WC 2019 England batting - cracks appearing

This was absolute road of a pitch.

As much a gun batting England, even the 334 was flattering due to poor Pak fielding and field placings 

Roy, Stokes look vulnerable against leg spin

Root is reliable but no Rohit Sharma or Kohli who can accelerate after reaching 50

Moeen is completely out of form

And you can't rely on your 9,10,11 to come.in and Strike at 150 SR from ball 1,  even if they are proper batsmen...the last 10 overs with 4 fielders outside ring and pressure makes it difficult

I think get Morgan, Butler and Bairstow cheap and England will struggle to post 300 plus

18 minutes ago, chewy said:

As much a gun batting England, even the 334 was flattering due to poor Pak fielding and field placings 

Root is reliable but no Rohit Sharma or Kohli who can accelerate after reaching 50

And you can't rely on your 9,10,11 to come.in and Strike at 150 SR from ball 1,  even if they are proper batsmen...the last 10 overs with 4 fielders outside ring and pressure makes it difficult

I think get Morgan, Butler and Bairstow cheap and England will struggle to post 300 plus

Talk after Wed. Phuck de India will be blown away on a cloudy day by Rabada.

39 minutes ago, chewy said:

I thought Moeen was inform. He was timing very beautifully in Eye Pee yell. :hmmm:

I thought Pak were really lucky to get away with win tonight. They basically had 4 bowlers plus two middling off spinners which Eng should have made advantage of. Eng should be very disappointed today.

But the thing is on their average day Eng nearly chased down 350, so they are a big threat. Openers need to neutralize the leg spin attack

1 hour ago, nitinbwj said:

Rabada ka ho jayega kabada.

Arrre nahin bhaiya! Rabada karega kabada. Zakhm hoga Bewrat ka aukat. No-hit Jharkhandi ka shuru hoga besoora jugalbadhi!

Aur boloon kya? :giggle:

Its debacles like this that will make them doubt their crash bang & wallop approach to batting. I'm actually very ahppy with today's result.

Edited by Pandya_Power
2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Root was dropped very early today. They found a lot of lucky edges. 

Pak team is a total enigma. You don’t know what to expect on a given day. Sheer brilliance or abject collapse. 

If Wahab had a first slip in place England wouldn't have even touched the 300 mark.

Buttler was impressive, Root despite his century doesn't look like he has the confidence to accelerate. 

The so called long batting lineup ends at 7. Not saying that's short, but it isn't as long as it is made out to be. 

Edited by JourneyMan
3 hours ago, chewy said:

Stokes is fake alleounder , most of the time in pressure match he choked. Also his batting against spin and fast bowlers are mediocre. Only butler and opners if they survive are gun and can change the complexion of match. Toot can only play support inning. But butler is super batsmen , good thing is he doesn't click against us.

I think England are still the favorites. They chased quite well after those early losses. Root and especially Buttler were really good. Chasing close to 350 in pressure is not at all easy and they came very close.

An early loss in fact may help them focus and get them more prepared for pressure situations.

Bowling remains a question as Rashid was exposed and their pacers were in two minds whether to attack with short pitched stuff and really were not very effective.

England is still decent. The key for Pakistan was to get Roy and Bairstow so quickly. This is the template for everyone. Of course, easier said than done.

England batting is still miles ahead of every other team ,any team would die to have such a batting line up.

It's the bowling which is the problem, but this loss comes at a good time for England, they will now prepare better plans and try to extract the maximum out of the bowler's limited abilities .

i believe they were eyeing this match as an extension of the one day series (something like the 6th odi) and thought victory was just a mere formality