A case in favor of Gautam Gambhir

maniac

1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said:

India will get their ass handed in world T20, 2026. Wait and watch. Chewing gum SKY has done absolutely nothing recently. They phased out Sanju brought in cowlasher Jitesh sharma. Now time is ripe to discard Jitesh and bring in the panauti Kela. Last rites will be read. 

Lol kela will be there with gill

And the trio of sky kela gill will be deadly for our chances 

I'm getting wt20 2021 vibes as defeat at the hands of pak looms

All signs are there,still need to let go your ego man

12 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Arey wo sab bahut hi khush hain aj ,khujli me political post bh daal rhe hain 

Bhai kya logic hai iss baat ka?:wp23:

oh it was "phun "post just cheeel vaddeee

Should hire players only from RSS background with a couple of quotas for good hardworking and patriotic pasmanda musalmaans and other communities  like Siraj etc :agree:  Stick it to these haters , cmon Gauti and Jay Shah bapu :pray: 

Indian test team is poor, I don’t see any backups who I feel would have made the difference. Apart from 1-2 most of these players are your main core for at least the next 2-3 years.

Rahul, Jadeja, Bumrah, Siraj, Jaiswal, Pant, Kuldeep, Sundar, Axar, Gill thats 10 players in your team who are usually contenders for all formats. Nitish too has been a fringe bench player in all formats, never rated Jurel even though felt he has decent temparament and performance to back- never rated him. However can’t argue he didn’t deserve a chance.

Dont know what really Gauti could have done.  Poor cricket from Indian team and extremely phattu cricket. Gautam is partly responsible as coach but cmon.

1 hour ago, goose said:

he looks and sounds weird. no style, no charisma, no humor, no swag, no height. just massive sideburns. how do you respect a man like that? gill isn't exactly brimming with personality either. you can't have such a dull duo at the helm. get rid without delay. 

Yup. And Shukri Conrad has all of those attributes. 

What we need is mentoring and coaching chops. 

Just now, maniac said:

Indian test team is poor, I don’t see any backups who I feel would have made the difference. Apart from 1-2 most of these players are your main core for at least the next 2-3 years.

Rahul, Jadeja, Bumrah, Siraj, Jaiswal, Pant, Kuldeep, Sundar, Axar, Gill thats 10 players in your team who are usually contenders for all formats. Nitish too has been a fringe bench player in all formats, never rated Jurel even though felt he has decent temparament and performance to back- never rated him. However can’t argue he didn’t deserve a chance.

Dont know what really Gauti could have done.  Poor cricket from Indian team and extremely phattu cricket. Gautam is partly responsible as coach but cmon.

No it is not poor, it is poor selections which doomed the team.Noone in their right mind selects Reddy and Jurel as batsmen.

Indian players have not become bad overnight, this bozo along with Agarakar are reason for this disaster.

Greg Chappell was removed and same players became better overnight. The core remained intact then also.

Just now, BacktoCricaddict said:

Yup. And Shukri Conrad has all of those attributes. 

What we need is mentoring and coaching chops. 

Ravi Shastri was kind of a chill uncle in the family who could fit in with seniors and youngsters. He was a typical mumbaiyya street smart cricketer who had god cricket acumen and knew how to maximize limitations and do jugaad. Wasn’t a long term solution but was wonderful with man management.

Rahul Dravid was like the fav teacher who was kind to all kids including the  high school ones, elementary school kids.

Gambhir is like a trainer in a marine camp, Takes no non-sense, has a vision in his head, hates bs and has one dimensional approach. He will run away a lot of recruits but the ones who stick with  him will shine.

thats kind of my assessment on their coaching styles.

2 hours ago, maniac said:

Sensitive topic on a sensitive day, but hear me out.

First, I don’t think Gambhir has any ulterior motives. His heart is in the right place, and he is very patriotic and a man with high integrity.

I think he has great cricket acumen, especially in white-ball cricket. Just like his nemesis Dhoni, he has a way of pulling the team out of back-to-the-wall situations. The way he handled pressure during high-stakes Champions Trophy and Asia Cup matches, or even the England and Australia series, was commendable.

The blot on his career comes from three specific series:

India vs SL ODI series

We were coming off the high of winning the T20s, playing both youngsters and seasoned players, and continued the momentum. However, the sudden change of format and having too many tired or new players was counterproductive in the ODIs. Also, the pitches were very dicey. It was an anomaly.

