Kohli’s contribution in building the Indian test bowling attack?

maniac

30 minutes ago, Forever Indian said:

What about playing Siraj and Saini in T20s and ODIs although they have been performing in longer format mainly in domestics and A tours? Both are yet to play a Test under Kohli.

Also, have a look at my previous post and let me know your thoughts. Just because he does PR saying he likes Fast bowlers doesn't mean he know how to develop them

He is not the brightest bulb in the pack and keeps making mistakes ... nor does he believe in or know how to handle youngsters. 

I have pointed out the not debuting Siraj and Saini in tests and introducing them via T20s countless times.

I am not saying that he is responsible for either the introduction or the quality of Bumrah or Shami.

But one thing Kohli has done is he has not played any trundlers in tests in his tenure. And he has created a culture of fitness in team India which has helped our quicks sustain pace and intensity throughout the day. 

That, by itself, is a big achievement for an Indian captain. 

Edited by express bowling
39 minutes ago, Forever Indian said:

Let's do an analysis of what Kohli has done with these bowlers:

Umesh - Always plays one or two tests at start of series in SENA and then booted when he gets spanked and the cycle repeats again

You are having some unreasonable expectations. While a lot is true as i have said about impatience, you can't have a bowler who is spraying consistently in a test series to play again and again.

You guys have said similar stuff about Shaw that he needs to be dropped. And I agree he needs to be then why judge Kohli when he drops other fast bowlers who have been leaking runs. Sometimes you have to given batsman and bowlers both times. 

I want Saini to be given chance next game, but if he bowls extremely bad, I am fine if he is not picked again if he bowls bad in two test matches in a row and is struggling in both of them as long as he gets to bowl good share of overs in a full test match which has not been affected by rain. 

We were all tired of Umesh at a time too. So let's not look at past and say" oh Kohli did not bowl Umesh continuously and stuff and dropped him." We are just being too picky because right now its a trend to lament and talk trash about Kohli. He supported same Umesh to play at home. You can't keep playing a player who is doing bad for the country overseas, you just can't. Chances are to be given but if player is not performing you have to change. 

15 minutes ago, express bowling said:

But one thing Kohli has done is he has not played any trundlers in tests in his tenure. And he has created a culture of fitness in team India which has helped our quicks sustain pace and intensity throughout the day. 

Horses for courses and not trying to make any janta happy is what I feel he has done right. Many of his moves did not work, but a lot has worked in test cricket. 

12 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Horses for courses and not trying to make any janta happy is what I feel he has done right. Many of his moves did not work, but a lot has worked in test cricket. 

There is a lot of pressure from many quarters to play the current flavour of the season. 

I am sure many Indian captains would have played someone like a Gurbani bowling 125 k.

But Kohli had a vision of having 5 pacers who bowl 140 k+ with skills in test matches. He had said this to Harsha in Australia in late 2014, after he took up captaincy. He said that if we can come to Australia next time with 5 quality 140 k+ bowlers, we can win. And win he did in 2018-19, using his fast bowling battery.

Despite his many flaws as a captain ( which keep pissing me off ), I will always remember this very positive aspect of Captain Kohli.

Edited by express bowling
16 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Even picking a guy like Karn Sharma who was a wrist spinner over Ashwin was done with right intentions IMO. No captains wants sprayguns and Kohli is no exception. He has cultivated the importance of fast bowlers even in Indian and sub continent tests.

All fast bowlers have done very well under him.Unlike any captain in Indian history he has placed importance over fitness and making sure his fast bowlers are effective even in their third spells.

We all know what happened when Zak left after opening spell in 2011 , Dhoni acted as if he had no other bowlers.Same thing happened with Dhoni when Ishant was out after Lords test in 2014. Compare it to Ishant and Shami being out from the team now.

Edited by putrevus
5 minutes ago, express bowling said:

There is a lot of pressure from many quarters to play the current flavour of the season. 

I am sure many Indian captains would have played someone like a Gurbani bowling 125 k.

