Why left wing people consider themselves as intellectuals ???

velu

14 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

The general notion on this thread is: Those who study arts = leftists.

You people couldn't be further away from the truth.

Not exactly, but most of them are double graduate holders in social sciences, Humanitics and language arts. It could be a wider range than Arts, but includes philosophy, anthropology, law etc. Since you are a fan of Salman Khan, you can't be classified as an intellectual. Otherwise, you are. 

5 minutes ago, velu said:

nope .. i meant those useless degrees .. more than that i dont see any practical reason for doing masters other than going to collage for 2/3 days a week just for  timepass

Velu anna, with all due respect, you have some huge misconceptions here.

Arts students have a lot to study. Getting mentors for dissertations isn't easy. Getting funding isn't easy. Getting good scores isn't easy. Engineering is a lot more rote learning than Arts.

Those 'useless' degrees that you talk about, like the one you mentioned in your OP. That is from TISS. I know of people who been absorbed by the Niti Ayog after their MA in Public Policy. Some of them are hired as consultants by McKinsey/BCG for policy projects. Some others who have gone on to do similar programs in good American universities. Many make it to TAS also.

56 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Are you being sarcastic?

Learning Java/Python, in your opinion, is grounded in social reality? Or learning how a transformer works brings you closer to reality?

Not social but definitely real world systems in the cases you mentioned. Arts on the other hand offer options which are imaginary all along.

57 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

By 'commie', you mean of immense comic value, don't you? There is nothing communist like in the Indian left.

Hain ? (The desi form of I'm sorry/pardon me)

This time you're surely being sarcastic. 

Or maybe you're claiming theoretically communism is xyz which isn't represented by Indian left, to which I say, never mind. 

3 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Those 'useless' degrees that you talk about, like the one you mentioned in your OP. That is from TISS. I know of people who been absorbed by the Niti Ayog after their MA in Public Policy. Some of them are hired as consultants by McKinsey/BCG for policy projects. Some others who have gone on to do similar programs in good American universities. Many make it to TAS also.

most of that gang is doing their studies  in tata institute  :woot: 

anyway they dont seem to be bright ..  i have to tell them that hefewizen beer is a wheat beer :no:

another dumbass odered ipa and was cribbing that the beer was bitter   :lol:

41 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

:hysterical::hysterical: Arts students have a lot to study

Most of the Arts students that I have come across couldn't even solve a simple quadratic equation to save their lives and simple concepts of Physics were like Rocket Science to them.

All the laloos who barely passed Dasvi Kaksha with 40-50 % opted for  arts. 

Ekdum minnow mentality hua karti thi enki. During SSC results,   Science lene wale students 85% lakar bhi dukhi hote the ki 5 % aur mil jata kitna acha hota,  Aur Arts lene wale toh 45% pe bhi Aisa celebrate karte the jaise Merit List main naam aa gaya Ho. 

Edited by rageaddict

If you’re not a communist at the age of 20, you haven’t got a heart.
If you’re still a communist at the age of 30, you haven’t got a brain.

The thing is, we all are left minded at some stage of our life because our text books are written in such a way which makes us lean towards left model. Then something happens , we grow up , start meeting people of different backgrounds, see lot of places, become more realistic, practical and find that left thinking is very very idealistic and actually not practical. The people who are very stubborn find it very hard to change their opinion so they go back to books just to convince themselves what they thought all along was correct. And when they have read too many books they start thinking themselves as intellectual.

Remember, The world is designed in such a way that you will always find proof of whatever your viewpoint is.

I personally know some people who have MA in History and MA in economics. They are what you would call polar opposite of a left winger. 

They are Associated with a very popular Indian nationalistic organization.

So that is probably a stereotype. 

I have a stereotype of my own based on my personal experience., most bongs I have come across don’t go the conventional Engineering  route that most South Indians take. Most of them have unique degrees like MA in statistics or MA double mathematics or Econoimcs etc etc. maybe that is why people are associating arts with left wing.

Edited by maniac

18 hours ago, Dil Dil India said:

Not sure who said that, but in general the ultra-lefties do useless degrees(speaking in a U.S context here) like lesbian dance theory, gender theory lol.

Lesbian dance theory or gender theory are also fields. Humanity demands to have knowledge about all fields without prejudice. If LW people are doing it, then I fully support it. And if RW people/parents opposing it or humiliating it, then I condemn this attitude. 

THE WHOLE PICTURE:

LW is not only ahead in ARTS, but also in Sciences. All in all, LW is much more educated in all fields. 

While RW mostly consist of the Ignorant Masses, especially in our 3rd world country. They are poorer not only in arts, but also in the sciences as compared to the LW.

LW has always shown it has more capacity to THINK. And this is what makes them wiser. It is enough to say that Great Buddah was a LW libertard Sickularist due to his capacity of "thinking". 

While RW has always dominated the animal trait i.e. use of power in order to achieve the personal goals. And they were the most successful in the past. 

Nevertheless, future belongs to the LW.

