How fortunate we are then that this era of cricket has a prodigy of its own. We who grew up not knowing what it felt like to watch Sachin Tendulkar the boy take on men twice his age, facing a ball has the ability to kill. All we have is some grainy footage from the late '80s. That interview with Tom Alter is gold dust. For Bradman, we have literature. Viv might not even make this category.

We, the spoilt lot, are getting to watch Vaibhav Sooryavanshi in the streaming age, with riveting episodes dropping two-three times a week. We won't need to tell stories of him to the next generation, we could just show them the faces of Pat Cummins or Mitchell Starc after having tried everything against this boy less than half their age without success. There is no breather, no sighter, just six-hitting of the highest quality that has given him, at 15, arguably the greatest season anyone has ever had in the IPL: 680 (most runs), 242.85 (highest strike rate), 65 (most sixes in any season).

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/how-lucky-are-we-to-live-in-the-age-of-sooryavanshi-1538560

If you look beyond a few fanboys who delulu about how their fav cricketer was as talented and quicker than this never seen b4 prodigy in their younger years I think the vast majority are awestruck by his insane hitting. This is nothing short of an ambitious fairytale!

Very.

I was born in 1944 and just missed out on Don Bradman. Recently heard Tom Moody say he is on par with the great Don, I feel blessed to have made it this far.

As i struggle to put my teeth back in while writing this, I only wish to see Vaibhav play in a World Cup for India.:isalute:

16 minutes ago, maniac said:

@Gollum apart from RR, only one other man bid for Survanashi 

pehchaan kaun

Hint- The man, the myth, the legend and greatest team sports owner in all of sports :)

Haan pata hai, they backed out and will regret that call forever. 

25 minutes ago, maniac said:

pehchaan kaun

Hint- The man, the myth, the legend and greatest team sports owner in all of sports :)

He backed out at 1cr. RR said they had set aside 10cr for him

28 minutes ago, maniac said:

pehchaan kaun

That guy bids for everyone though, only to raise  prices :giggle:

3 minutes ago, bowl_out said:

He backed out at 1cr. RR said they had set aside 10cr for him

He only did it to raise prices. 

I hope they gave other 9 crore to him now/

7 hours ago, Gollum said:

Haan pata hai, they backed out and will regret that call forever. 

Instead they bought KL and Pathum : giggle:

Only way you can mess this talent up by surrounding him with mediocre players like we did with sachin in the 90s. He will end up underachieving. Hope they  create a 2000 style stable unit which allowed Sehwag to express himself especially in Tests.  ANother thing is  fitness. With the kind of power he is able to impart to his whippy shots he could sustain injuries. So NCA has their task cut out. THey need to keep an eye on his physical fitness. I would be disgusted if they let this talent lose to some freak injury.

11 hours ago, JaFanatic said:

If you look beyond a few fanboys who delulu about how their fav cricketer was as talented and quicker than this never seen b4 prodigy in their younger years I think the vast majority are awestruck by his insane hitting. This is nothing short of an ambitious fairytale!

The thing is that Sooryavanshi's story transcends cricket. The guy is so dominant at such a young age that he's exception across all sports and not just cricket. You'll struggle to think of too many stories like him. Probably Pele who won the WC as a teenager, or one of the teenage tennis sensations like Martina Hingis (though she didn't justify her genius), or Lamine Yamal the Spanish football star who's incredible as a teenager and all set to take the mantle from Messi & Ronaldo for the best player.

Sooryavanshi is in such elite company. In fact he's ahead of most of the names I mentioned (bar Pele) as he has dominated world's best as a 15 (or 16) year old! That's unheard of in professional sports! IMO get him into the team now when he's in form and high on confidence. Play him against Afg rather than making him wait or playing A games. Imagine if he debuts against Afg while riding high on confidence. That'll kick start his intl career. If you make him wait he may not have the type of form and confidence he has right now. Why risk it and time to hand him a debut.

As the saying goes "loha garam hai, maar do hathoda" (strike while the iron is hot). Don't waste such a golden opportunity not to blood him in intl cricket. We'll not get a better chance - he's top of the world and next opponents are Afg. Get someone "injured" tactically and replace them with Sooryavanshi :pray:

6 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Averages 33.5 against high seam movement and not dismissed by high swing either, apart from the strike rate.  Kid is legit.  

My counter to the argument... how many batters will score on green tops? This argument is futile as all of the white-ball cricket is played on flattish wkts across the globe. And if the pitch has something in it then every modern batter will struggle and not just Sooryavanshi. Enough with such doomsayers and get him in intls already. Nobody is playing T20s and ODIs on greentops.

4 hours ago, Lord said:

Instead they bought KL and Pathum : giggle:

Nissanka at 4 Cr was a decent pick. He may not have had the best of seasons but usko kharidne ka logic sahi tha. 

1 hour ago, Ultimate_Game said:

My counter to the argument... how many batters will score on green tops? This argument is futile as all of the white-ball cricket is played on flattish wkts across the globe. And if the pitch has something in it then every modern batter will struggle and not just Sooryavanshi. Enough with such doomsayers and get him in intls already. Nobody is playing T20s and ODIs on greentops.

Huh? I'm actually making the argument that he can play on seaming wickets. 

2 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Averages 33.5 against high seam movement and not dismissed by high swing either, apart from the strike rate.  Kid is legit.  

IPL pitches should not be a benchmark for the averages and s/r... nevertheless it doesn't take away anything from Suryavanshis talent and I want him to win us a 3 test series against Saffers 

9 minutes ago, diga said:

IPL pitches should not be a benchmark for the averages and s/r... nevertheless it doesn't take away anything from Suryavanshis talent and I want him to win us a 3 test series against Saffers 

This is specifically for high swing and high seam values that you find at Test level in Southern Hemisphere 

Obviously we can't say with 100 % certainty but the signs are good. 

With 2 reinforced kookaburras, ODI cricket has seen this for the first 8 overs and the reverse at the back end as well(only 1 ball used after 34 overs)