Austin 3:!6 Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 Don't want to jinx it as I am a big fan of Joe Root but can he chase down the target in Adelaide? This game reminds me of Kohli's epic knock in 2nd innings at Adelaide where he took us so close to victory but failed at the last hurdle. Can Root do it this time? #LetsDoItRoot
Forever Indian Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 (edited) Wouldn't blame Kohli for that failure. Him and Vijay were just incredible that day, it's the other batsmen especially Tailunt (asusual) and Saha who choked big time. Edited December 5, 2017 by Forever Indian Cricketics, mancalledsting and Turning_track 3
mishra Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 No, This Aussie bowling lineup can tear apart any batting lineup. But he played incredibly well make sure that he faces most of Lyon as non striker was a leftie
Gollum Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 Kohli's knock came on a patta where we could only manage 12 wickets. This isn't a patta by any means so Root most probably won't do it, he isn't a Lara. Nevertheless if he does it he will become undisputed no 2 behind Smith for me. King Tendulkar and sergio04 1 1
vvvslaxman Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 That umpiring blunder against Rahane cost us the game.
Gollum Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 5 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: That umpiring blunder against Rahane cost us the game. Rahane wouldn't have survived against Lyon that day even with 5 lives, some of the highest quality of spin bowling you will ever see.
Shunya Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 Its amazing Nathan Lyon has turned so lethal and unplayable. If not for him, England would be cruising home easily. Root has played well so far and he is going to win it for England.
Austin 3:!6 Posted December 5, 2017 Author Posted December 5, 2017 Kohli's knock came on a patta where we could only manage 12 wickets. This isn't a patta by any means so Root most probably won't do it, he isn't a Lara. Nevertheless if he does it he will become undisputed no 2 behind Smith for me. How was that 5th day pitch was a patta? It was turning square. Matlab kuch bhi bolega kya? Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk Jimmy Cliff and Vilander 2
Gollum Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: How was that 5th day pitch was a patta? It was turning square. Matlab kuch bhi bolega kya? Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk It was turning, but not square. No Aussie pitch turns square, that was like a typical late day 3-day 4 Indian pitch. If it were a square turner like you are claiming check out Mumbai 2004, Nagpur/Mohali 2015 and Pune 2017........what would you call that? On the other hand in the Adelaide test close to 1600 runs were scored and Aus lost only 12 wickets !!!! Vijay and Kohli were doing just fine. I don't know about Vijay but if it were a square turner Kohli would have made a complete fool out of himself as he generally does. Edited December 5, 2017 by Gollum King Tendulkar, sergio04 and mishra 2 1
Austin 3:!6 Posted December 5, 2017 Author Posted December 5, 2017 It was turning, but not square. No Aussie pitch turns square, that was like a typical late day 3-day 4 Indian pitch. If it were a square turner like you are claiming check out Mumbai 2004, Nagpur/Mohali 2015 and Pune 2017........what would you call that? On the other hand in the Adelaide test close to 1600 runs were scored and Aus lost only 12 wickets !!!! Vijay and Kohli were doing just fine. I don't know about Vijay but if it were a square turner Kohli would have made a complete fool out of himself as he generally does. It was a turner and ball was turning very badly. I have not seen such turn even in India when Eng/Aust toured last time. You have a habbit of downplaying any knock of VK, a trait found in Pak fans (not that I am accusing you to be a Pakistani).That track on 5th day was anything but flat patta. But then again any pitch that Kohli bats and bats well turn to be a patta for few.P.s - I am not a blind Kohli fan either but credit where due. That was one of the better hundreds you would ever see.Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk Jimmy Cliff and Vilander 1 1
Old guy Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 1 hour ago, Gollum said: Kohli's knock came on a patta where we could only manage 12 wickets. This isn't a patta by any means so Root most probably won't do it, he isn't a Lara. Nevertheless if he does it he will become undisputed no 2 behind Smith for me. 59 minutes ago, Gollum said: Rahane wouldn't have survived against Lyon that day even with 5 lives, some of the highest quality of spin bowling you will ever see. when you go full bipolar. beetle, Sachinism, putrevus and 3 others 1 4 1
Sachinism Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 15 minutes ago, Old guy said: when you go full bipolar. Unreal! The levels people go to push their agendas
Gollum Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 22 minutes ago, Old guy said: when you go full bipolar. Where am I going bipolar? I stand by my statement that it wasn't a square turner. I also stand by my statement that Lyon bowled brilliantly that day and Rahane is so bad against spin that no way was he surviving that Lyon.
