Singh bling Posted September 28 Share Posted September 28 https://www.vinmec.com/eng/article/how-much-has-the-height-of-vietnamese-people-improved-in-the-past-10-years-en How much has the height of Vietnamese people improved in the past 10 years? So compared to 10 years ago, the average height of young men has increased by 3.7cm, while girls in our country have increased by 2.6cm Looks like more meat in their diet doing wonder. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted September 28 Share Posted September 28 Ab yeh kya bawasir hain? All because of Modi/BJP … dial_100 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zen Posted September 28 Share Posted September 28 I am 183 cms tall and a vegetarian ravishingravi 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singh bling Posted September 28 Author Share Posted September 28 1 hour ago, zen said: I am 183 cms tall and a vegetarian In india tall short people existed since centuries irrespective of diet. What we are witnessing is much of east asia as a society getting taller. No such thing is happening in india or other south asian countries. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zen Posted September 28 Share Posted September 28 (edited) 27 minutes ago, Singh bling said: In india tall short people existed since centuries irrespective of diet. What we are witnessing is much of east asia as a society getting taller. No such thing is happening in india or other south asian countries. I don’t know why becoming tall as a society matters? Maybe something for those who are short to consider. But then some people will worry about their color too! Edited September 28 by zen Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted September 28 Share Posted September 28 3 hours ago, zen said: I don’t know why becoming tall as a society matters? Maybe something for those who are short to consider. But then some people will worry about their color too! Stunted growth iis because of baby malnutrition Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rkt.india Posted September 29 Share Posted September 29 (edited) Even Indians are getting taller. Average man height used to be 5'4, now it is 5'8 Edited September 29 by rkt.india ravishingravi 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ravishingravi Posted September 29 Share Posted September 29 3 hours ago, rkt.india said: Even Indians are getting taller. Average man height used to be 5'4, now it is 5'8 This is absolutely true and something very noticeable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singh bling Posted September 29 Author Share Posted September 29 6 hours ago, rkt.india said: Even Indians are getting taller. Average man height used to be 5'4, now it is 5'8 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8448320/#:~:text=The average height of Indian,%2C S6 and S8 Tables). Indians are getting shorter . No survey say that Indians are getting taller. Only what people verbally say this which is not true Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trichromatic Posted September 29 Share Posted September 29 20 hours ago, zen said: I don’t know why becoming tall as a society matters? Maybe something for those who are short to consider. But then some people will worry about their color too! You need someone to bring pickles down from top shelves in kitchen. zen and Lord 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
raki05 Posted Monday at 03:46 AM Share Posted Monday at 03:46 AM I just wonder if bjp has something to do with it…. As data posted by OP suggests it happened in last 10 years.You know wc loss, people getting shorter, people travelling without tickets, constipation is on exponential rise bla bla. Hope UPA comes so that we all become 6 ft tall again. Gollum, coffee_rules, Number and 3 others 6 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
singhvivek141 Posted Monday at 03:52 AM Share Posted Monday at 03:52 AM We need to start eating "pho". MechEng 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
randomGuy Posted Monday at 04:13 AM Share Posted Monday at 04:13 AM (edited) 12 hours ago, Singh bling said: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8448320/#:~:text=The average height of Indian,%2C S6 and S8 Tables). Indians are getting shorter . No survey say that Indians are getting taller. Only what people verbally say this which is not true 5'8 seems to be correct for the north atleast. Probably 5'8.5 or 5'9 even. Just look at 10-20-30 youngsters that you come across to get an idea. I think east india average will be lower by 1-2 inches and west, center by 1/2-1 inch bringing the national average to 5'7. South Indian and north indian probably same height but northies are stronger. Edited Monday at 04:24 AM by randomGuy Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted Monday at 06:12 AM Share Posted Monday at 06:12 AM On 9/28/2024 at 12:29 PM, zen said: I am 183 cms tall and a vegetarian your genetic predisposition is irrelevant. many populations worldwide has shown and continue to show marked improvement in height by maked increase in meat intake. This is a well studied topic in nutrition and the reason for this is simple - meat is the greatest source of ONLY protein and to meet & exceed protein criteria via meat does not require meeting/exceeding total calorie criteria in veggie die, leading to less optimal health. Not to mention, increasing meat intake IS the most surfire way of increasing protien intake in a given developing world population. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singh bling Posted Monday at 06:17 AM Author Share Posted Monday at 06:17 AM 1 hour ago, randomGuy said: 5'8 seems to be correct for the north atleast. Probably 5'8.5 or 5'9 even. Just look at 10-20-30 youngsters that you come across to get an idea. I think east india average will be lower by 1-2 inches and west, center by 1/2-1 inch bringing the national average to 5'7. South Indian and north indian probably same height but northies are stronger. On Quora and Reditt large number of people claim that Koreans, Chinese , Japanese are 6 feet or more these days. This is what they saw in that countries. Government data does not support that So only reliable survey or data tells the true picture which clearly say height is declining. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted Monday at 06:19 AM Share Posted Monday at 06:19 AM 14 hours ago, Singh bling said: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8448320/#:~:text=The average height of Indian,%2C S6 and S8 Tables). Indians are getting shorter . No survey say that Indians are getting taller. Only what people verbally say this which is not true If the data for 'across all religious groups' includes Paresees as well, then its actually an argument AGAINST nutrition being the driver for Indian people's height ( because nutrition isnt the only driver, though it is one of the major drivers, along with climate) because parsees consume meat and are NOT underfed even by western standards of meat consumption. Global warming may be a bigger cause of Indian height decrease, given that mammals become smaller in size as their ability to radiate excess heat deceases in hotter climates and mammals have shown inverse correlation to heat increase and body size over millions of years of evolution. India is by far one of the hottest places in the world in terms of real heat, that takes humidity index into factor, as in India, humans have far less ability to lose heat ( as sweat doesnt dry as easily) than in middle east ( such as in shade), where the higher actual temperature is counteracted with far less humidity, so human body can cool itself via sweating far easier, as the sweat actually evaporates. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
randomGuy Posted Monday at 06:19 AM Share Posted Monday at 06:19 AM ^^ Why are vegetarian north Indian people taller and stronger than non-vegetarian Bengalis and Bangladeshi? When non-vegetarian is taller, it is due to meat and when vegetarians are taller and stronger, it is due to "genetic predisposition"? Ye faltu ka logic hai... IMHO it is about good diet(veg or non-veg doesn't matter), climate, physical activity levels etc. zen, raki05, Number and 1 other 1 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted Monday at 06:20 AM Share Posted Monday at 06:20 AM 2 hours ago, raki05 said: I just wonder if bjp has something to do with it…. As data posted by OP suggests it happened in last 10 years.You know wc loss, people getting shorter, people travelling without tickets, constipation is on exponential rise bla bla. Hope UPA comes so that we all become 6 ft tall again. Cut to the chase. We all know solution to Indian height problem : Mudi must rejine. raki05, Gollum and coffee_rules 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zen Posted Monday at 06:20 AM Share Posted Monday at 06:20 AM 6 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: your genetic predisposition is irrelevant. many populations worldwide has shown and continue to show marked improvement in height by maked increase in meat intake. This is a well studied topic in nutrition and the reason for this is simple - meat is the greatest source of ONLY protein and to meet & exceed protein criteria via meat does not require meeting/exceeding total calorie criteria in veggie die, leading to less optimal health. Not to mention, increasing meat intake IS the most surfire way of increasing protien intake in a given developing world population. Bonobo Uni Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muloghonto Posted Monday at 06:30 AM Share Posted Monday at 06:30 AM 9 minutes ago, zen said: Bonobo Uni Oh no, you forgot your ability to form cogent arguments whenever you are presented with facts. Predictable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...