But Kohli had a vision of having 5 pacers who bowl 140 k+ with skills in test matches. He had said this to Harsha in Australia in late 2014, after he took up captaincy. He said that if we can come to Australia next time with 5 quality 140 k+ bowlers, we can win. And win he did in 2018-19, using his fast bowling battery.

Despite his many flaws as a captain ( which keep pissing me off ), I will always remember this very positive aspect of Captain Kohli.

Well said, people come out and start talking about PR and stuff easily but no one recommends who should be the captain. When a player is backed ,then Kohli becomes "oh he doesn't give chance to youngster." and when player plays 2 test matches and is put aside so that the next bowler can be played, then people say  "he uses and throws them out of the team fast and doesn't give them proper chance"

People need to that there are limited games in a series and if we are down in a series, we have to try different things. A test matches is knock like a t20 where bowler just bowls 4 overs. A good sample of fast bowling is seen and then a player is dropped along with what impact a player has had throughout the test match over 2 innings of his bowling.

9 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Even picking a guy like Karn Sharma who was a wrist spinner over Ashwin was done with right intentions IMO. No captains wants spraysgun and Kohli is no exception. He has cultivated the importance of fast bowlers even in Indian and sub continent tests.

All fast bowlers have done very well under him.Unlike any captain in Indian history he has placed importance over fitness and making sure his fast bowlers are effective even in their third spells.

We all know what happened when Zak left after opening spell in 2011 , Dhoni acted as if he had no other bowlers.Same thing happened with Dhoni when Ishant was out after Lords test in 2014. Compare it to Ishant and Shami being out from the team now.

Dhoni has played extra spinner on grounds when we needed to play a regular fast bowler. He was always a spinners captain for me and will always remains that. His changes are better than Dhoni and hence he clicked better in ODI'S. Kohli is your old school captain who backs fast bowling and hence he has had success more in test than ODI'S. To me Kohli needs to leave ODI captaincy for someone else and also the t20. I just want him to play as a batsman. He has done some good things there but it is not working for the team so time to move on from captaincy there.

In Test, our janta who wants him to be removed first needs to find the right candidate. This same janta also wanted Rahane out of the team who has been backed by Kohli big time. So they first need to pick a captain other than Rahane that means.

1 minute ago, Cricketics said:

Well said, people come out and start talking about PR and stuff easily but no one recommends who should be the captain. When a player is backed ,then Kohli becomes "oh he doesn't give chance to youngster." and when player plays 2 test matches and is put aside so that the next bowler can be played, then people say  "he uses and throws them out of the team fast and doesn't give them proper chance"

People need to that there are limited games in a series and if we are down in a series, we have to try different things. A test matches is knock like a t20 where bowler just bowls 4 overs. A good sample of fast bowling is seen and then a player is dropped along with what impact a player has had throughout the test match over 2 innings of his bowling.

The negative thing about him is his man magament skills. Forget Youngsters, even his colleagues look Uncomfortable around him. I am not saying he is a bad guy, but he just has a different intensity about him. On the other hand look at the body language of players around Rahane and Rohit.

Some of the greatest captains ever were not master strategists, they were great with their colleagues especially   youngsters eg; Imran Khan,Dhoni,Ganguly,Alan Border etc.

The youngsters from their team still talk about them

I think Kohli lacks this aspect. He thinks what works for him works for everyone and automatically everyone has the same temperament and intensity like him. That doesn’t happen with youngsters.

13 minutes ago, maniac said:

The negative thing about him is his man magament skills. Forget Youngsters, even his colleagues look Uncomfortable around him. I am not saying he is a bad guy, but he just has a different intensity about him. On the other hand look at the body language of players around Rahane and Rohit.

Thats alll relative and objective. It could be few but many don't. who knows. I know fast bowlers have come out and praised him in the past so they do feel comfortable. May be few might not. Not everyone is liked by everyone. Hence to my point "he doesn't catapin to make everyone happy".  And that is how it should be you can't work and thinking of making everyone happy. You however, can look to make everyone comfortable and I hope Kohli is doing that. I am not going to judge him or Dhoni  or Dravid, or Ganguly for making anyone uncomfortable when we don't know what happens inside dressing room. 

