BCCI’s options post Pakistan boycott

9 minutes ago, Prabhdeep Singh said:

If boycott does happen, India should boycott the final match against the Netherlands to see if this results in Pakistan elimination, obviously 1st we need to see how initial matches pan out in terms of rain, nrr and if there are any upsets in the opening matches.

Would be hilarious if we could bat a bit slow to help kick out Pak. Its expected to rain during opener, point split. 

8 hours ago, Prabhdeep Singh said:

If boycott does happen, India should boycott the final match against the Netherlands to see if this results in Pakistan elimination, obviously 1st we need to see how initial matches pan out in terms of rain, nrr and if there are any upsets in the opening matches.

A better response would to just ignore them and move on without acknowledging their presence. India are the hosts and no point in spoling your own tournament.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/icc-asks-pcb-the-reason-for-invoking-force-majeure-to-boycott-india-game-1522744

The facts. ICC has written to the PCB

1. Asking them the reasons for invoking Force Majeure; with firm evidence justifying it 

2.  What PCB has done to mitigate Force Majeure 

3. Advising them on implications of a boycott and the consequences thereof.

4.  These consequences include material damages ICC could claim from PCB.  And potentially expulsion/ termination of membership  for a period 

The PCB can tucks its tail between its legs and play, being the bragging upstart of an institution and nation they are.  

But if they boycott, which I hope they do, I think it’s pointing to a steep fine. 

Termination of membership is an extreme step, suspension unlikely too.  That’s a personal opinion.

it Pakistan does turn up to play I think it is absolutely imperative that BCCI issues a statement along those lines:

“There have been no concessions made to PCB; they have returned of their own accord”.

This is a war of perception as well as reality and we cannot allow in the public space even a hint that PCB in some way have gained anything from this tantrum. On the contrary they’ve only wasted everyone’s time, left Bangladesh in the lurch and are a non serious organisation. 

1 hour ago, NameGoesHere said:

This is a war of perception as well as reality and we cannot allow in the public space even a hint that PCB in some way have gained anything from this tantrum. On the contrary they’ve only wasted everyone’s time, left Bangladesh in the lurch and are a non serious organisation. 

The public in both countries have their entrenched views already and are beyond any PR the cricketing boards can do now. PCB are not negotiating with the BCCI anyway so it doesn't make sense for BCCI to issue statements about conversations where no conversations are even happening.

BCCI officially should stay out of it as PR management is not something they have any competence at. Just refraining from issuing statements is the right option  for them.There are enough social media armies in India who will take care of pushing the victory narrative to those who take that sort of stuff seriously.

Personally I don't care. Nothing would have changed. Pak threw a tantrum but yielded to their lack of stature. As far as India are concerned it is business as usual. They will show up for the scheduled match as will Pakistan ( as looks likely).

Edited by lemsip
2 hours ago, NameGoesHere said:

it Pakistan does turn up to play I think it is absolutely imperative that BCCI issues a statement along those lines:

“There have been no concessions made to PCB; they have returned of their own accord”.

Naah. BCCI is not a party to this.

Between ICC-PCB.

ICC is in this situation due to BCCI's greed.

For years, BCCI has been fooling people with inconsistent stance. They won't play bilateral with Pakistan, but will play 3 matches with them in Asia cup. There is no difference in 2012 3 matches bilateral tournament and 3 matches in Asia cup. It's same purpose with different packaging meant to deceive population by saying that board is taking some sort of principled stance and playing in multi-national tournament is some sort of compulsion. While ICC tournaments were understandable, the way Asia cup was organized, it was complete farce.

On top of that they did drama of not shaking hand which was nothing but way to fool populace. PCB experimented by stealing trophy and realized that BCCI can't do anything as long as they have money on the line.

What is happening in WT20 is just extension of that where PCB extended their experiment and is now blackmailing ICC. They are invoking force majeure citing govt approval which BCCI has been using for long time.

ICC is going to be humiliated further by politicians at PCB if BCCI continues to be greedy in dealing with Pakistan.

50 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

@Gollum why is BCCI even talking to them about this??  Typical dhando behaviour 

Where did you get the info bcci is talking to them.

6 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

BCCI must force PCB to get back with a response whether they are playing against India or not before their match against USA tomorrow. Else they should not be allowed to play tomorrow. Enough with this dramebaazi.

Exactly, a deadline must be asked wrt to Financial losses for purpose of ticket sales and broadcasting and other Administrative purposes. I think that deadline is 12th Feb. Immediately after Bangladesh Elections are done.

BTW ICC has shown willingness to address BCB concern but rejected all PCB specific concerns

9 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

ICC is in this situation due to BCCI's greed.

For years, BCCI has been fooling people with inconsistent stance. They won't play bilateral with Pakistan, but will play 3 matches with them in Asia cup. There is no difference in 2012 3 matches bilateral tournament and 3 matches in Asia cup. It's same purpose with different packaging meant to deceive population by saying that board is taking some sort of principled stance and playing in multi-national tournament is some sort of compulsion. While ICC tournaments were understandable, the way Asia cup was organized, it was complete farce.

On top of that they did drama of not shaking hand which was nothing but way to fool populace. PCB experimented by stealing trophy and realized that BCCI can't do anything as long as they have money on the line.

What is happening in WT20 is just extension of that where PCB extended their experiment and is now blackmailing ICC. They are invoking force majeure citing govt approval which BCCI has been using for long time.

ICC is going to be humiliated further by politicians at PCB if BCCI continues to be greedy in dealing with Pakistan.

India was the host for Asia cup, do you want host to boycott its own tournament.They did not ask other team not to qualify for finals in Asia cup, if they did they would have played them instead of Pakistan.

Do you think not shaking hands instructions were given by Govt of India to players???

Everyone knows what is PCB trying to do now.The bastards have no affinity to BCB they are trying to weasle some extra money out of this.This match is the only identity PCB has in world of cricket and I don't think it will be there any longer after this tournament.

Why would you want to boycott Pakistan in tournaments and hurt your own team.I don't see how BCCI's greed has come into picture.

Edited by putrevus
6 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

@Gollum why is BCCI even talking to them about this??  Typical dhando behaviour 

Why is ICC indulging PCB now? Why give them any bhaav? Jay Shah ka kya plan hai? *ing dhandos. 

It is in our interest if they go through with their boycott. 

44 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Why is ICC indulging PCB now? Why give them any bhaav? Jay Shah ka kya plan hai? *ing dhandos. 

It is in our interest if they go through with their boycott. 

Read this too

https://sports.ndtv.com/t20-world-cup-2026/pakistan-bangladeshs-new-2031-world-cup-demand-as-negotiations-on-with-icc-for-india-boycott-u-turn-10974874?pfrom=home-ndtv_topscroll

Bangladesh and Pakistan want hybrid arrangement extended till 2031 and Bangladesh and Pakistan matches to be out of India for every cup where we are the hosts.

I knew this would happen when we caved to Pakistan and agreed to play our home matches in Sri lanka. Precedent has been set. Sri lanka can ask same if they want.

Soon we will play 80% of our home cups, including knockouts out of India. All because our board was too greedy.

Edited by New guy