Is this the most auraless ICC trophy win ever?

59 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

Probably feels 'Auraless' coz Indian fans are not used to witness their team grab one sided victory in an ICC tournament Final.   This T20 side is ruthless.  They were a bit sloppy in the initial phase of the tournament, only to hv peaked at the right moment.   They never looked back.   (Only Windies of 1980s and Aussies of 1999-2007 hv shown this level of ruthlessness)  

Yes. Going by our talent pool we should have few more aura less/ nobody cares / win WC trophies almost like against SL in bilaterals. 

Edited by Vk1

Before 2024 we lost 2023 ODI WC final.

During the final SA needed 30 from 30. From that we won thanks to BumBum.

Compared to that it felt like a walk in the park as NZ never looked to be in the game as they lost wickets one after the other and never matched the RRR. Even the  SF against ENG had more thrill thanks to Bethell and Co. always keeping up with the RRR.

45 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

This was so one sided. After our first 6 over never thought that NZ were in it.

@Gollum one in 6 finals for NZ now.

Still not chokers?

Naah, they are just not good enough.

They are a small country of 5 million where cricket is not the biggest sport.

They keep making finals by not losing against weaker teams and winning vs one stronger team but that's it.

As others have said it feels that way because it wasn’t a close game. If it was like the England game we would have felt more anxious at the end & the win would have felt more special.

Even the reaction of the players around the end for the England game was more pronounced than this game. Also repeat wins gives a feeling of inevitability.

8 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said:

As others have said it feels that way because it wasn’t a close game. If it was like the England game we would have felt more anxious at the end & the win would have felt more special.

Even the reaction of the players around the end for the England game was more pronounced than this game. Also repeat wins gives a feeling of inevitability.

They lost the plot in the first 6 overs. I think they lost moment they took Abhishek for granted. They assumed Abhishek would fail automatically against PHilips because he got out to Agha , Aryan , Jacks.  So they left out McCOnchie. They focused mostly on Samson. So they brought on pacers. 

Want us to beat Aussies in an ICC final, just once. Every time we have faced them at that stage, they have mercilessly slaughtered us. That is the final frontier. 

Just now, Gollum said:

Want us to beat Aussies in an ICC final, just once. Every time we have faced them at that stage, they have mercilessly slaughtered us. That is the final frontier. 

Will happen eventually.

Don't worry. Golden Age is here. Will make a post about it.

OP is Maniac and liked only by Sage till now. Where is Global.baba when you need him ? :phehe:

Bhai ... Rohit / " Ro bro " was atleast there in the stadium and we actually won because of his positive energy and moral backing from the stands. [  I am now imagining Maniac as that child in that ad calling him " Ro bro " ]

Now, does the aura of this win improve !!   :p:

Edited by express bowling

Not sure what aura-less means here, think some ppl might think of this win as not as charismatic because, there was no back story of this.

This was a team of more of less nobodies (more of less at current point in time)of Ind cricket. There was no fake emotional backdrop made by media saying this is last ICC event of x/y/z player(s).

It was a win of a side v.well suited for the format and not the players who are just there because thy are big names. think ppl want cinema a bit.

1 hour ago, cricketfan28 said:

This actually, is the most aura filled trophy because of the domination, on the same level as aus 2003 and 2007, our 2023 almost did it.

We were unbeaten in 2024 though. That was more dominating as a tournament.

This was most dominating final

4 hours ago, maniac said:

Even Nidihaas trophy felt more exciting to win.

Asia cup last year was off the charts exciting and fun.

i think 2002 CT win comes close to being this auraless. 

feels like we won some random bilateral series lol.

anyone else feel the same?

Nope, I enjoyed it thoroughly! After the 2023 WC final fiasco it was important for us to win this at home. Plus this was the first WT20 with youngsters and IPL stars. This showed that IPL is good enough to deliver results. The 250+ runs scored in semi-final and final was the statement that the team made that they're heads & shoulders above their opponents.

1 minute ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Nope, I enjoyed it thoroughly! After the 2023 WC final fiasco it was important for us to win this at home. Plus this was the first WT20 with youngsters and IPL stars. This showed that IPL is good enough to deliver results. The 250+ runs scored in semi-final and final was the statement that the team made that they're heads & shoulders above their opponents.

Bhai ab Namo stadium ka kya karna hai?

4 hours ago, maniac said:

You got that totally wrong.

On the contrary this is actually an AURA DEFINING win because we blew away the finalist.

By your yardstick, the 1999 and 2003 WCs that Australia one were also auraless, because they were absolutely one sided wins.

7 hours ago, maniac said:

It's a side effect of genuinely becoming too strong. Pretty sure this is what Aussies were feeling in 2003, 1999 etc.

In limited overs we are stronger than any team. Now in tests...