I would like to see a new captain though at some point sooner. If we win in South Africa which we should, I think after that we need a new captain for all formats, including test. I am all for Gill or someone being recommended for the job there. We have to appoint some of these  guys as captain early in t20 or ODI'S. For now, if you ask me who I will give captaincy to. for me there is only one player who can replace kohli as test captain and that is Jaspreet  Bumrah. No Rahane, No Pujara, no Ashwin, but Bumrah actually. He is just 27 years old, can easily captain us in test. 

ODI we need to look to prepare either Gill, Iyer or someone from the younger lot. I even feel someone as young as Yashavi Jaiswal should be given a chance in ODI's soon by next summer. I have hopes  from  him like I  have from Gill. He could very welll be our future test captain - Gill and Jaiswal. 

1 hour ago, express bowling said:

He is not the brightest bulb in the pack and keeps making mistakes ... nor does he believe in or know how to handle youngsters. 

I have pointed out the not debuting Siraj and Saini in tests and introducing them via T20s countless times.

I am not saying that he is responsible for either the introduction or the quality of Bumrah or Shami.

Okay, I agree on the highlighted part. But again thanfully likes of Shami, Bumrah, Ishant matured into refined bowlers with experience else there may have been Merry Go Round done with the Fast bowlers as well.

1 hour ago, Cricketics said:

You are having some unreasonable expectations. While a lot is true as i have said about impatience, you can't have a bowler who is spraying consistently in a test series to play again and again.

You guys have said similar stuff about Shaw that he needs to be dropped. And I agree he needs to be then why judge Kohli when he drops other fast bowlers who have been leaking runs. Sometimes you have to given batsman and bowlers both times. 

I want Saini to be given chance next game, but if he bowls extremely bad, I am fine if he is not picked again if he bowls bad in two test matches in a row and is struggling in both of them as long as he gets to bowl good share of overs in a full test match which has not been affected by rain. 

We were all tired of Umesh at a time too. So let's not look at past and say" oh Kohli did not bowl Umesh continuously and stuff and dropped him." We are just being too picky because right now its a trend to lament and talk trash about Kohli. He supported same Umesh to play at home. You can't keep playing a player who is doing bad for the country overseas, you just can't. Chances are to be given but if player is not performing you have to change. 

I am not the greatest fan of playing Umesh in SENA as I feel we have much better players and youngsters who can do well well in SENA. But the least that is expected of a Captain is to back whatever your picks are for a certain length of time. And this is not just one instance, he has done that with various players. 

28 minutes ago, Forever Indian said:

I am not the greatest fan of playing Umesh in SENA as I feel we have much better players and youngsters who can do well well in SENA. But the least that is expected of a Captain is to back whatever your picks are for a certain length of time. And this is not just one instance, he has done that with various players. 

Back in 2013, the same things were said about Ishant. There is even a meme about how he sprays even while peeing. Umesh can certainly make a comeback in SENA , he has the pace and work regimen to follow. He needs to be backed just like Ishant was backed so much that it is a joke that we are missing Ishant now!

3 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Lol at Kohli building fast bowlers.  Shami Bhuvi were all there in 2014-15 time period..  As they became experienced they improved.  Aaron played in SL in 2015 & then was gone literally even lord Stuart Binny was picked by lolli in a freakin test. 

Bumrah was not developed by Kohli..  Ishant was already seasoned..  Worked on himself & came back. 

What a Myth that Kohli developed fast bowlers lol..  Credit to the system & coaches.  

Kohli's biggest gift is focus on fitness.