sensible-indian Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 (edited) 1 hour ago, Gollum said: It was turning, but not square. No Aussie pitch turns square, that was like a typical late day 3-day 4 Indian pitch. If it were a square turner like you are claiming check out Mumbai 2004, Nagpur/Mohali 2015 and Pune 2017........what would you call that? On the other hand in the Adelaide test close to 1600 runs were scored and Aus lost only 12 wickets !!!! Vijay and Kohli were doing just fine. I don't know about Vijay but if it were a square turner Kohli would have made a complete fool out of himself as he generally does. It was turning square brother but due to true bounce, you could play shots and score runs fast. A la chennai 2013 and mumbai 2016. Kohli scored a double century in mumbai 2016 ( like dhoni did in chennai 2013) cos he relishes the bounce which allows him to play his shots. Some rank turners can be high scoring while some can be a nightmare to score (like nagpur 2015). Edited December 5, 2017 by sensible-indian Austin 3:!6 1
Gollum Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 (edited) 1 hour ago, Austin 3:!6 said: It was a turner and ball was turning very badly. I have not seen such turn even in India when Eng/Aust toured last time. You have a habbit of downplaying any knock of VK, a trait found in Pak fans (not that I am accusing you to be a Pakistani). That track on 5th day was anything but flat patta. But then again any pitch that Kohli bats and bats well turn to be a patta for few. P.s - I am not a blind Kohli fan either but credit where due. That was one of the better hundreds you would ever see. Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk OK bro just explain me something. When did it start turning square? Day 3? Day 4? Or only Day 5? I am not ready to believe that 1300 runs were scored in the 1st 4 days (with 5 100s and a 100 in each innings by Warner, one of the worst players against spin) and suddenly it became a square turner on day 5. You are hyping up that VK knock for no reason. No 2 batsmen can stick together a 200 run partnership on a rank turner like Vijay and Kohli did that day. The greatest partnership on a rank turner I have seen was the one by VVS-SRT in Mumbai 2004 and that was just a 94 run partnership against Hauritz and Michael Clarke. Do you really believe that Vijay and VK are that much better than SRT-VVS against spin or Hauritz-Clarke duo is that much better than Lyon? If indeed Vijay and Kohli were that great that day I wonder why (esp Kohli) couldn't replicate their success in Nagpur 2015, Mohali 2015, Pune 2017, Bengaluru 2017............ In those turners (except 2nd innings of Bengaluru) our team aggregate itself wasn't even close 200 !!!!! Vijay has played some vital knocks on square turners but Kohli has failed in every single innings he has played on a rank turner. The Adelaide win by Australia was because of 2 things: 1. We choked badly near the finishing line. 2. Lyon was brilliant that day as he has been against us his entire career, I think he is someone who brings out his best against us. Moreover we had a period in 2013-15 where we simply couldn't play off spin. Moeen Ali destroyed us in England, Duminy troubled us in SA and Lyon is a far far superior bowler to those 2. I remember a few threads during that period lamenting our decline against off spin bowling. We were so clueless against off spin during that period that it isn't surprising we lost to Lyon on day 5. I stand by my statement that it wasn't a square turner, at max it was a like a typical day 4 Indian pitch. Edited December 5, 2017 by Gollum sergio04 1
sensible-indian Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 (edited) 19 minutes ago, Gollum said: OK bro just explain me something. When did it start turning square? Day 3? Day 4? Or only Day 5? I am not ready to believe that 1300 runs were scored in the 1st 4 days (with 5 100s and a 100 in each innings by Warner, one of the worst players against spin) and suddenly it became a square turner on day 5. You are hyping up that VK knock for no reason. No batsmen can stick together a 200 run partnership on a rank turner like Vijay and Kohli did that day. The greatest partnership on a rank turner I have seen was the one by VVS-SRT in Mumbai 2004 and that was just a 94 run partnership against Hauritz and Michael Clarke. Do you really believe that Vijay and VK are that much better than SRT-VVS against spin or Hauritz-Clarke duo is that much better than Lyon? If indeed Vijay and Kohli were that great that day I wonder why (esp Kohli) couldn't replicate their success in Nagpur 2015, Mohali 2015, Pune 2017, Bengaluru 2017............ In those turners (except 2nd innings of Bengaluru) our team aggregate itself wasn't even close 200 !!!!! Vijay has played some vital knocks on square turners but Kohli has failed in every single innings he has played on a rank turner. The Adelaide win by Australia was because of 2 things: 1. We choked badly near the finishing line. 2. Lyon was brilliant that day as he has been against us his entire career, I think he is someone who brings out his best against us. Moreover we had a period in 2013-15 where we simply couldn't play off spin. Moeen Ali destroyed us in England, Duminy troubled us in SA and Lyon is a far far superior bowler to those 2. I remember a few threads during that period lamenting our decline against off spin bowling. We were so clueless against off spin during that period that it isn't surprising we lost to Lyon on day 5. I stand by my statement that it wasn't a square turner, at max it was a like a typical day 4 Indian pitch. By day 4/5 it started turning a lot. Such things happen: Mumbai 2016 was a nice bouncy flat track for 2 sessions on day 1 which is when england piled on. Then it started progressively turning a lot. Chennai 2013 though turned from ball one. Sydney 2015 (4th test) was a patta on first 3 days (no spin or seam) but turned big on day 4/5. Ashwin recorded 1/145 and 4/100 in 2 innings. In the second innings he took 4 out of 5 wickets.. Edited December 5, 2017 by sensible-indian GoldenSun 1
cric_fan Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 No. He does not have the backup...maybe if Stokes was around..then there was a chance. GoldenSun 1
Austin 3:!6 Posted December 5, 2017 Author Posted December 5, 2017 13 minutes ago, cric_fan said: No. He does not have the backup...maybe if Stokes was around..then there was a chance. Mr.Headbutt and Bhai is still there?
sandeep Posted December 5, 2017 Posted December 5, 2017 2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: That umpiring blunder against Rahane cost us the game. Please don't excuse away Rohit "tailunt" Sharma's failure either. If ever there was an opportunity for Rohit the test batsman to redeem himself, this was it. Predictably he shriveled up and limped off.