Switchblade Posted June 25, 2018 Posted June 25, 2018 (edited) https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/india-in-england/current-pace-attack-is-most-complete-india-has-ever-had-sachin-tendulkar/articleshow/64734149.cms "This is the most complete fast-bowling attack that India have had in many many years. In my assessment, this attack would go as one of the best," Tendulkar said during an exclusive interaction. "We have the luxury where we have a swing bowler (Bhuvneshwar Kumar), a tall bowler (Ishant Sharma), a skiddy bowler (Jasprit Bumrah) and a genuine quick bowler (Umesh Yadav). It is a nice combination to have with so much variation on offer," Tendulkar said. So does he rate this attack as more potent than some of those during his playing days, Tendulkar replied: "Yeah, I am taking that into account that (attacks of yesteryears) as well because of a reason. We have got Bhuvi, who can bat and also Hardik with good batting ability."However, Tendulkar didn't want to comment on what kind of combination India should play."I think the team management would have to assess which opposition batsman is comfortable against what kind of bowling. There will be a few, who would play the swing bowling well and some will have the technique of dealing with deliveries that move off the pitch. You have to pick the team accordingly," he said. "The current India team is constantly looking at seamers, who can contribute with the bat big time. I think these two guys (Bhuvneshwar and Hardik) have contributed crucial runs every now and then."Hardik has just got into the side but I think Bhuvi contributing brilliantly and that contribution changes the balance of the team in a positive manner," Tendulkar explained."It's good to have batsmen who can bowl four-five overs but even better if we have bowlers, who can score those crucial runs. The kind of contributions that can help you move forward," he stated. "I think there should be good wickets. It also depends on the kind of summer they have. No one wants to play in wet and cold conditions. I am expecting good bright summer conducive for good cricket," the legend said. "I think going early will prove to be an advantage. By the time the Test series starts, India would have spent five weeks in England with lot of match practice. It would help the team to get into the groove," he concluded. Edited June 25, 2018 by Stuge tweaker 1
Tibarn Posted June 25, 2018 Posted June 25, 2018 Godji has spoken. Too bad he forgot Shami. Is that a sign that Shami is being overlooked for the England tour due to fitness? Ankit_sharma03 and UrmiSinhaRay 1 1
Forever Indian Posted June 25, 2018 Posted June 25, 2018 The tall bowler has been a useless bowler for more than a decade with very few spells of above mediocrity. Switchblade, Sgattick10, UrmiSinhaRay and 3 others 1 2 3
cowboysfan Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 I dont know why fans gets pissed when former players give frank answers.He is right,our pace attack is diverse and we need all of them to survive a 5 match test series.We also have problems which the English dont face and that is our front line test bowlers also figure to be in our WC squad but England have a mostly different pace attack for the 2 formats.I hope none of them get injured or if they get injured its only a minor one. The Unrealist 1
cowboysfan Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 15 minutes ago, UnknownGenius said: Respected former players who had tactical nous and were good leaders can say what they want as they have credibility. No one will have issue if good leaders like Ganguly or MSD state their opinions Not someone like Sachin who not only was a selfish player but also lacked àny leadership skills and tactical acumen. It's like Dinesh Mongia and Vijay Dahiya giving their opinions..... Wow.I dont know know what to say.To belittle indias greatest cricketer and calling him selfish!!.I guess i should be dissapointed but i am not. The Unrealist and Switchblade 2
gattaca Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 1 hour ago, UnknownGenius said: Respected former players who had tactical nous and were good leaders can say what they want as they have credibility. No one will have issue if good leaders like Ganguly or MSD state their opinions Not someone like Sachin who not only was a selfish player but also lacked àny leadership skills and tactical acumen. It's like Dinesh Mongia and Vijay Dahiya giving their opinions..... lol CSK and IPL is not the world. He is one of the greatest Indian cricketer comparing with no ones really ? . Switchblade and The Unrealist 1 1
figo6762 Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 He’s talking About the left arm prodigy who will hit the Indian team in 2-3 years .
Lala Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 However Arjun Tendulkar is in pipe line. I hope he will sneak into squad as soon as possible.
vvvslaxman Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 Not a single genuine outswing bowler which is needed for Test matches.
