151 was not a bad score

sage

6 minutes ago, maniac said:

Death pe har koi ghuma dega. If you are decent bat with skills you will come up. Same 50-50 chance as Pandya or any other hitter.

halwa nhin hai

We were lucky during dhoni time that we had - dhoni, yuvi(whose career also was going nowhere at 6), raina, uthappa,dK, yusuf 

Decent skills ?? No............U need special skill set. Thats why such players are rare and valued so highly in t20 

2 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

halwa nhin hai

We were lucky during dhoni time that we had - dhoni, yuvi(whose career also was going nowhere at 6), raina, uthappa,dK, yusuf 

Decent skills ?? No............U need special skill set. Thats why such players are rare and valued so highly in t20 

Raina alone was enough to shift the momentum in the death overs. Has played several clutch cameos. He also batted at 3 in world T20 and made a 100. Versatile player when in form. We have nobody like him. 

6 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Raina alone was enough to shift the momentum in the death overs. Has played several clutch cameos. He also batted at 3 in world T20 and made a 100. Versatile player when in form. We have nobody like him. 

he had one of the best intent , not to forget a very talented batsman ..........he played t20 how it shud be 

42 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Vc giving 2 sixes in one over exposed how much below par the score was, even 170 would have been easily breached

170/170+ right at the start of the  2nd innings is different ball game altogether, people here speculating about ease at scoring in a 170 + chase is wrong,that is a different algorithm

You have to plan accordingly and pace your innings and must be ready to take risks in every over while 150 was par and was in Babar,Rizwan map of batting

8 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

170/170+ right at the start of the  2nd innings is different ball game altogether, people here speculating about ease at scoring in a 170 + chase is wrong,that is a different algorithm

You have to plan accordingly and pace your innings and must be ready to take risks in every over while 150 was par and was in Babar,Rizwan map of batting

Exactly  !

12 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Exactly  !

Yes, I don't know who was MOTM for pakistan that day but if someone asks me Rauf did a commendable job by tying down India below 170,at one point it looked like we will get around 175 and that would have made pakistani dug out nervous about their chances

Rauf was exceptional with his "no fooling around" approach pace pace ,and then subtle variations in last two,that too not overdoing it

Edited by Suhaan

Team selection was not too bad IMO, Shami, Bumbra, Bhuvi, all are very good bower , even for t20, but they did not perform for some reason and  Captaincy was bad , Shami should have used upfront, Only bad selection was Pamdya, he is a good allrounder but not that good to be selected only as a batsman , no way. Any spcialist batsman or bowler would have been a good selection , either Kishan or Ashwin. 

3 hours ago, Suhaan said:

Revisit the match .

some glaring issues i noticed in PP phase and gave up on kohli. For example,

over1: Rizwan hits 10 runs of first thre balls. Both hits came on leg side and Kohli changed the field. I felt why didn’t he start in this manner in first place but i gave benefit of doubt.

Over 2-I thought should have gone to Bhumrah but then thought, may be Bhumrah /kohli prefer other end. So was in doubt.

Over 3-Bhumrah bowls and pulls down RR. 

Over 4- Chakravarti bowls a very good over lbw apeal too. You can sense that Pakistani bats are getting edgy as Pakistani RR was coming down. 
over 5- expected Bhumrah to bowl to put further pressure but got shami bowling. Why? And  this over also saw start of cheeky singles. I felt our field placing is now getting shitty. The benefit of doubt i gave Kohli after over 1 started fading away. 

over 6- Bhuvi was back again. I had given up. 

If Kohli leads and plans( albeit no plan and no prior study of opponents) like that, we won’t be able to defend even 170+ against decent/semi decent teams. We need to at-least a score of over 189+ to negate poor captaincy. 

PS: 151 is second highest first inning score so far after Afgans scored 190+ against Scots

151 was a decent par score if you bowl Bumrah 2-3overs in the first 6 overs and he places pressure and increases the run rate required. Not saying either we would have won, but Im confident the scoreboard pressure would have made this game closer.

This was another reason why the game was lost.

There is multiple reasons why India lost this game, not just one.

1 hour ago, First class said:

Team selection was not too bad IMO, Shami, Bumbra, Bhuvi, all are very good bower , even for t20, but they did not perform for some reason and  Captaincy was bad , Shami should have used upfront, Only bad selection was Pamdya, he is a good allrounder but not that good to be selected only as a batsman , no way. Any spcialist batsman or bowler would have been a good selection , either Kishan or Ashwin. 

The problem is the arrogance of Kohli, he will keep Pandya to justify his selection in the first game. Double down he will.

If he picks Kishan and he destroys NZ, it makes Kohli look foolish. King Kohli will never allow that.

5 hours ago, I6MTW said:

Not to mentio Varun who is inexperienced and not international quality. Bumrah also regressing these days, and chokes in big matches. So basically an innocuous and toothless bowling attack. When did our bowling become so incompetent? Considering our bowling was our strong suit, the last 5 years or so. 

Our bowling is the best in test cricket. 

Not in odi or t20. We have a good bowling attack for odi but we never pick the right personnel 

8 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

bhuvi shud go n play a season of county and domestic in india

He is 31. You think he is going to play county at this age!

5 hours ago, BlueBlood said:

I am shocked with such smart people being paid crores, they didn't realize how limited Bhuvi is and yet they picked him like front line pacer above Shardul who is miles better

Bhuvi was also the last batsman he sis well but was huffing and puffing he seems to have fitness issues on top of all of this. Shradul would have been a better bet. With both bat and ball. If India makes it to the final they need to get this sorted. 

11 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

we shud look at right skills for right format, age shudnt matter as long as ur doing well 

do you think bowlers who had a good ipl like arshdeep and harshal patel would have made a difference here?

2 hours ago, QuarantineTormentino said:

Lol @ those guys who are thinking we will beat NZ :hysterical::hysterical: Afghanistan ko kadi takkar de bahut badi baat he. Namibia will also run us very very close

If India lose to NZ, I would be so happy for Afghan and Namibia to beat us as well.

It may even lead to a few players being axed from this T20 permanently.

11 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

he had one of the best intent , not to forget a very talented batsman ..........he played t20 how it shud be 

Raina was useless vs bounce. Let's not overrated that guy please.