Frustrated Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) Our team in WC2023 Final and last night got outclassed by the opponent. Accept it and move on. Let's not develop absurd coping mechanisms, like the 'childish' Pak fans do. Edited February 23 by Frustrated Tillu, Need4Speed and Ravi_Shastri 1 2
Ultimate_Game Posted February 23 Author Posted February 23 10 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Sometimes our disliking for certain personalities takes us over, happens to me as well bhai. Let us say if we name everything in the name of freedom fighters(Bhagat Singh, bose) or our gods (ram, Krishna, shiva), then 50 yrs from now, there would still be Rajiv Gandhi airports, Indira Gandhi airports, nehru, Indira vihars/nagars/udyans in every city but nothing in the name of say Modi,yogi,atal etc. It is about ideology and party promotion unfortunately. I am in favour of naming things after bjp leaders during their present tenures as well. The only risk is many people like you who will take it otherwise. I was the first to oppose during odi world cup, both India pak, and the final being given to this stadium. I don't really care what the stadium is named. But move key matches out of this stadium. Move them to Kolkatta, Chennai or any other venues but this one. This venue has only led to heart-break.
kepler37b Posted February 23 Posted February 23 The state of seth ji's should not have ANY stadium. . Dismantle the stadium and build a bat making factory and hand it over to a Gujju seth ji. It will be the best in the world.
Lord Posted February 23 Posted February 23 4 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: The problem more seems to be the pitch, our batters simply don’t seem to have the game for a slow pitch. we could have scheduled a team that isn’t top of their group in Ahmedabad. Slow pitch in Ahmedabad? Not possible without tampering I'm told
randomGuy Posted February 23 Posted February 23 33 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: I don't really care what the stadium is named. But move key matches out of this stadium. Move them to Kolkatta, Chennai or any other venues but this one. This venue has only led to heart-break. Should try renaming it to Amit Shah stadium, may then we start winning here. Ultimate_Game 1
Suhaan Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) 1 hour ago, Ultimate_Game said: I don't really care what the stadium is named. But move key matches out of this stadium. Move them to Kolkatta, Chennai or any other venues but this one. This venue has only led to heart-break. This is a wrong take,and screams mediocrity,minnow mentality of the fans We surrendered meekly even in the past,thing is we don't have mental strength in situations where things don't go our way ,we serve matches in platter to opposition,even the hyper ventilating TM is high on adrenaline and acts accordingly rather than calming the chaos in the middle by going back to other plans(if only they had),they choose to play typical dihati cricket of throwing bat to every thing when it seemed out of reach You will never see a SENA side throwing games like this for they are too professional to ignore the consequences,in a tourney you play for multiple things not just points,as a result NRR has taken a hit This can happen anywhere ,you need to have a remedy for certain surfaces and find ways to win there,India with so many surfaces and soil variants should have mastered it but we always go for convenient ways Had we lost a game in 1st round itself ,we wouldn't have played here, would we ? Its upto to the team to take on the challenge in front of them Edited February 23 by Suhaan Laaloo and raki05 2
Ultimate_Game Posted February 23 Author Posted February 23 1 hour ago, Suhaan said: This is a wrong take,and screams mediocrity,minnow mentality of the fans We surrendered meekly even in the past,thing is we don't have mental strength in situations where things don't go our way ,we serve matches in platter to opposition,even the hyper ventilating TM is high on adrenaline and acts accordingly rather than calming the chaos in the middle by going back to other plans(if only they had),they choose to play typical dihati cricket of throwing bat to every thing when it seemed out of reach You will never see a SENA side throwing games like this for they are too professional to ignore the consequences,in a tourney you play for multiple things not just points,as a result NRR has taken a hit This can happen anywhere ,you need to have a remedy for certain surfaces and find ways to win there,India with so many surfaces and soil variants should have mastered it but we always go for convenient ways Had we lost a game in 1st round itself ,we wouldn't have played here, would we ? Its upto to the team to take on the challenge in front of them It's not minnow mentality to give yourself the best chance to succeed. I call it planning and strategy. We have to admit and be honest that this venue is our least preferred one. So why have multiple high-profile games there? Have group matches there but play knockouts and key matches at venues which gives the team best chance to win. We've so many great venues so why not make the most of them. It's not as if we're asking for doctoring a pitch. f we're 28-2 in ICC tourneys over the last few years and both losses occurred at the same venue, it stands to reason to prefer other venues over the one where you lose often.
