Kohli should be sacked if Rahul is dropped in SA series

Should have been sacked the day Kumble resigned. But he cleverly avoided it. There can not be any bigger reason than that now.

No one in Indian team management apart feom Dada has balls to say/do anything against Kohli.

17 hours ago, wanted_desi said:

Gabbar Gabbar Gabbar

He will be shown door regardless, there is something fishy going on in the team. Maybe KL Rahul supported Kumble? 

You can see how they have already started saying experience and Left Hand/Right Hand combination will determine the opening combo. Not ability to play seam bowling or bounce.

Experience is not a bad thing, but your experience has average of 19 in Eng/SA/AUS. 

I can confirm that there is some serious politics going on. I have friends who get inside info.

However it's hard to gauge to what extent politics plays in team selection as everyone's image and reputation is on line. It's like this: If you piss people off but you are undroppable, then no one can do anything to you. However if there is a valid reason (even a semi valid reason), you can get booted out.

For example:

1. Ashwin paid the price for talking smack about Dhoni's captaincy in SA. He was dropped for NZ series (justified) but wasn't picked in England even though opposition had like tons of lefties.

2. Ashwin and Saha have openly supported Kumble. The former's viewpoint wasn't appreciated by Kohli I was told recently. Add to the fact that Ashwin again talked about Dhoni to Kohli which didn't go too well with the latter.

3. From the bonding players have, I always got the feeling Ashwin, Pujara, Rahul and Saha were one set. Dunno about others. It's possible Rahul was in Kumble gang which pissed off Kohli. 

4. I have read reports that Kumble wanted Kuldeep to play in 4th test which Kohli wasn't too keen for it. We always see Kuldeep making way for others (Axar....seriously?) every now and then.

5. Rohit gets promoted for test cricket every chance they get. 

All of the moves (except Rahul's case) can be explained away cos people who run the Indian team are smart and know when to do what. They won't make it look obvious though.

All this might look like conspiracy theories (maybe it is as half truths can be misleading) but what appears outside may not be what really is happening inside. For example - Inspite of what Dhoni does when it comes to player management, as a person, I heard he is a nice guy. Ashwin for all the intellectual talks he gives to media, can be an A grade brainless moron at times.

So you never know.

Edited by sensible-indian

Lol...I think it is a little too much now. 

There will always be personal liked and dislikes of a captain. It happens in every sport. Cannot believe the wonder boy of Indian cricket is turning into a villain for everyone because of selection. Too much yaar.

He is not a great captain by the looks of it, but we are still winning. One player not getting selected in the playing XI should not be bigger than the team. He is still part of the scheme and plays on and off. He just has to wait for his chance. If others perform and India wins, what is the problem?

6 minutes ago, Shunya said:

There will always be personal liked and dislikes of a captain. It happens in every sport. Cannot believe the wonder boy of Indian cricket is turning into a villain for everyone because of selection. Too much yaar.

He is not a great captain by the looks of it, but we are still winning. One player not getting selected in the playing XI should not be bigger than the team. He is still part of the scheme and plays on and off. He just has to wait for his chance. If others perform and India wins, what is the problem?

No it doesn't happen in any sport. At least not in cricket.

Can you give any other example where a proven performer, in-form batsman is dropped? 

What you are thinking of cases where worse players have replaced average/half decent players. But I can't recall any other case where a player after such performances is dropped.

Same thing happened with Pujara.

16 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Can you give any other example where a proven performer, in-form batsman is dropped? 

What you are thinking of cases where worse players have replaced average/half decent players. But I can't recall any other case where a player after such performances is dropped.

Problem isn't with likes and dislikes - of course they will enter the picture if things are 50-50.   But the yardstick is clearly different when it comes to certain players.  If Pujara had a run against Australia like Kohli did, you can bet he would have been dropped for Rohit a while back already. 

If we are considering 6 batsmen in SA,  Rahul deserves to be played ahead of Rohit.   And its pretty much a black and white situation, there are no shades of grey there.

