.

And too many slower ball dependant pacers will bring sameness in the attack and they may get hit in the end too  unless the pitch is gripping a lot.

Bhuvi has 59 wickets from 60 T20Is, which shows that he is not a wicket taker at any stage. He is an economical bowler overall and may bowl well at the death provided the other pacer is not a similar one. 

Harshal is an unknown entity in international cricket yet ... but he is almost completely dependant on slower balls. 

Harshal and Bhuvi playing together bring a lot of sameness in the attack, and we have sometimes played Deepak with them too.

Avesh has a lot of fitness issues and I doubt he will do well in international cricket till the time he sorts this aspect out.

Choosing Arshdeep in the squad ... another medium paced death over specislist with low wicket taking ability ... just shows the mindset of the selectors and the TM.

They just want economical bowlers and not wicket takers. 

Considering that next two T20 WCs are in Aus (2022) and WI+USA (2024), I am leaning towards these 4 specialist bowlers: 

Bumrah ... if bowling well at the death (if he can pick up early wkts a bonus) 

Moshin ... Left arm pace option ... Assuming that he improves further to realize his potential 

Umran ... Pace + X-factor 

A wkt taking spinner 

1 hour ago, express bowling said:

Our biggest issue in white ball cricket is that we don't want to pick pacers who can take wickets with the new ball.

The TMs over the last few years have generally preferred pacers who can control runs in the end overs.

The issue with modern day LOIs is that, if wickets don't fall, no one can control runs.

And the ball rarely swings after the first 2 overs in T20Is. So, filling the team with swing bowlers don't work in T20s either.

And too many slower ball dependant pacers will bring sameness in the attack and they may get hit in the end too  unless the pitch is gripping a lot.

Bhuvi has 59 wickets from 60 T20Is, which shows that he is not a wicket taker at any stage. He is an economical bowler overall and may bowl well at the death provided the other pacer is not a similar one. 

Harshal is an unknown entity in international cricket yet ... but he is almost completely dependant on slower balls. 

Harshal and Bhuvi playing together bring a lot of sameness in the attack, and we have sometimes played Deepak with them too.

Avesh has a lot of fitness issues and I doubt he will do well in international cricket till the time he sorts this aspect out.

Choosing Arshdeep in the squad ... another medium paced death over specislist with low wicket taking ability ... just shows the mindset of the selectors and the TM.

They just want economical bowlers and not wicket takers. 

I am biased when it comes to Bhuvi, and aware of it, so I'll leave that aside.

Agree that Chahar/Shardul/Arshdeep etc cannot be in the team if Bhuvi is in.  And having Harshal in there also adds to that 'sameness' problem.  

Avesh/Mohsin/Umran/Prasidh are all in that 'development' stage where we don't know whether they will become consistent reliable selections especially for T20 which is unforgiving for accuracy mistakes or not executing good plans against good hitters.  

Harshal - he's not a type of bowler that I normally 'like' or support, but the guy has put up a couple of good seasons.  And until the circuit figures out how to 'detect' his slower variations, he may be an effective weapon at least for the squad, and supposedly he can bat as well, at least at Axar levels or whatever.  

If we can find a decent left-armer to partner Boom, if Mohsin can step up and become a poor man's Boult - now that would be something.  

5 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

T20 cricket selection methodology has to be completely different.  Experience means zilch in this format. Infact it can be counter productive. Also batting order has to be highly flexible.  Form is important. You need variety of bowlers for different match ups. Because one bad match up can cost you a game.

That rules out Ind ever winning anything in T20s then.

Experience is valued over natural talent.

Focus on padding individual stats rather than team goals.

Outdated  conservative strategies esp when batting.

Love of trundlers. 

7 hours ago, zen said:

Like Tests, T20s needs its specialists. T20 is the fastest format where an error can make a team lose momentum. You need coaches and captains tailored to this format. 

Noticed that the squad has Hooda & V Iyer, who can chip in an over, so there is no need to play even Axar unless the pitch is dry. One of Kishan or S Iyer can be benched too if both Hooda & V Iyer are played. Umran should be in. He may go for runs but can change a game too. 

Rituraj 

V Iyer

Kishan/S Iyer

Hooda 

SDP (Hardik) 

Pant

DK 

Harshal/Bhuvi (difficult to play both in the line up unless conditions allow) 

Avesh 

Umran

Yuzi/Bishnoi 

Only 2 good batsmen. Pandya and maybe pant. Not impressed whatsoever. We can't win with such batting on pattas. 

10 minutes ago, Jay said:

Only 2 good batsmen. Pandya and maybe pant. Not impressed whatsoever. We can't win with such batting on pattas. 

Ind can be competitive with a line up like below: 

KL

Gill

Hooda or Sundar 

SKY 

SDP

Pant

DK

Moshin

Umran

Bumrah

Yuzi

:dontknow: 

9 hours ago, sandeep said:

Harshal - he's not a type of bowler that I normally 'like' or support, but the guy has put up a couple of good seasons.  And until the circuit figures out how to 'detect' his slower variations, he may be an effective weapon at least for the squad, and supposedly he can bat as well, at least at Axar levels or whatever.  

Yes,it's actually Harshal who fits in Bhuvis role

Both are run containing options but Harshal does pick wickets against the run of play

Sure we don't need both of them playing together

11 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

T20 cricket selection methodology has to be completely different.  Experience means zilch in this format. Infact it can be counter productive. Also batting order has to be highly flexible.  Form is important. You need variety of bowlers for different match ups. Because one bad match up can cost you a game.

Exactly,only thing that matters is current form

Even the fringiest" random" guy can pull it off

Why they look things in the longer run in this format?that is beyond explanation perhaps the think tank don't have in them to observe this very factor found in T20 cricket lately

SENAW sides have been far too innovative there, Australia too has realised this 

They will surely launch David this WC

Edited by Suhaan
9 hours ago, sandeep said:

I am biased when it comes to Bhuvi, and aware of it, so I'll leave that aside.

Agree that Chahar/Shardul/Arshdeep etc cannot be in the team if Bhuvi is in.  And having Harshal in there also adds to that 'sameness' problem.  

Avesh/Mohsin/Umran/Prasidh are all in that 'development' stage where we don't know whether they will become consistent reliable selections especially for T20 which is unforgiving for accuracy mistakes or not executing good plans against good hitters.  

If we can find a decent left-armer to partner Boom, if Mohsin can step up and become a poor man's Boult - now that would be something.  

Patel's performance have come in UAE and second half of this year's IPL. Can you find any similarities between the pitches?

Chutiya tm is plaaning to drop Avesh only and bring in Arshdeep. Bhuvi bhaiya and harshal will keep playing unless they screw us in first 3 odi. Dravid is more pathetic than Shastri atleast shastri had to deal with Kohli ego what about Dravid. Chutiya nehra ji even said no need to make any bowling changes till first 3 matches. Bhuvi bhaiya said youngster has to improve its not captain mistake if bowler cant bowl well, iss Mausi Waley ki vajah se harey hai aur sala sirf youngster ko blame kar raha hai.Pata nahi ye haramkhor kaisey fit ho jata hai india ki Marney k liey.