TNAmarkFromIndia Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 After the U19 World Cup final was marred by an ugly fight between the cricketers from India and Bangladesh, former India captains Kapil Dev and Mohammad Azharuddin have called for 'strict action' to be taken against the cricketers who let their emotions get the better of themselves as they were beaten by their opponents. After Bangladesh won the final beating India by three wickets (via DLS) at the Senwes Park on Sunday, the players of the two teams were seen engaging in an exchange of words and even some pushing and shoving on the field. "I would take action against the errant Under 19 players but I also want to know what role has the support staff played in educating these youngsters. Act now before it is too late. The players have to be disciplined," Mohammad Azharuddin was quoted as saying by The Hindu. World cup-winning captain Kapil Dev also concurred with Azhar on the issue and called on the BCCI to set an example by punishing the players. "I would like to see the Board take some strict action against the players to set an example. Cricket is not about abusing the opponent. I am sure there is enough reason for these youngsters to be dealt with firmly by BCCI," said Kapil. "I welcome aggression. Nothing wrong in it. But it has to be controlled aggression. You can’t cross the line of decency in the name of being competitive. I would say it was unacceptable that youngsters put up such an obnoxious display on the cricket field," added Kapil. Earlier, Bishan Singh Bedi also had come down heavily on the poor behaviour displayed by the young cricketers. "You bat, bowl and field badly, it happens, but there's no excuse for behaving badly. The behaviour at the Under 19 World Cup final was disgusting and most disgraceful. The innocence of that age was not visible at all," Bedi had told Mid Day. Bedi, who represented India in 67 Tests and 10 ODIs, said the behaviour of the Bangladesh cricketers is not our problem. "Look, what Bangladesh do is their problem, what our boys do is our problem. You could see that there was abusive language used," he said. On Tuesday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) sanctioned five players, including three from Bangladesh and two from India. The Bangladesh players who have been found guilty of breaching the ICC Code of Conduct are Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain and Rakibul Hasan. They have all been handed six demerit points and found guilty of a level three breach of the ICC Code of Conduct. From India, Akash Singh and Ravi Bishnoi were given five demerit points.
Popular Post raki05 Posted February 12, 2020 Popular Post Posted February 12, 2020 (edited) I would take these match fixer and Boot licking senior cricketer words with pinch of salt. I would concur with them when they show some ball against senior cricketers. Kohli use obnoxious language and gesture every other day. Who can forget his middle finger to crowd. Edited February 12, 2020 by raki05 Vickydev, speedheat, FischerTal and 9 others 12
RajBan Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 3 minutes ago, raki05 said: I would take these match fixer and not licking senior cricketer words with pinch of salt. I would concur with them when they show some ball against senior cricketers. Kohli use obnoxious language and gesture every other day. Who can forget his middle finger to crowd. True. I agree that a strong message needs to be given to the junior team with some consequence on their IPL money but at the same time these guys were mum while Kohli was doing all b******* stuff on the field and Sastry doing the same off field. That Kohli is setting an immensely bad example without any reason was never discussed by these people . That's not to say that we should let u19 do the same but it's just that when you selectively punish the junior members it damages the system much more in the long run. raki05 1
FischerTal Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 8 minutes ago, raki05 said: I would take these match fixer and Boot licking senior cricketer words with pinch of salt. I would concur with them when they show some ball against senior cricketers. Kohli use obnoxious language and gesture every other day. Who can forget his middle finger to crowd. Kapil is the last person to give out moral certificates. Suhaan, Cricwala, tweaker and 7 others 1 9
Khota Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 I would like to see Kapil Dev keep his damn mouth shut. kaptaan, raki05, Suhaan and 2 others 5
Popular Post Suhaan Posted February 12, 2020 Popular Post Posted February 12, 2020 Kapil-Strict toh nahi keh sakte par kathor karwayi honi chahiye muj jaise chewtyo par VT87, Jimmy Cliff, express bowling and 9 others 12
beetle Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 Wow..Azaruddin and kapil dev talking . As long as the kids are not fixing matches or mingling with dons and anti nationals....they will be fine . ICC has looked into it and punished.What else do they want... Besides one has to see it in the context of the over all behavior of the opponents. They were getting abused by the bang boys and since the umpires did nothing to stop they gave it back. Not the ideal situation but can't expect the kids of today to take sh ** meekly like the players of yester years. Bishen Bedi saying we should bother about the behavior of our boys and not banga boys is just so much nonsense. How can they expect the kids to stay quiet when the other side is behaving obnoxiously ? Kya faltu gyan dete hain. Suhaan, Gollum, Global.Baba and 6 others 9