7 hours ago, Cricketics said:

Bumrah was no where in the scene for  test matches. He was labeled as t20 specialist not long ago. Yes, his selection in the test side was asked for by few on ICF but overall Bumrah was still a t20 bowler until few years ago. No expert or commentators would even talk about Bumrah on air or about his selection in test cricket, barring people on ICf or social media. Kohli and TM pushed for his selection and the rest is history. That alone selection and backing of Umesh Yadav where our seamers even dominated our spinners at home created sort of a fast bowling culture and influencedthe competition among many. 

His love for fast bowling has been good for Indian cricket and hence people wanted/want him to lead test. His non selection or showing less patience with youngsters are reasons which disappoint many though, especially that stems from his oor ODI selections.

Bumrah played first class cricket room go have a look. He had a record of 22 in first class and that's what got him picked. Yes IPL definitely helped. 

10 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Curious to know why it is so funny? Certainly Bumrah in tests was his push. Also responsible for overusing Bumrah as well. 

12 hours ago, maniac said:

whats your view?

13 hours ago, maniac said:

is this a case of him being at the right place at the time?

Its mostly this .

But 2 areas where he deserves credit

• Introducing fitness culture which is pretty much for all team and also upto individual , someone like Shami choose to do it in desi way and then their are guys like Rohit, Raina, Shaw, ashwin in team whose fitness didnt improve instead regressed 
  • Giving these guys a free hand , dhoni became a lil bit of control freak but then again kohli cud afford coz all of them were at their peak and under dhoni they were new

Saying Kohli transformed this fast bowling unit is an easy headline for readers who dont like to dig deep 

Its like same when Ganguly had the best batting lineup together , similarly they all just came in together at the peak of their game and fitness.

Bumrah case - Like Ganguly bought in sehwag , Kohli bought bumrah but ganguly thought was that sehwag was to good a batsman to sit out and even he didnt anticipate the phenomenan he became in test. Now having observed kohli n shastri for a long time i have my doubt that it was their vision that they pushed Bumrah. Bumrah was doing so well in LOI that he was going to pushed in test as it always happens in Indian cricket. Surely they wud have felt that this guy can do well in test but is that enough to give credit . Ganguly was ready to back sehwag for a long time incase he failed but knowing these 2 i have my doubts . I dont think they wud have backed bumrah had he failed , i mean they havent backed anyone. Bumrah never needed backing coz he was spot on from Day-1. With ganguly we all know that he fought with selectors for sehwag but not sure if that was the case with bumrah coz if these had vision i just cant beileve how siraj n saini have been wasted for 2 yrs for shardul sometimes as well. A captains true test in terms of building is when he needs to back someone during failures. Siraj is another example whose right format they couldnt understand. Ill give another example during 2017 Ind-Aus home series they called Aniket.C as net bowler to replicate starc and he trouble kohli in nets. Kohli was so imprssed with his red ball bowling that he asked RCB to buy him at any cost . Well end result was mismatch.  So i have my doubts about their vision in first place

Umesh, Aaron- Dhoni biggest criticism was when he criticized these 2 in public. We all felt he isnt able to use them properly but my opinion changed regd this over the years as no captain can do anything if ur bowler bowls against the field .  Umesh was always good in subcontinet , shami and umesh just didnt play much under dhoni in India or else they wud have been same yea less experienced though. Any captain will prefer bowler who can bowl acc to field, yea with pace its difficult to control but u cant be this much off the target thats Shoaibh n lee did better then Sami n tait . 

Saini and Siraj- If Kohli really had the vision for fast bowling these 2 wudnt have been wasted for 2 yrs .

Dhoni n Kohli having same unit- well players were in different phases. The shami, ishant dhoni had is different to what kohli has. When ishant burst on scene and did well for a yr he did well under dhoni only.  Same yuvraj singh was a different player under all different captains , so it depends at what phase u get a player in. Now they have ashwin who has understood how to bowl overseas similarly Ganguly n dravid had kumble who by that time understood how to be force overseas. 

Kohli has much better 5th bowler in test overseas- Dhoni started this idea but he had binny, luckily kohli didnt have to do much with binny as soon he had pandya and Jadeja kept improving 

Building this unit - How ???

