tapandrun Posted August 31, 2025 Posted August 31, 2025 So does that mean Dhoni is not an active player right now, and he wont be playing for CSK next season ????
IndianRenegade Posted August 31, 2025 Posted August 31, 2025 PR move than anything. Cricket has moved on from Dhoni style. tapandrun 1
Ultimate_Game Posted August 31, 2025 Posted August 31, 2025 What chewtiyapa is this?! What the phuck is a mentor? You have a coach and that's what you need. All you're doing is adding to confusion and undermining the coach. If you're not happy with Gambhir, remove him and replace him with Dhoni or someone else. But there cannot be a place for both a coach and mentor. Let the coach bring his own staff - batting coach, bowling coach, fielding coach, mentor etc. But it should be the coach and not someone else calling the shots. Once BCCI select a coach, they need to be hands off. express bowling and New guy 2
saneindian Posted August 31, 2025 Posted August 31, 2025 Reported by some random website. Likely a PR plant as @IndianRenegade says above. Dhoni PR has to get such things in news to sustain interest in him till next IPL. Has been a similar pattern since his international retirement. New guy and tapandrun 2
sage Posted August 31, 2025 Author Posted August 31, 2025 (edited) Mainstream news are reporting this story now https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/news/ms-dhoni-as-team-india-mentor-ex-cricketer-takes-a-dig-says-woh-phone-uthaye-hain-na/amp_articleshow/123614468.cms8.cms Edited August 31, 2025 by sage
kepler37b Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 11 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: What chewtiyapa is this?! What the phuck is a mentor? You have a coach and that's what you need. All you're doing is adding to confusion and undermining the coach. If you're not happy with Gambhir, remove him and replace him with Dhoni or someone else. But there cannot be a place for both a coach and mentor. Let the coach bring his own staff - batting coach, bowling coach, fielding coach, mentor etc. But it should be the coach and not someone else calling the shots. Once BCCI select a coach, they need to be hands off. It is just one more position to exercise power politics. Ultimate_Game 1
singhvivek141 Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 11 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: What chewtiyapa is this?! What the phuck is a mentor? You have a coach and that's what you need. All you're doing is adding to confusion and undermining the coach. If you're not happy with Gambhir, remove him and replace him with Dhoni or someone else. But there cannot be a place for both a coach and mentor. Let the coach bring his own staff - batting coach, bowling coach, fielding coach, mentor etc. But it should be the coach and not someone else calling the shots. Once BCCI select a coach, they need to be hands off. Come on boys, come on !! Theek se bowling kar !! Wo fielder ko udhar taali bajane ko nahi rakkha!! Wo fielder baahar le sakte hai, baaki tu dekh le fir!! express bowling, Ultimate_Game and rollingstoned 3
Sean Bradley Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 MS Dhoni mentoring would result in killing our fast bowlers and home and away test drubbings. express bowling 1
Nikhil_cric Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 Wasn't he the mentor when we got smashed in the 2021 World T20? bouncers, Stan AF, Lord and 1 other 2 2
jf1gp_1 Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 48 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said: Wasn't he the mentor when we got smashed in the 2021 World T20? Was thinking the same. Why try again specially when GG won us the last ct event. Nikhil_cric 1
LordPrabhzy Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 On 8/31/2025 at 2:14 AM, Laaloo said: Gambhir was brought in to kick out Rohit and Kohli Now Dhoni being brought in to kick out Gambhir? I guess next year we will bring in Yograj Singh to kick out Dhoni we need to call Yamraj maharaj to kick out Yograj Lord, Laaloo and Adamant 3
Ultimate_Game Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 7 hours ago, kepler37b said: It is just one more position to exercise power politics. Yup, that's what I figured. They're trying to bring in Dhoni to undermine Gambhir, reign him in and reduce his authority. But in that case, as I mentioned in my earlier post, why not simply replace Gambhir as coach. Either you have confidence in the coach or you don't. No point in doing these shenanigans which'll adversely impact the team. Can you imagine if the team divides into two camps - one Gambhir and one Dhoni? Mentor makes sense if you replace coach's position by that role. Else it's idiotic and non-sensical.
kepler37b Posted September 1, 2025 Posted September 1, 2025 3 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: Yup, that's what I figured. They're trying to bring in Dhoni to undermine Gambhir, reign him in and reduce his authority. But in that case, as I mentioned in my earlier post, why not simply replace Gambhir as coach. Either you have confidence in the coach or you don't. No point in doing these shenanigans which'll adversely impact the team. Can you imagine if the team divides into two camps - one Gambhir and one Dhoni? Mentor makes sense if you replace coach's position by that role. Else it's idiotic and non-sensical. Standard passive-aggressive Indian manager behavior. They are simply scared of "What if we remove gambhir and it does not work?". Hence they choose the mid-way. By appointing Dhoni. Ultimate_Game 1
diga Posted September 2, 2025 Posted September 2, 2025 VVS Laxman might become mentor for an IPL team while Dravid may be back at NCA ... not much in news
Gollum Posted September 2, 2025 Posted September 2, 2025 (edited) On 8/31/2025 at 5:19 PM, Norman said: That was hilarious... Dude probably wanted to hog all the limelight again (fresh after winning the IPL) by taking credit for the Indian team's performance as well but fate and Dewbai had other ideas. He didn't even come on camera once for the games against Pak and NZ. And then proceeded to silently depart back to his Ranchi farmhouse as if it never happened. Was a PR disaster for Dhongi.. We should dominate next few T20 WCs, maybe he wants to steal more glory. All his life, he has been piggybacking on others to make his brand. Edited September 2, 2025 by Gollum Lord 1
ShoonyaSifar Posted September 2, 2025 Posted September 2, 2025 2021 was a clear case of conflict of interest, largely Ganguly's decision to get Kohli and Rohit to work as a team in the T20 WC (Kohli quit T20 captaincy in Aug 2021 and week later Shastri resigned as well, two months before the T20 WC and one month before 2021 IPL in Dubai, Dhoni was named as mentor in September 2021 along with squad announcement). That it ended in a disaster was a foregone conclusion. In any case, a player still active in IPL cannot and should not be part of the India's coaching setup. If Dhoni has desires to become a mentor/ coach/ friend ,philosopher, guide of Indian team, let him retire from IPL, serve the required cooling off period and then throw his hat in contention.
Lone Wolf Posted September 2, 2025 Posted September 2, 2025 Another dynast Nepo kid @Gollum Gollum and Lord 1 1
New guy Posted September 2, 2025 Posted September 2, 2025 2 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said: 2021 was a clear case of conflict of interest, largely Ganguly's decision to get Kohli and Rohit to work as a team in the T20 WC (Kohli quit T20 captaincy in Aug 2021 and week later Shastri resigned as well, two months before the T20 WC and one month before 2021 IPL in Dubai, Dhoni was named as mentor in September 2021 along with squad announcement). That it ended in a disaster was a foregone conclusion. In any case, a player still active in IPL cannot and should not be part of the India's coaching setup. If Dhoni has desires to become a mentor/ coach/ friend ,philosopher, guide of Indian team, let him retire from IPL, serve the required cooling off period and then throw his hat in contention. Arent you excited to see a long list of CSK players making it to the Indian team?