How does VC Rahane manage to evade scrutiny?

Future of his place in the side  

41 members have voted

1. 1. Should he be selected for Aus series?

57 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Deep dive into stats...  Rahane is our best middle order bat since 2019..  Miles ahead of Pujara & Lolli. 

Rahane might be hahane majority of the times but still better than two free loaders.  

Rahane has one 100 and 2 50s.

On 8/10/2021 at 8:33 AM, neel roy said:

Issue with Rahane

Short bowling : he gets scared and gets out. Neil Wagner can testify

Ridiculous dismissals: he gets out in all ridiculous way possible. Leg side glance, run outs

Overall lacks the mental strength.. 

also lacks physical strength. have you see that "great" reed-like physique?

On 8/29/2021 at 10:59 PM, diga said:

Probably for the first time cricinfo has a discussion about dropping Rahane - "Time for India to look beyond Rahane?" 

Cricinfo seems to really like him for some reason. His physique and looks exert a strange pull over them.

6 minutes ago, The Realist said:

Rahane had a torrid time in England, scoring a paltry 109 runs from seven innings. He averaged just 15.57 in the series with a high score of 61. Rahane was outscored by the likes of Ravindra Jadeja and Shardul Thakur with even Bumrah averaging more than the middle-order batter.

:pop2:

Our epic test series win in Australia earlier this year,  under his captaincy might hv done more long term damage than we could imagine.    This under performer is likely to retain his spot for some more time.    Can't think of any reason other than this, for retaining him in the squad.  

1 hour ago, The Realist said:

Rahane had a torrid time in England, scoring a paltry 109 runs from seven innings. He averaged just 15.57 in the series with a high score of 61. Rahane was outscored by the likes of Ravindra Jadeja and Shardul Thakur with even Bumrah averaging more than the middle-order batter.

:pop2:

i lost sympathy for him when he got out for duck i guess on day 4 oval test on a pitch flatter than rajkot. I couldn’t believe my eyes. He got out twice one saved by drs and next plumb lbw. It was bright sunshine perfect batting conditions and even bumrah made merry..

kya aadmi hai ye, has set such a low benchmark for himself :wall:

Ajinkya Rahane was not amused with questions related to his poor form, insisting that concerns about his lean patch are unfounded and contribution doesn't mean a Test hundred in every game.

Rahane, who averages 19 in 11 Test matches this year, seemed under visible pressure as he reasoned that even a '30, 40 or 50' from a specialist top-order batter would be an acceptable contribution provided the team wins.

"Not concerned about my form. My job is to contribute as much as possible for my team. Contribution doesn't mean that you need to score 100 in each game. Scores of 30, 40, 50 per innings are also important contributions," stand-in captain Rahane said ahead of the first Test against New Zealand, starting in Kanpur on Thursday.

https://www.rediff.com/cricket/report/contribution-doesnt-mean-you-score-100-in-each-game-rahane-nz-tour/20211124.htm