• Shami was always good with just 2 problems fitness and maturity. Maturity comes with experience and fitness came after he was dropped. 
  • Bhuvi- Lost his swing bowling in ODI, T20 was always good....fitness helped in increasing his pace which we can give kohli credit for 
  • Umesh - Still same, sucks in LOI and in test only good in India
  • Aaron- went nowere
  • New ones- Deepak chahar , Natrajan came through IPL , Saini n Siraj have been wasted a lot till now specially siraj in wrong format. 
  • Ishant- his problems were action n wrist position 

This was one of Ishant's problem - nothing to do with dhoni or kohli 

This is ishant record 

2012 161.0 28 529 7 0 0 3/49 75.57 138.00 3.29
2013 187.0 40 578 12 0 0 4/79 48.17 93.50 3.09
2014 346.0 60 1192 38 3 0 7/74 31.37 54.63 3.45
2015 159.0 42 441 14 1 0 5/54 31.50 68.14 2.77
2016 115.0 26 316 11 0 0 2/30 28.73 62.73 2.75
2017 179.3 35 528 14 0 0 3/37 37.71 76.93 2.94
2018 335.0 71 894 41 1 0 5/51 21.80 49.02 2.67
2019 135.4 34 389 25 2 0 5/22 15.56 32.56 2.87
2020 23.2 6 76 5 1 0 5/68 15.20 28.00 3.26

Kohli became captain in 2015 , So If we look from 2012 under dhoni,  ishant started improving a bit from  2013 - from 75 to 48 is improvement . Next 4 yrs it was almost same, now in those 4 yrs 2 were under dhoni and 2 under kohli. So kohli didnt change him ...its around 2013-14 he started going back to his old coach and thing improved a bit.

But his record improved drastically from 2018- Guess what happ in 2018 ??? Ishant went to county and thats where gillespie helped. How can Kohli get credit for that ???

System deserves more credit- its the whole system specially IPL that bought the change . As far as dhoni having same system well IPL came in 2008 any system or infrastructure takes almost a decade to show consistent results . By that time result came dhoni shelf life as captain was over . Mighty Australian foundation was set in 90s by Bob simpson and results showed in 2000s 

6 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Its mostly this .

But 2 areas where he deserves credit

• Introducing fitness culture which is pretty much for all team and also upto individual , someone like Shami choose to do it in desi way and then their are guys like Rohit, Raina, Shaw, ashwin in team whose fitness didnt improve instead regressed 
  • Giving these guys a free hand , dhoni became a lil bit of control freak but then again kohli cud afford coz all of them were at their peak and under dhoni they were new

Saying Kohli transformed this fast bowling unit is an easy headline for readers who dont like to dig deep 

Its like same when Ganguly had the best batting lineup together , similarly they all just came in together at the peak of their game and fitness.

Bumrah case - Like Ganguly bought in sehwag , Kohli bought bumrah but ganguly thought was that sehwag was to good a batsman to sit out and even he didnt anticipate the phenomenan he became in test. Now having observed kohli n shastri for a long time i have my doubt that it was their vision that they pushed Bumrah. Bumrah was doing so well in LOI that he was going to pushed in test as it always happens in Indian cricket. Surely they wud have felt that this guy can do well in test but is that enough to give credit . Ganguly was ready to back sehwag for a long time incase he failed but knowing these 2 i have my doubts . I dont think they wud have backed bumrah had he failed , i mean they havent backed anyone. Bumrah never needed backing coz he was spot on from Day-1. With ganguly we all know that he fought with selectors for sehwag but not sure if that was the case with bumrah coz if these had vision i just cant beileve how siraj n saini have been wasted for 2 yrs for shardul sometimes as well. A captains true test in terms of building is when he needs to back someone during failures. Siraj is another example whose right format they couldnt understand. Ill give another example during 2017 Ind-Aus home series they called Aniket.C as net bowler to replicate starc and he trouble kohli in nets. Kohli was so imprssed with his red ball bowling that he asked RCB to buy him at any cost . Well end result was mismatch.  So i have my doubts about their vision in first place

Umesh, Aaron- Dhoni biggest criticism was when he criticized these 2 in public. We all felt he isnt able to use them properly but my opinion changed regd this over the years as no captain can do anything if ur bowler bowls against the field .  Umesh was always good in subcontinet , shami and umesh just didnt play much under dhoni in India or else they wud have been same yea less experienced though. Any captain will prefer bowler who can bowl acc to field, yea with pace its difficult to control but u cant be this much off the target thats Shoaibh n lee did better then Sami n tait . 