India vs NZ Test series whitewash

That team should have been winning on autopilot. I didn’t see anything wrong with the strategy either. It was simply poor batting from India; our bowling more or less gave us a shot in every game. You can’t blame Gambhir for this. However, the older players were asked to count their time as we moved into a new era.

India vs SA Test series whitewash

I’m not a fan of two-match series, but fair game to SA—they played much better cricket than us. There wasn’t much we could do with so many stroke-less batters who kill momentum. While Gambhir has to take accountability, I think we are in a transition and rebuilding phase.

I feel we should not panic or press any trigger buttons. We are rebuilding.

We lost three superstar players to retirement. Two more—Rahul and Jadeja—will likely be done soon. We need to rebuild the team. Yes, Jurel and Sudarshan may not be the perfect fit right now, but they aren’t such left-field picks either, so Gambhir deserves the benefit of the doubt.

I will back him until the WT20 2026. We absolutely need his clutch temperament in the dressing room for big tournaments. :nice: 

Today we see the team losing home series regularly but the seeds of these losses were sown years ago, with washed up batsmen being repeatedly bailed out by 1-2 batsmen playing heroic innings and bowlers like Ashwin and Jadeja contributing big time with the bat. The concerns we expressed during such dodgy wins at that time have become stark reality now, exposing our weaknesses and puncturing the aura of invincibility. 

Speaking of this series against SA - we were actually well ahead in test one for the most part and should have closed the deal with the fourth innings chase. This series would have been shared 1-1 instead of turning out to be another humiliating loss. Gambhir said we got exactly the pitch we asked for, but the batters totally failed us. 

One thing which hurt us badly in this series is Jaiswal's indifferent form. He has been undeservedly kept out of the LOI team for far too long. Dude is a capable match winner in all three formats and limiting him to only one is totally unfair, bound to adversely impact his motivation and confidence. 

I too believe Gambhir has heart is in the right place and that he wants nothing but the very best for the team. Some people call him a fraud but I don't think so. He retired mid series and returned his paycheck to the DD owners when he was woefully out of form. He does not believe in going through the motions and getting by with bs. 

He changed our fearless Trio of Abhi-Samson, Tilak at 3 , SKY 4 , Dube and lower order to Gill-Abhishek, SKY 3 -5, No Samson, Tilak and Dube uncertainty. We still won 2-1 in Aus due to some individual brilliance again. Moron forgot that we used to score 250+ scores regularly before that Gill came in. I have nothing but hate for this Mcc***. He changed the winning combination. Mfer will remove Chakri also one day.

Gambhir and his aggressive speech may work in politics not in cricket.

our players are talented but they  lose their head under pressure. 
we have won World Cup under Dhoni , Rohit , Dravid and Gary all these people are cool and never shout at players.

if Gambhir continues as coach we may start losing to Pakistan also 

2 hours ago, nitinbwj said:

He changed our fearless Trio of Abhi-Samson, Tilak at 3 , SKY 4 , Dube and lower order to Gill-Abhishek, SKY 3 -5, No Samson, Tilak and Dube uncertainty. We still won 2-1 in Aus due to some individual brilliance again. Moron forgot that we used to score 250+ scores regularly before that Gill came in. I have nothing but hate for this Mcc***. He changed the winning combination. Mfer will remove Chakri also one day.

Waiting for the day when Harshit Rana becomes all format vice captain

7 hours ago, raki05 said:

And few on this forum also they still associate Gambo with bjp and making fun of modi and bjp on this loss. They call its just fun but in reality their ulterior motive is not hidden based on their posting history.  Gambo deserved lot of criticism for his cricketing selection but not because of his political alignment. I hope with gambo gone thing is sorted out but looking at some of our paindu youngsters i think it will be long road to recovery.

I agree but his selection was due to same reason. No one else will get Test coaching based on IPL success. I wonder if the players were asked about his appointment either 

14 hours ago, Gollum said:

Firing him so close to T20 WC won't be good. Wait till that is over, definitely fire him from tests after that, and take the call on white ball based on how things go. But curtail his powers starting now, for instance, enough of forcing Gill on our T20 squad. 

Why can't we fire him from Tests now? Let him focus on winning WT20

It will also give new coach some time before the next Test

13 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said:

GG or no GG, we don't have the players for Test cricket currently. Our bowling attack is utterly mediocre. 

However, he should absolutely be crucified if he can't make bold decisions in white ball cricket and win us the next 2 trophies 

Bowling is still doing better than batting  3 bowlers averaged under 30 this series. While only 2 batsmen scored 50s. Our best guy was worse than Jansen in batting