VVS Laxman disgracefully references Phillip Hughes in scathing attack on Australia: Ben Horne

Gollum

VVS Laxman disgracefully references Phillip Hughes in scathing attack on Australia

VVS Laxman has launched a disgraceful attack on Australian captain Steve Smith in which he makes an uncalled for reference to the late Phillip Hughes.

The Indian great was scathing in his assertion that Smith and Glenn Maxwell had mocked Kohli’s shoulder injury on a heated day three in Ranchi.

While Maxwell did grasp his shoulder in a cheeky allusion to Kohli’s injury, Smith never did.

Social media was adamant Smith had celebrated Kohli’s wicket by grabbing his shoulder, however, that was a trick of the cameras and footage proved that the arm in fact belonged to a teammate who was coming in to hug him.

STUMPS: Cummins smokes Kohli in epic return

Laxman failed to check his facts when launching an ill-informed attack on Smith’s leadership, unfortunately bringing up the Hughes family name into a non-issue.

“Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith, what example is he setting to his team? That’s very disappointing. You can sledge ... it’s fine, but not mocking someone who is injured, in pain,” Laxman said at tea on Saturday on the Star Sports coverage.

“I’ve never experienced that because when you are injured, you always care for the opposition player as well.

“Especially after what happened to Phil Hughes, everyone is concerned when someone gets injured.

“Whether he gets hit on the helmet or is injured, there is a concern.

“You play the game a hard way but the spirit of the game should be there. This is defying the spirit of the game.”

Indian opener Murali Vijay suggested Australia would cop some backlash on day four for Maxwell’s mocking of their skipper.

“All of the players are aware of it. And whatever they are doing, we take it as a sporting thing,” he said.

“There’s going to be a second innings. So hopefully they can take it (when it comes back). It’ll be great.”

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/cricket/vvs-laxman-disgracefully-references-phillip-hughes-in-scathing-attack-on-australia/news-story/9d99ca305fd689c248cb4b45e208e3ec

WTF is wrong with this Ben Horne guy, kitna fekta hai yaar? Is Aussie media this bad generally? Go through the comments too, what a shocking bunch of people out there !!!

Lost all respect for them, hope we smash them tomorrow. 

The way the Aussie media is lying, makes me feel sorry for our 2007-08 team that went through hell there. WTF is our media doing? UP elections bhee khatam, Yogiji ban gaye CM, train your guns on Aussies you dimwits !!!! Time to show how nasty we can get when pushed to the wall. India TV, Aaj Tak, Times Now, NewxX.....take aim and fire.......

this is a sick Australian media

Australians have always been known cheaters, only second to Pakistani...but having a demented media supporting them just makes them across bitter. 

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

The way the Aussie media is lying, makes me feel sorry for our 2007-08 team that went through hell there. WTF is our media doing? UP elections bhee khatam, Yogiji ban gaye CM, train your guns on Aussies you dimwits !!!! Time to show how nasty we can get when pushed to the wall. India TV, Aaj Tak, Times Now, NewxX.....take aim and fire.......

You seriously expect Indian MSM and its presstitutes to do something? 

Best way to deal with this is to simply crush them. Oz standards have already plummeted to the point where they consider losing 3-1 in Asia as an achievement :giggle:

13 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Yogi bear is such a topic that this ain't gonna be taken up by our media.

Cricket can't compete with Yogi Adityanath becoming CM.

It just can't.

There is some truth to the stupid channel blowing up something that did not happen .They spent the whole break discussing the smith supposed act of taunting Kohli...which did not even happen.Morons are so interested in adding spices that they do not even wait to check the truth.

19 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Yeah, completely agree. We should send 'Yogiji' to counter this. Conditional ki unki apni moot na nikal aaye goron ko dekh kar.

6 minutes ago, sensible-indian said:

Yogi bear is such a topic that this ain't gonna be taken up by our media.

Cricket can't compete with Yogi Adityanath becoming CM.

It just can't.

One can always wish :phehe:

Perfect time for India to keep riling these Aus players, and and media up. Soon their own Aussie fans will get mad at their media and start cursing them for not being harsh on their players like on mitchell Marsh and Warner for failing regularly and instead talking crap about other stuff. I already see their fans mad at their players and media. 

Hence, I say lets keep sledging them since Aussies deserve it and they are getting "rattled"(jeez I used that term) instead of mellowing down.

I don't know why we have some people, including members here who think Virat is being childish when he is attacking and sledging them. They should realize that this is Australia and he is not being childish, he is giving back to people who do this same shyt to teams from all over the world when they are on top.

I say keep giving them this treatment.

48 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Perfect time for India to keep riling these Aus players, and and media up. Soon their own Aussie fans will get mad at their media and start cursing them for not being harsh on their players like on mitchell Marsh and Warner for failing regularly and instead talking crap about other stuff. I already see their fans mad at their players and media. 

Hence, I say lets keep sledging them since Aussies deserve it and they are getting "rattled"(jeez I used that term) instead of mellowing down.

I don't know why we have some people, including members here who think Virat is being childish when he is attacking and sledging them. They should realize that this is Australia and he is not being childish, he is giving back to people who do this same shyt to teams from all over the world when they are on top.

I say keep giving them this treatment.

Its no accident that Virat is being targeted by the Aussie media - they always target a key player during a series - Ganguly, Harbhajan, in the past, Virat today.   

These Aussies have no shame and are hypocritical - When Shane Watson mocks Shikhar Dhawan for cramping up after scoring big in an ODI, no harm done, all part of the game.  When Dhawan returns the favor next game, he's a bad guy for violating the spirit of the game.  When Maxwell mocks Virat after diving at the boundary - he's only being "Cheeky" - when Virat gives it back, he's a snake worthy of being the most hated cricketer by Australians.  

1 minute ago, sandeep said:

Its no accident that Virat is being targeted by the Aussie media - they always target a key player during a series - Ganguly, Harbhajan, in the past, Virat today.   

These Aussies have no shame and are hypocritical - When Shane Watson mocks Shikhar Dhawan for cramping up after scoring big in an ODI, no harm done, all part of the game.  When Dhawan returns the favor next game, he's a bad guy for violating the spirit of the game.  When Maxwell mocks Virat after diving at the boundary - he's only being "Cheeky" - when Virat gives it back, he's a snake worthy of being the most hated cricketer by Australians.  

I think all media are same. When you say "they don't have shame" I think every media is like this. Even our media sucks that way and so does British Media.

I thinm Media folks are same shyt all over the world who will make a mountain out of little thing done by an opposition great. But since Aus is the topic, yes, some of their Journos have spoken lot of shyt ever since Monkeygate. I remember Shastri saying that he saw a shyt headline in a newspaper in Australia and threw the newspaper in the bin during CWB series in 2007.

Hence, I say, let the game continue. I know Indians are great are bargaining but here we should "pay" them as much :) 

LOL! Looks like this Ben Horne got his @$$ whooped by some Indian guy in the past. Its probably still sore. This guy reminds me of how our very own Aaj Tak / Zee News and all sensationalize little things. Horny Ben, dude, get a life!