Off course at moment RW is becoming stronger everywhere, especially due to reaction to Islamic extremism. But I hope it is their last time, as fire once go big before being extinguished. 

Edited by Alam_dar

Actually, the main question should be how are Indian Muslims considered as left wingers? In true sense, they still represent the extreme right. Next, BJP and their supporters should not call themselves as RWs. They have a extremely open policies cultural and even business trade with other countries. It's a strategic mistake by BJPians to label themselves as RWs.

It's hilarious reading this thread as it displays your typical RW attitude. 

Behaving like know-it-alls, condescending others while spouting nonsense.

Also laughable to see the ridiculous generalisations such as LWs all study arts. Then followed by the assertion that studying arts is pointless, like these people don't watch movies or listen to music, I'd add, appreciate art or books, but you can judge by the responses they probably don't do that because it'd fall under LW feminazi, socialist, communist, arty-farty nonsense.

It's sad we live in a time where there's no compromise of ideas because no existing system of government works for all. There's tribal behaviour that's come to grow even more. It's like it's impossible for the other team to have any good ideas.

People are willing to screw themselves just so they claim to have got one over on the other team.

17 hours ago, maniac said:

I personally know some people who have MA in History and MA in economics. They are what you would call polar opposite of a left winger. 

people studying economics cannot be termed as LW , infact if they study economics properly they will turn out to be supporter of capitalism rather than leaning towards communism ..

i precisely mean some courses like what i meant in the OP .. doing MA in dog behavioral analysis wont take them anywhere :lol: 

On 2/25/2019 at 8:09 AM, Moochad said:

They tend to be insecure people who are desperate for attention and give themselves such a label to make themselves feel smarter than they are. Ask them for evidence for what they are saying and they will make all sorts of excuses for why they won't give it or will ask you to prove them wrong.

They are the physical embodiments of the Dunning-Kruger effect 

I guess analysis paralysis is also apt here too. They just intellectualize terrorist attacks to suit their utopian worldview.

14 minutes ago, velu said:

people studying economics cannot be termed as LW , infact if they study economics properly they will turn out to be supporter of capitalism rather than leaning towards communism ..

i precisely mean some courses like what i meant in the OP .. doing MA in dog behavioral analysis wont take them anywhere :lol: 

They can protest in some rally though :phehe: Complaining and whining is part of behavioral studies :bawling:

2 hours ago, Sachinism said:

Also laughable to see the ridiculous generalisations such as LWs all study arts. Then followed by the assertion that studying arts is pointless, like these people don't watch movies or listen to music, I'd add, appreciate art or books, but you can judge by the responses they probably don't do that because it'd fall under LW feminazi, socialist, communist, arty-farty nonsense.

you have some serious reading comprehensions :lol: 

i will quote my OP again for you .. i generalized that LW are dumb , i have not generalized all LW study arts :rotfl: 

you can update your rant after reading it again :phehe:

On 2/25/2019 at 4:35 PM, velu said:

:hmmmm2:

Probably most of the dumbest people i have ever come across are these so called left leaning intellectuals . 

Last week met few guys in one shady pub , and all are close to 30 or 30+ guys/aunties studying something like " MA Social Work in Livelihoods and Social Entrepreneurship "  ( this i copy pasted from their FB profile ) ..  :lol:

1 hour ago, velu said:

you have some serious reading comprehensions :lol: 

i will quote my OP again for you .. i generalized that LW are dumb , i have not generalized all LW study arts :rotfl: 

you can update your rant after reading it again :phehe:

Pull your head out of your ... and you'll see there are other posters in this thread other than you

10 minutes ago, Sachinism said:

Pull your head out of your ... and you'll see there are other posters in this thread other than you

ok...

what about your generalizations about RW ? .. considering you as a leftie/commie you should be smart/intelligent enough not to generalize like us RW? :cantstop: 

4 hours ago, someone said:

Actually, the main question should be how are Indian Muslims considered as left wingers? In true sense, they still represent the extreme right. Next, BJP and their supporters should not call themselves as RWs. They have a extremely open policies cultural and even business trade with other countries. It's a strategic mistake by BJPians to label themselves as RWs.

Top comment

8 hours ago, someone said:

Actually, the main question should be how are Indian Muslims considered as left wingers?

Yes, at their own, they are RW. But in the Indian political context, they represent the LW. 
As compared to main religious based RW,  ALL the other MINORITIES automatically become the LW.  The religious based RW does not have the capability to unite the minorities with itself. 

Next, BJP and their supporters should not call themselves as RWs. They have a extremely open policies cultural and even business trade with other countries. It's a strategic mistake by BJPians to label themselves as RWs.

I believe BJP should stop promoting Yogi type people and stop supporting any other kind of extremist policies. 

The beef ban was totally unnecessary. It hurt BJP. Not only Muslims, but all minorities were against this, including large number of Secular Hindus too. This thing could never be called "open cultural/business policies". This is exactly the opposite to it. 

The problem with RW is also this that the RW of one country/religion does not like the RW of other country/religion. 

This same thing is true for India. Internationally, the RW Indian government is not liked by the people. They get very negative image of India