Sarfaraz Khan's "fitness level" and alleged "off-field conduct" led to his non-selection for WI Tests: Report

sage

2 hours ago, bowl_out said:

The celebrations looked over the top and unprofessional.

But that doesn't warrant non-selection. It requires reprimand and counseling 

https://twitter.com/i/status/1672977175396638720

Kohli is a master of cringeworthy celebration. So they cannot stifle a career citing this. Selectors shouldn't resort to revenge. Pujara was dropped for a reason. Why was he brought back? The only cricket he played in between was B-division county cricket. Are they really using that to pick players? Basically, they use every kind of competition except India's premiere first-class games.

Edited by vvvslaxman
2 hours ago, AKane said:

BTW this whole thing about Sarfraz cannot face pace in IPL...... Facing pace in IPL and pace in tests is two totally different things.

In tests you can leave leave leave the ball or defend defend defend the ball - aka wait for the bad ball.   In T20/IPL you cannot. You have to hit and giggle.

Flip side is that bowlers can keep targetting you for an extended period of time because there is no limit on no. Of overs they can bowl and you still need to find a way to score anyway. 

20 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Chalo sarfaraz ko nahi kar sakte Rinku Singh ko select karne me kya dikkat hai. 60 average after 40 FC games, 53 average after 51 list A games at a good strike rate. Nahi bas Kohli, Rahane ko dhona hai chahe vo 29 k average se run kyu na banayein. Kohli ke on filed behaviour se kabhi problem nahi Hui.

There would have been riots if they drop Kohli...  Jay Shah & BCCI can't afford it.  They themselves have made him a Brand bigger than the game. 

Even Media is scared to call him out. 

Manju got so much hate when he said he has a major technical flaw with his non existent backfoot play. 

7 hours ago, AKane said:

BTW this whole thing about Sarfraz cannot face pace in IPL...... Facing pace in IPL and pace in tests is two totally different things.

In tests you can leave leave leave the ball or defend defend defend the ball - aka wait for the bad ball.   In T20/IPL you cannot. You have to hit and giggle.

And not only that - we don't really know until we know. If someone dominates domestics at the level that SNK has done (over multiple seasons), you give him a shot. At least 5 tests, and then re-assess.

On 6/27/2023 at 8:13 AM, AKane said:

YET.. we know exactly how to get Rohit out including test. Its a delivery which he can easily leave and wont get out if he batted entire 5 days. 

what does off field conduction not good mean ? Women ? but then we have likes of Raina and Shami. Drugs ? cant be else he would have faced ban. anything illegal he would have been in Jail. Only thing i can think of is didn't call right people 'sir'.   

7 minutes ago, Majestic said:

I don't have much expectations from any of the younger Indian batters except Pant, Gill and Jaiswal. 

If India doesn't try to create "all format" players they will  be able to field better sides. It is very hard to switch between different formats. Not the cup of tea for everyone.   SKY - T20, Jaiswal - Test, ODI , Ruturaj  - ODI, T20,  Gill - all 3 formats,  Samson - ODI, Kishan - ODI. Pant - Test, ODI. Shreyas Iyer - Test, ODI, Sarfraz - Test Patidar - Test, ODI

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

I don't have much expectations from any of the younger Indian batters except Pant, Gill and Jaiswal. 

which ones have even played in int'l matches to even be evaluated fairly? shaw and gaikwad, yet, but not sudharshan, sarfaraz, patidar, tilak, dhull, etc

4 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

If India doesn't try to create "all format" players they will  be able to field better sides. It is very hard to switch between different formats. Not the cup of tea for everyone.   SKY - T20, Jaiswal - Test, ODI , Ruturaj  - ODI, T20,  Gill - all 3 formats,  Samson - ODI, Kishan - ODI. Pant - Test, ODI. Shreyas Iyer - Test, ODI, Sarfraz - Test Patidar - Test, ODI

Agreed. But from a marketing perspective it back fires if same players don't play in each format for bcci. Cash cow. Sadly bcci thrives on superstar culture. why do you think they are biased with selections?

If we selected on merit, we would have won several titles already. 

You even have people here willing to give leeway to washed up players because they have earned it apparently lol. So there you go.