4 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Problem isn't with likes and dislikes - of course they will enter the picture if things are 50-50.   But the yardstick is clearly different when it comes to certain players.  If Pujara had a run against Australia like Kohli did, you can bet he would have been dropped for Rohit a while back already. 

If we are considering 6 batsmen in SA,  Rahul deserves to be played ahead of Rohit.   And its pretty much a black and white situation, there are no shades of grey there.

Yes, that's the problem. 

It's not the problem of talent, potential and edge cases anymore. Kohli is yet to cross average of 20 in any of our difficult series and here we player who are actually performing in away matches, difficult pitches, flat pitches, opening and middle order and yet aren't cementing their places.

I can confirm that there is some serious politics going on. I have friends who get inside info.

However it's hard to gauge to what extent politics plays in team selection as everyone's image and reputation is on line. It's like this: If you piss people off but you are undroppable, then no one can do anything to you. However if there is a valid reason (even a semi valid reason), you can get booted out.

For example:

1. Ashwin paid the price for talking smack about Dhoni's captaincy in SA. He was dropped for NZ series (justified) but wasn't picked in England even though opposition had like tons of lefties.

2. Ashwin and Saha have openly supported Kumble. The former's viewpoint wasn't appreciated by Kohli I was told recently. Add to the fact that Ashwin again talked about Dhoni to Kohli which didn't go too well with the latter.

3. From the bonding players have, I always got the feeling Ashwin, Pujara, Rahul and Saha were one set. Dunno about others. It's possible Rahul was in Kumble gang which pissed off Kohli. 

4. I have read reports that Kumble wanted Kuldeep to play in 4th test which Kohli wasn't too keen for it. We always see Kuldeep making way for others (Axar....seriously?) every now and then.

All of the moves (except Rahul's case) can be explained away cos people who run the Indian team are smart and know when to do what. They won't make it look obvious though.

All this might look like conspiracy theories (maybe it is as half truths can be misleading) but what appears outside may not be what really is happening inside. For example - Inspite of Dhoni does when it comes to player management, as a person, I heard he is a nice guy. Ashwin for all the intellectual talks he gives to media, can be an A grade brainless moron at times.

So you never know.

I stil believe (and also opened a thread here) that Kohli & co intentionally drop the CT Final match to boot Kumble out. And my 6th sense mostly comes right.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Rahul, Vijay, Pujara should be obviously selections...

The choice is between Dhawan and Rohit...

For tests I mean

Edited by bowl_out
1 hour ago, sensible-indian said:

For example:

All this might look like conspiracy theories (maybe it is as half truths can be misleading) but what appears outside may not be what really is happening inside. For example - Inspite of Dhoni does when it comes to player management, as a person, I heard he is a nice guy. Ashwin for all the intellectual talks he gives to media, can be an A grade brainless moron at times.

So you never know.

Why except Rahuls case ? you know who matters ? millions of T20/ODI fans on twitter and Insta who dont give **** about Tests . KL being dropped is a non issue .

You dont play the guy in T20s and ODIs , people will just forget him . its that simple . 

The most imp thing for KL is probably a good IPL season , unfortunately its come to that . 

22 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

I feel conspiracy theories are not true. Though I am not a big fan of Captain Kohli and his management, I will give them benefit of doubt that they gave into their personal bias of Dhawan over Rahul. And that too is not very bad move because Shikhar is in form which is fact. If he is not performing and still being persisted then its a big problem. And even bigger point is if your team is winning with the selected team, I am sure its tough to make changes as a captain. 

43 minutes ago, Shunya said:

Dropped VJ for Dhawan

Pujara for Rohit 

Dhawan for KL 

These would be no brainer selections for our test team, hes messing up with careers of established / potentially great players . I have never seen this happen in Indian cricket . These are not marginal calls where a captain can have a preference . All these guys are pretty close to Virats class or better in Test matches . 

15 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

I stil believe (and also opened a thread here) that Kohli & co intentionally drop the CT Final match to boot Kumble out. And my 6th sense mostly comes right.

that's pretty dumb.  Who is included in co? Kohli and who?

17 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

No sir , we where just bad on that day . VK plays to win I wouldnt question his integrity, hes just emotional which is his weakness .