Saini and Siraj- If Kohli really had the vision for fast bowling these 2 wudnt have been wasted for 2 yrs .

Dhoni n Kohli having same unit- well players were in different phases. The shami, ishant dhoni had is different to what kohli has. When ishant burst on scene and did well for a yr he did well under dhoni only.  Same yuvraj singh was a different player under all different captains , so it depends at what phase u get a player in. Now they have ashwin who has understood how to bowl overseas similarly Ganguly n dravid had kumble who by that time understood how to be force overseas. 

Kohli has much better 5th bowler in test overseas- Dhoni started this idea but he had binny, luckily kohli didnt have to do much with binny as soon he had pandya and Jadeja kept improving 

Building this unit - How ???

• Shami was always good with just 2 problems fitness and maturity. Maturity comes with experience and fitness came after he was dropped. 
  • Bhuvi- Lost his swing bowling in ODI, T20 was always good....fitness helped in increasing his pace which we can give kohli credit for 
  • Umesh - Still same, sucks in LOI and in test only good in India
  • Aaron- went nowere
  • New ones- Deepak chahar , Natrajan came through IPL , Saini n Siraj have been wasted a lot till now specially siraj in wrong format. 
  • Ishant- his problems were action n wrist position 

This was one of Ishant's problem - nothing to do with dhoni or kohli 

This is ishant record 

2012 161.0 28 529 7 0 0 3/49 75.57 138.00 3.29
2013 187.0 40 578 12 0 0 4/79 48.17 93.50 3.09
2014 346.0 60 1192 38 3 0 7/74 31.37 54.63 3.45
2015 159.0 42 441 14 1 0 5/54 31.50 68.14 2.77
2016 115.0 26 316 11 0 0 2/30 28.73 62.73 2.75
2017 179.3 35 528 14 0 0 3/37 37.71 76.93 2.94
2018 335.0 71 894 41 1 0 5/51 21.80 49.02 2.67
2019 135.4 34 389 25 2 0 5/22 15.56 32.56 2.87
2020 23.2 6 76 5 1 0 5/68 15.20 28.00 3.26

Kohli became captain in 2015 , So If we look from 2012 under dhoni,  ishant started improving a bit from  2013 - from 75 to 48 is improvement . Next 4 yrs it was almost same, now in those 4 yrs 2 were under dhoni and 2 under kohli. So kohli didnt change him ...its around 2013-14 he started going back to his old coach and thing improved a bit.

But his record improved drastically from 2018- Guess what happ in 2018 ??? Ishant went to county and thats where gillespie helped. How can Kohli get credit for that ???

System deserves more credit- its the whole system specially IPL that bought the change . As far as dhoni having same system well IPL came in 2008 any system or infrastructure takes almost a decade to show consistent results . By that time result came dhoni shelf life as captain was over . Mighty Australian foundation was set in 90s by Bob simpson and results showed in 2000s 

Message was clear from kohli...you bowl fast..you are in team

This kind of changed the mindset of the bowlers.....

I strongly believe that kohli is not a deserving captain but he should be given credit where its due.....he has been bowlers captain...

We starting winning more matches outside India under his captaincy...thats because he plays to win and he pushes his bowlers to take wickets...

42 minutes ago, gakgupta said:

Message was clear from kohli...you bowl fast..you are in team

So how come trundlers were getting selected in team . As far as i can remember last england tour it was thakur who got selected not saini