Indian Test Team announced for SA

I would have preferred Malik given a shot as a wild card for his pace ... There is not much point in picking pacers when they begin to lose pace 

Ideally, would have preferred a line up like below, considering a rare 3 test SENA tour in this WTC cycle and balancing youth and experience:

Rohit/Mayank

KL

Gill (injured)

Pujara

Kohli

Pant

Sundar (?)

Thakur or Axar or ... per conditions (someone who can not only bowl but also bat at bit at #8)

Bumrah

Siraj

Malik (wild card for pace ... Not much point in playing him once he loses pace. We saw what happened to Waqar for e.g. when he lost pace) 

10 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

They have to protect their rotten oldies in the middle order. Gill is the sacrificial lamb. This is why i hoped Gill to make a 100. He becomes an easy target with these middling scores. He has to come back big.

Was looking forward to him in SA. Plays bounce well. Would have done well

Pluses ----

....   Rahane, the BC, is no longer the VC

Minuses ----

....   How does a semi fit and completely out of form Ishant Sharma make it into the squad despite breaking down in almost every series in the last 2 years and bowling harmless pies in the last 2 test series he has played in  !!!!

....   Rahane and Pujara still there

....    Too many old players who have lost ability and are out of form or are semi fit, have been selected.

....   How is Prasidh not even among standbys after being part of the main squad in the last series. !!!!

....   Sad to see Saini not in the squad after such superb performances for India A.

....    How is Nagaswalla a standby after such ordinary bowling against SA-A  ?  He was just floating the ball up harmlessly. 

....    How is Washington Sundar missing out  ?  While Jayant Yadav makes it.

We needed a spinner who can bat at 7 or 6 like Jadeja ... and that is Washington and not Jayant.

.... Why was Ishan Kishan not selected after such fantastic performances for India A ?

Edited by express bowling

Should have dropped Rahane and Ishant. 

Chalo atleast Ashwin will be in playing eleven this time. 

Jayant's skills won't help us in SA but it's just that we don't have any other spin bowling allrounder, all are injured. 

4 minutes ago, bowl_out said:

Jayant Yadav :facepalm:

Why not Washington Sundar?

Ishant, Rahane, Pujara are terrible but expected selections

Washington is injured nah? 

2 minutes ago, Adamant said:

If Washington is available then it's a pretty bad move to select Jayant. 

Washy's case looks genuine . I think did not play any game post his injury if i am not wrong . Hope he plays in Hazare and gets selected in next series.

Good decision not to select Saini.  He has a long history of getting badly injured after bowling a couple of overs.  He might hv picked wickets vs SA A.    But always flatters to deceive.  

11 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Should have dropped Rahane and Ishant. 

Chalo atleast Ashwin will be in playing eleven this time. 

Jayant's skills won't help us in SA but it's just that we don't have any other spin bowling allrounder, all are injured. 

Sundar played today. Not sure Akshar's injury is that serious too.

BC yeh Harane apna picha kab chodega :wall: Jaha jaate hai Vodafone ke pug ki tarah isko piche leke jaate hai. And less spoken about Ishant Sharma the better'. The worst Bowler in the history to play over a 100 test matches. I want to express my sentiments in the words of Ishant Sharma. "BC!! Acche Bhale Squad ki M@@ C$&# raha hai Behen ka L@$&#"

Edited by Sean Bradley
2 hours ago, New guy said:

No Siani or prasidh. Ishant still there. @express bowling

Rahane sacked from vice captaincy but no youngster apart from iyer

ishant failed big time in the newzealand TEST. Siraj and Umesh beat him, prasidh and avesh are way better than Ishant as of today. if there is a fitness issue , Ishant will have a difficult time. 

Prasidh and AVesh deserve the place that has been given to Ishant.

Ajinkya- i ma not sure if he will get a chance in the 11 as iyer and mayank agarwal are in top firm and are supposed to be picked ahead of him. Lets see if he even gets a chance to be in the 11.

mayank and Iyer are in full form and they could both be in the 11 and even vihari may be picked ahead of rahane.

even not too sure why jayant is Picked?

Well this team will be in a mission to provide Joy to world after all it’s the most wonderful time of the year ….

Will get beaten black n blue in SA… waiting for another 36 a.o 

1 hour ago, prudent_kreeda said:

Washy's case looks genuine . I think did not play any game post his injury if i am not wrong . Hope he plays in Hazare and gets selected in next series.

If hahane can get selected because of a single innings in melbourne .. why can’t washi be selected .. as hero of Perth.. why does washi  need to play hazare.. 

People are downvoting my comments as "trolling". Like I care....

People are outraged at selection of Jayant Yadav and Saini dropped etc etc. I knew Jayant Yadav will be selected and he is there in my predicted team. I just felt it would happen.

Prasidh? Ha Ha!

For the young ones - there is a deep deep love for spinners/trundlers in India and you all will learn. If the powers that be can go back to the era of Madan Lal + Mohinder + 3 or 4 spinners...... they will.

When Holding and Daniel humiliated India in 1976 with beamer/bouncer stuff causing Bedi to declare 13 odd ahead at 97 odd in Kingston....Bedi said "not cricket". Lloyd said you want us to bowl easy dollies for you? Then Pakistan toured and Lloyd had Roberts/Croft/Garner available in a tough series .... but he did not dare do what he did to India with Pak. Why? Two words - Imran, Sarfraz.

But Indian establishment felt nothing about the humiliation as the myth and filth of Indian spin continues to this day - cheered on at home by the spinner loving fans as well. The pretend love for pace in Indian establishment and fans is inch deep and they will always return to the comfort of spin and Ishant. Yessss.... Ishant is in team too!!!!

This selection committee seems to lack clear vision and clarity of thought.

Both Prasidh and Avesh were there as backups for tests in England.

Prasidh became a part of the main squad for the 4th test vs England.

Then Prasidh was part of the test squad vs NZ too. 

And now suddenly both Prasidh and Avesh are nowhere in the picture without playing anything. Although tall, hit the deck pacers would have been ideal for tests in South Africa. 

And suddenly, D.Chahar, a medium paced swing bowler, is a standby bowler in South Africa  (  although he was not a standby in England in swing friendly conditions. )

Unless Prasidh and Avesh are injured, this is some amazing logic  !

9 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Unless Prasidh and Avesh are injured, this is some amazing logic  !

I totally agree with your this post and the previous one regarding J Yadav etc.

But we have been around long enough to expect these decisions. I mean Prasidh and Saini and Avesh  are not going to be there so long as Shami/Ishant/Umesh are available.

I don't know but have just become numb to it. We have plenty of people who can bowl fast. The establishment for some reason does not want them but likes the Chahars..... Just imagine what people like Prasidh, Avesh, Saini and Malik think while trying back breaking pace and seeing Ishant and Chahar waltz in (to Shoshkatovich's 2nd Waltz??).