Mariyam Posted February 23 Posted February 23 10 hours ago, Suhaan said: Tum hi ho aur kon Hi Arijit Vickydev, Tillu, Laaloo and 2 others 5
Suhaan Posted February 23 Posted February 23 3 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: It's not minnow mentality to give yourself the best chance to succeed. I call it planning and strategy. We have to admit and be honest that this venue is our least preferred one. So why have multiple high-profile games there? Have group matches there but play knockouts and key matches at venues which gives the team best chance to win. We've so many great venues so why not make the most of them. It's not as if we're asking for doctoring a pitch. f we're 28-2 in ICC tourneys over the last few years and both losses occurred at the same venue, it stands to reason to prefer other venues over the one where you lose often. no that is excuse more than anything,you cannot win a tourney without covering all your bases Generally,from 1996 onwards the best all round side has won WC not lucky ones,going by that trend you need to weaponise yourself and use your arsenal accordingly SA,Aus,NZ,Eng are more alien to it still they make efforts in marking out (our)players Sooner or later you will come or across surfaces which you won't like/suit your style of play,rather than complaining prepare yourself for those adverse conditions We are playing at home and we are expected to know conditions at the back of our hands and should have made amends in our strategy to win it even here It's like surrendering at the sight of adversary,no you cannot win housing such mentality Manucrick, raki05 and Laaloo 3
Manucrick Posted February 23 Posted February 23 I don't like this stadium I’ve never seen a dead Indian crowd like this. But in yesterday's match, we can't blame the stadium. We made lots of blunders team selection, bowling plans, and fielding strategy all went wrong. We should blame Gautam Gambhir raki05, Tillu and Suhaan 1 2
zen Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) It is 2026 - time we move away from “panauti”, “tosses lost”, etc., mindset. Edited February 23 by zen
Nikhil_cric Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) This stadium does have red soil and certain blended pitches with a decent mix but they choose to play on a particular pitch which has more black soil. In night matches in this tournament , Ahmedabad surface has seen the least spin among all venues. Just play on the red soil pitch here, if you are hell bent on having so many important matches here. Edited February 23 by Nikhil_cric
Nikhil_cric Posted February 23 Posted February 23 5 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said: This stadium does have red soil and certain blended pitches with a decent mix but they choose to play on a particular pitch which has more black soil. In night matches in this tournament , Ahmedabad surface has seen the least spin among all venues. Just play on the red soil pitch here, if you are hell bent on having so many important matches here. Just to add to this. This was pitch 5 in Ahmedabad, the same pitch that was used for November 19th final. Also the same strip was used against Pakistan in that World Cup. Of all the pitches in this stadium they are going with the one that has produced pretty lopsided contests and persisting with it in ICC tournaments.
goose Posted February 23 Posted February 23 if we consult random priests to decide what day to get married, a cursed stadium doesn’t sound too far fetched! Forever Indian and Mariyam 2
Sandz Posted February 23 Posted February 23 A good team should be able to win every where regardless of the conditions, otherwise it’s just an excuse. But it’s only one loss in 13? outings in this format, so let’s not burn anything down yet. However, regarding the stadium it looks like it’s been shoved down out throats, it does not have the culture of Wankhede, Eden gardens or Chinnaswamy but is undeniably given important matches due to non-cricketing reasons, forcing it to be something which it is not. Mariyam 1
Bigg Brother Posted February 23 Posted February 23 Not against stadium as it is from my city but it is absolutely true that the stadium has produced some of the very low quality matches for us. The first day night test against was horrible pitch although we won it, then complete flat deck against Australia in 4th test, then WC final and now this Super 8 match. One thing I'm against is frequent scheduling of matches here. So many beautiful stadium here in India. raki05 1
IndianRenegade Posted February 23 Posted February 23 We should burn down these stupid tv channels before the stadium.
Mariyam Posted February 23 Posted February 23 1 hour ago, Bigg Brother said: Not against stadium as it is from my city but it is absolutely true that the stadium has produced some of the very low quality matches for us. The first day night test against was horrible pitch although we won it, then complete flat deck against Australia in 4th test, then WC final and now this Super 8 match. One thing I'm against is frequent scheduling of matches here. So many beautiful stadium here in India. This wasn't a low-quality match. The lack of quality was from our side. We were out played. And given our current rich vein of form, an off day is acceptable. Look, we've had only minnows ( Pak is also a minnow) in our group. Games where we didn't have to be at out best to win. Makes us sluggish. Took time to shift gears against RSA and it showed. Devoid that sense of complacency, we will do well here on. Too much wrist slitting on this thread for my liking. raki05 1
Mariyam Posted February 23 Posted February 23 1 hour ago, Sandz said: A good team should be able to win every where regardless of the conditions, otherwise it’s just an excuse. But it’s only one loss in 13? outings in this format, so let’s not burn anything down yet. However, regarding the stadium it looks like it’s been shoved down out throats, it does not have the culture of Wankhede, Eden gardens or Chinnaswamy but is undeniably given important matches due to non-cricketing reasons, forcing it to be something which it is not. The culture argument isn't good. How do you inculcate a culture if you don't play many matches at that stadium? rollingstoned 1
LordPrabhzy Posted February 23 Posted February 23 35 minutes ago, Mariyam said: The culture argument isn't good. How do you inculcate a culture if you don't play many matches at that stadium? The loopsided amount of international finals and IPL finals being awarded to this to placate the political overloords is very obvious now