'Disappointing for both of us' - Rahul says rush for century led to Pant run-out

1 hour ago, Lord said:

Also dropped the catch. Would be match ka mujrim despite the ton

His reaching to ton was more sinful than the drop catch. Coz has they both survived their england would have been out of the match by end of day. Just like first test that run out lead to failing short of a decent lead.

2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Played outstandingly well. Played better than English abtsmen. Yet managed to become a villain lol Rahul's thing.

Individual records mean nothing, if it's just for selfish interests. Just like a bowler picking up a 5fer by dismissing tailenders after opposition has already scored 450-500.

Had KL, converted hundred into a daddy hundred or so....things would have been different. But he lost his concentration as soon as he reached 100...not the best way for your team when you already costed them a key batter just few runs earlier.

Did GG give dressing down to Kela?

Pre coach era he used to give so many long hour lectures how personal milestones are nothing in front of team milestone

It was a good innings but he left too much to for others to gather

Being so senior top order batsman ,it was his duty to get us atleast 80-100 runs lead

Even on this forum i have seen people asking how many 10fers one has or 300 or number of 200. I believe crucial runs and wkts at important juncture what matters. Lara 400 was absolute useless compared to sehwag 84 in 380 chase against england on 5th day , similarly Pant 80 in gaba is much better than any 100 he made so far.

1 hour ago, Suhaan said:

Did GG give dressing down to Kela?

Pre coach era he used to give so many long hour lectures how personal milestones are nothing in front of team milestone

It was a good innings but he left too much to for others to gather

Being so senior top order batsman ,it was his duty to get us atleast 80-100 runs lead

See above

first thing he said when he became coach was that personal milestones will have no place in his team

32 minutes ago, nevada said:

Both should be dropped for the next game as punishment for this transgression or at-least fined their entire match fee. 

What would have Pant done? He saw rahul charging, hesitated and then chose to sacrifice his wicket

11 hours ago, Lord said:

Nah runs were needed just not the obsession with ton 

Not talking about the other 99 runs. Just the cursed ton. 

Added in edit: 

Imagine if he had got out on 99. Everyone would be talking more about his bad luck than about the tremendous contribution his innings made. Whether 99 or 100, the impact is same, but the discussions are very different. 

The day we stop listing centuries and 50s on career records, things will change.

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
5 hours ago, Gollum said:

How do these people sleep at night? Putting their useless milestones above team needs, most of our cricketers have narcissistic personality disorder. This garbage is further fueled by our media, ex-players, fans. 

It's not the players. It's the whole system. Everyone talks about it constantly, often not even realizing it, because it is ingrained in us.

It's like Tendulkar is on 97 and you go get a biskoot from the kitchen and come back, your first question is - century ho gaya kya uska? We've all done it. And that is what the players are conditioned to chase from the day they pick up the bat. Even now, when I come back home from work, the people who were watching will first tell me "better watch the highlights, Jaiswal hit a century." 

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
20 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

It's like Tendulkar is on 97 and you go get a biskoot from the kitchen and come back, your first question is - century ho gaya kya uska? We've all done it.

Yes but the difference back then was SRT was our best bat & often the only bat, especially away from home! Also no one wanted SRT to get a ton despite India losing even in those days - this is just some BS conjured up by haters :hmpf:

11 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Yes but the difference back then was SRT was our best bat & often the only bat, especially away from home! Also no one wanted SRT to get a ton despite India losing even in those days - this is just some BS conjured up by haters :hmpf:

Still hoping Root breaks his records. 

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/eng-vs-ind-lord-s-test-india-left-wondering-what-might-have-been-after-lord-s-heartbreak-1495224

Gill said that fourth-wicket stand, which had accounted for 141 runs, could have been extended and helped India take a crucial lead. Instead, India finished level with England's 387 in the first innings.

"The most important moment for us was the Rishabh run out," Gill said. "It was an error of judgment rather than [Rahul] thinking I need to get my 100 now. He might have had a word [with Pant] about getting the century prior to lunch because when a batsman is on 99, he feels some pressure. But I don't agree the run out was caused due to the personal milestone. Rishabh called for the run and the danger end was for KL bhai, but it was an error of judgment, which can happen by any batsman.