'We can pick two more teams and win any competition in the world': Hardik Pandya

sage

47 minutes ago, express bowling said:

I would say ...  " inability to pick quality from large quantity ".

We have selectors who don't understand the differences between potential Bumrahs and potential Harshals. 

Right. We do have players to pick at least two good teams if the selections are right like current team against SA. It's a very good second team and it did give good account in the first game. They can be very good if they play together more. 

Edited by rkt.india
44 minutes ago, express bowling said:

We have selectors who don't understand the differences between potential Bumrahs and potential Harshals. 

To great extent I agree..The next gen pacers..I wud still want them to be given little more time and grooming..

I mean definitely give them opportunity but they are not yet on that consistency level..who can take on any team in the world..the quality which Pandya is hoping for..

Preferably they need to  become more polished like Subhman Gill is batting at this stage..

Though with the lack of penetration we have in our bowling currently..we do have a case of rushing new pacers to higher level and give more match practice..

In my opinion our 2nd side is just good enough to beat associate nations or lower ranked teams..primarily because of our bowling woes..which even affects quality of first side struggling with injuries

If our potential picks are groomed well enough then yes in future we can but currently they need some polishing..

Having said that..we have a much much larger pool of bright players than others..

its upto BCCI..can they groom and create 2-3 top quality sides from them or keep letting our 1st choice side struggle because of bowling woes…

Edited by Need4Speed
42 minutes ago, express bowling said:

22 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Right. We do have players to pick at least two good teams if the selections are right like current team against SA. It's a very good second team and it did give good account in the first game. They can be very good if they play together more. 

Well said

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

Even ATG Aus never made such outlandish claims, though there was a period during their period of dominance when I am sure their 2nd string team was the world's 2nd best white ball team as well. 

India has the largest quantity of first class and list a  players, now even premier club level T20 players. So there is some merit in this statement. Like you could put a second or third indian eleven and one of them might win a tournament or all of them loose ( which is more likely). Does it mean everyone is international level no that's not true, India struggles to give good exposure to top talent and even struggles to have 11 international class players at times in each format.

Good bowling will make our 2nd/3rd side winners as well..like Siraj did today..

A good bowling stock will make our 3 sides good or lack of it will make even our premier side mediocre..

SELECTORS/BCCI ARE YOU WATCHING..BHEJE MEIN KUCH GHUSA!!!

Edited by Need4Speed

If the selectirs actually did what selectors are suppose to, going and actually watching matches, picking players on potential not just numbers, guys like Karthik tyagi, umran, prasidh should have been regulars atleast in one format but no they took ten steps back, picked Umesh for t20s and somehow congregated 4 like to like medium pacers in bhuvi sir, harshal Bhai, thakur ji and chahar bhaiya, genius selectors, guess what they then bring in Kolkata express  Mukesh dada for his exploits in first class cricket, meanwhile the highest wicket taker in vht was Yash dalal who is no where to be seen, prasidh gets dropped for 3 bad outings but he had 7 good games before that.

12 hours ago, Mesky99 said:

If the selectirs actually did what selectors are suppose to, going and actually watching matches, picking players on potential not just numbers, guys like Karthik tyagi, umran, prasidh should have been regulars atleast in one format but no they took ten steps back, picked Umesh for t20s and somehow congregated 4 like to like medium pacers in bhuvi sir, harshal Bhai, thakur ji and chahar bhaiya, genius selectors, guess what they then bring in Kolkata express  Mukesh dada for his exploits in first class cricket, meanwhile the highest wicket taker in vht was Yash dalal who is no where to be seen, prasidh gets dropped for 3 bad outings but he had 7 good games before that.

no team would drop prasidh and keep even a Tyagi/ Moshin out , and play harshal. Hell even an Umran will be played by some of the teams.  India has the worst selectors for fast bowling. 

1 hour ago, Vilander said:

no team would drop prasidh and keep even a Tyagi/ Moshin out , and play harshal. Hell even an Umran will be played by some of the teams.  India has the worst selectors for fast bowling. 

thats the curse of abundance.. if we had only a few sparks here an there, they would have been persisted with - like NZ does - and we would have seen results. With so many talents, none of them get proper exposure and game time. 

Add to that the seniority fetish in India, and we let our best bowlers debut after they have lost a chunk of their peak bowling years. 

11 hours ago, kruiser said:

thats the curse of abundance.. if we had only a few sparks here an there, they would have been persisted with - like NZ does - and we would have seen results. With so many talents, none of them get proper exposure and game time. 

Add to that the seniority fetish in India, and we let our best bowlers debut after they have lost a chunk of their peak bowling years. 

We still wouldn't have played them, in 2015 nathu Singh was bowling quick and did well in the tour game against SA, next odi series against aus in aus selectors picked barinder sran and rishi dhawan,.nathu got injured in 2016 and lost for ever.