Rightarmfast Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 4 hours ago, UnknownGenius said: Respected former players who had tactical nous and were good leaders can say what they want as they have credibility. No one will have issue if good leaders like Ganguly or MSD state their opinions Not someone like Sachin who not only was a selfish player but also lacked àny leadership skills and tactical acumen. It's like Dinesh Mongia and Vijay Dahiya giving their opinions..... Selfish? I suppose that's why he chose to face a red hot Shoaib Akhtar on a bouncy pitch in south africa rather than letting anyone else come and fail. I guess thats why he gave away his natural aggressive game so that the team doesnt suffer if he would get out. Don't BS when you don't understand the game and have not even watched it properly. About his captaincy, he was a very aggressive captain and wanted to win at all cost. Check Javagal Srinath's, Venky's and Kumble's interviews from 97ish. Sachin had a very poor team at his disposal and there was no way that that team could have performed. If at all, Sachin understood the game well and he knew that fast bowlers win you matches. That's the exact reason why Srinath got injury, because he wanted an express bowler at his disposal at all times and he overused Srinath. The whole culture of fast bowler was initiated from Sachin's era and Ganguly took it to the next level. Sachin knows the game very well. The only thing is, he chooses to be highly diplomatic. But it is only in his personal life, it was never the same on a cricket field. DHONI_FANN, The Unrealist, Sgattick10 and 1 other 4
Popular Post Mosher Posted June 26, 2018 Popular Post Posted June 26, 2018 22 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said: Selfish? I suppose that's why he chose to face a red hot Shoaib Akhtar on a bouncy pitch in south africa rather than letting anyone else come and fail. I guess thats why he gave away his natural aggressive game so that the team doesnt suffer if he would get out. Don't BS when you don't understand the game and have not even watched it properly. About his captaincy, he was a very aggressive captain and wanted to win at all cost. Check Javagal Srinath's, Venky's and Kumble's interviews from 97ish. Sachin had a very poor team at his disposal and there was no way that that team could have performed. If at all, Sachin understood the game well and he knew that fast bowlers win you matches. That's the exact reason why Srinath got injury, because he wanted an express bowler at his disposal at all times and he overused Srinath. The whole culture of fast bowler was initiated from Sachin's era and Ganguly took it to the next level. Sachin knows the game very well. The only thing is, he chooses to be highly diplomatic. But it is only in his personal life, it was never the same on a cricket field. Bhai don't take the bait. DHONI_FANN, Pollack, OpeningBatsman and 8 others 1 10
Rightarmfast Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 5 minutes ago, UnknownGenius said: ^^^ stop writing essays. I ain't gonna read that crap. I read the first paragraph and thats it Yes Tendulkar was a very selfish cricketers. Stayed well beyond his years just to rack up empty runs and try to score 100 hundreds. Most selfish act of any cricketer ever Not to mention he got pissed when Dravid declared for benefit of team or when Karthik scored winning runs. When you have a green glass on, thats how the Indian players look like. And next time, mind your language. DHONI_FANN, AuxiliA, The Unrealist and 3 others 1 1 4
Switchblade Posted June 26, 2018 Author Posted June 26, 2018 (edited) 6 hours ago, UnknownGenius said: Respected former players who had tactical nous and were good leaders can say what they want as they have credibility. No one will have issue if good leaders like Ganguly or MSD state their opinions Not someone like Sachin who not only was a selfish player but also lacked àny leadership skills and tactical acumen. It's like Dinesh Mongia and Vijay Dahiya giving their opinions..... The great MS Dhoni has a great record of 1-7 in England 0-4 in Australia 1-1 in New Zealand 1-2 in South Africa.Yes Sachin should have retired after 2011 WC and he was a very poor captain but he is one of the greats of the game carried India during the 90’s era.There is nothing wrong if someone has asked him for his views about the tour.I am a fan of both Sachin and Dhoni but one should be balanced in their views rather than taking it to extreme level of hatred. Edited June 26, 2018 by Switchblade The Unrealist and UrmiSinhaRay 1 1
Mosher Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 27 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Not a single genuine outswing bowler which is needed for Test matches. Bhuvi and Umesh both bowl outswingers. DHONI_FANN, Suhaan and express bowling 1 2
Pollack Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 20 hours ago, Forever Indian said: The tall bowler has been a useless bowler for more than a decade with very few spells of above mediocrity. Yes a waste of a spot. Legendary Ishant Sharma. All sharma's are curse to Indian team. Switchblade, DHONI_FANN, Forever Indian and 1 other 3 1
Pollack Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 12 hours ago, cowboysfan said: Wow.I dont know know what to say.To belittle indias greatest cricketer and calling him selfish!!.I guess i should be dissapointed but i am not. Not just India's . Sachin is one of greatest cricketers in the world. Indeed he was selfish towards the end of his career just like most Indian/subcontinent greats, latest amongst those being Dhoni. Mosher, The Unrealist, UrmiSinhaRay and 2 others 1 4
wanted_desi Posted June 26, 2018 Posted June 26, 2018 Is it me or you just don't want to hear anything that comes out of Tendulkar's mouth? It just makes me cringeworthy. Switchblade and UrmiSinhaRay 1 1
Old guy Posted June 27, 2018 Posted June 27, 2018 nice to see Sachin giving more opinions specially his comments about two new balls started very much needed discussion. also agree with his views on attack as this attack can bowl anywhere specially if shami was fit and in form. UrmiSinhaRay and Laaloo 1 1
tweaker Posted June 27, 2018 Posted June 27, 2018 On 6/25/2018 at 11:19 PM, UnknownGenius said: Talking too much these days. Obviously shouldn't comment on the combination going by what a horrible captain he was and the useless combinations he used to select He had kuruvilla, Prasad at his disposal. Switchblade and UrmiSinhaRay 1 1