Suhaan Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 3 minutes ago, beetle said: Wow..Azaruddin and kapil dev talking . As long as the kids are not fixing matches or mingling with dons and anti nationals....they will be fine . ICC has looked into it and punished.What else do they want... Besides one has to see it in the context of the over all behavior of the opponents. They were getting abused by the bang boys and since the umpires did nothing to stop they gave it back. Not the ideal situation but can't expect the kids of today to take sh ** meekly like the players of yester years. Bishen Bedi saying we should bother about the behavior of our boys and not banga boys is just so much nonsense. How can they expect the kids to stay quiet when the other side is behaving obnoxiously ? Kya faltu gyan dete hain. They are Gandhi's real disciples Let them take all the abuses why should our kids take bullshit from u19 men Nagins raki05, Cricwala, Gollum and 1 other 4
Gollum Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 Azharuddin the criminal should be given zero air time Kapil the dehati loudmouth has a habit of foot in the mouth BS Bedi being Bedi, old man will get fits no matter what FischerTal, raki05, Suhaan and 2 others 5
bowl_out Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 Kapil Dev was no saint himself That said I think the celebrations after taking wickets are getting a bit disgraceful. I can understand celebrating with your team mates but jumping at the Batman's face or signaling to the batsman to go back to the pavilion isn't cool.. saw Bishnoi doing it every time.. looks like they learn from Kohli.. Bangladesh show pathetic behavior, but doesn't mean we need to emulate them beetle, Vijy, raki05 and 1 other 4
Cricwala Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 It's a shame that Azharuddin is being approached for quotes by 'respected' media outlets like 'The Hindu', but then that's Indian journalism for you. Kapil Dev was a total flop as a coach, and honestly that entire 70s-80s generation of cricketers has gone well past their sell-by date as cricket experts or mentors, bar a few like vengsarkar & more. Our kids lost their cool in the heat of the moment, they were pushed to the limit by an obnoxious opponent. ICC did the right thing by slapping players from both sides on the wrist...time to move on and end the breast-beating. Bishnoi has spunk and should just allowed to be. He never misbehaved with any other team in matches i saw, it was clear BD had riled up our boys. Kohli is a psycho - he won't impact the younger generation, guys like Shaw, gill, Kuldeep, pant all hv confidence, but maintain their balance. Only teams we need to up the aggression against are aussies, Eng and maybe saffers (but as their black player component goes up, I suspect they too will normalise) Suhaan and raki05 2
beetle Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 1 hour ago, bowl_out said: Kapil Dev was no saint himself That said I think the celebrations after taking wickets are getting a bit disgraceful. I can understand celebrating with your team mates but jumping at the Batman's face or signaling to the batsman to go back to the pavilion isn't cool.. saw Bishnoi doing it every time.. looks like they learn from Kohli.. Bangladesh show pathetic behavior, but doesn't mean we need to emulate them ICC should send a note to all boards to make sure the players know what is acceptable behavior....at all levels of the game . The umpires should have intervened and had a talk with the captains and the staff when it all started during the game. raki05 and Cricwala 1 1
retired_hurt Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 Off topic but I wonder why our bowling didn't improve under Kapil's coaching. I have seen him talk about importance of swinging the ball even if it comes at the cost of pace whereas Srinath preferred to bowl back of length which Kapil disapproved. Prabhakar also mentioned he didn't get any help from senior bowlers when he started his international career, instead he had to figure everything on his own. Maybe Kapil is like Wasim, great bowler but a clueless coach. Cricwala, express bowling, raki05 and 1 other 1 3
kaptaan Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 Pretty sure Kapil didn't watch the entire match raki05 1
Stan AF Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 No need to go overboard on this. They're under 19 kids. Lay off. No need to go God's righteous anger in this case. Turning_track, raki05 and Cricwala 3
ganeshran Posted February 12, 2020 Posted February 12, 2020 He gave us the proudest moment in our cricketing history and then sold out for money and corrupted more younger cricketers. Eff off raki05 and Vickydev 2
zen Posted February 13, 2020 Posted February 13, 2020 (edited) In terms of big pic, I get what he is trying to say. The issue is applying it on the U19 kids. Suggesting to take action on these kids sounds ridiculous. And that when probably no guidelines exist (though I am not aware how far the kids from both side went but willing to see has them as being overcome by the occasion!) Kapil could have framed his opinion better by suggesting that certain inputs be provided to youngsters to coach then on accepted behaviour on the cricket field. And that would have sounded relatively better (going by the title here). The question is where do you draw the line as you do want your players to show emotions and play the game with passion. Edited February 13, 2020 by zen raki05 1