jalebi_bhai Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 We've picked arguably one of the oldest squads for the T20 WC in the name of "eggsperience". Shami was recently replaced by Umesh for the home bi-laterals. Why is there such a strong aversion to trying youngsters? Mohsin Khan should've played at least a dozen T20Is by now but it looks like odds of Unadkat making a comeback are greater. What is wrong with these guys? nevada and express bowling 1 1
rkt.india Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 They have just picked 33 year old Rishi Dhawan for India A team. If some batsman get injured, they might even pick Shikhar Dhawan for A team. Kya selectors bitha diye hain. rollingstoned and express bowling 1 1
jalebi_bhai Posted September 18, 2022 Author Posted September 18, 2022 5 minutes ago, rkt.india said: They have just picked 33 year old Rishi Dhawan for India A team. If some batsman get injured, they might even pick Shikhar Dhawan for A team. Kya selectors bitha diye hain. No long term thinking.
Khota Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 You always need the best eleven. Even if they are old, it does not matter. Major tournaments are for winning and not development. I still remember playing Shankar in last WC. Everyone associated with that decision should be fired.
cricketfan28 Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 This will be the last time , most of them will retire after world cups.
kohli Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Maybe they need bowler who can slog few sixes
Vickydev Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Because you can never go wrong with Eggs nevada, Laaloo, raki05 and 5 others 8
vvvslaxman Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Not current team. "pecking order" is always there at all levels. To get picked out of hierarchy you have to play the rare roles. I guess no different from Football. It is the smartest way to get into the side. Bumrah was picked mainly for his yorker skills as a Malinga like bowler. All his other skills were revelation at the international level. You have to manage to stand out from the pack somehow. Chakdephatte and tweaker 1 1
Number Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Now if one more pacer gets unavailable they will call someone from legends team. Laaloo, tweaker, vvvslaxman and 5 others 8
vvvslaxman Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 1 minute ago, Number said: Now if one more pacer gets unavailable they will call someone from legends team. lol Can't rule that possibility out. Number 1
Chakdephatte Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 1 hour ago, Khota said: You always need the best eleven. Even if they are old, it does not matter. Major tournaments are for winning and not development. And who is the best? Umesh? Lord 1
Chakdephatte Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 1 hour ago, kohli said: Maybe they need bowler who can slog few sixes I think Shami said something about Mohsin's batting potential. Told he will make him all-rounder.
vvvslaxman Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 In limited overs especially T20, going in as an unknown underdog side helps you somewhat. Going in with experience make your side a predictable side. Infact under-dog tag suits India better. Won 1983, 2007. Only time we won as favorites was in 2011. But that happened in India under Dhoni. Even in 2003 we were not really favorites after NZ debacle. We were underdogs. We reached the final and kicked everyone's butt until the final.
AKane Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 3 hours ago, Khota said: You always need the best eleven. Even if they are old, it does not matter. Major tournaments are for winning and not development. I still remember playing Shankar in last WC. Everyone associated with that decision should be fired. Which was the last major tournament we won? And if we don't win with the experience should we hold the experienced non-performers accountable? Because they are never held accountable.....and the experience keeps adding up to no avail. express bowling 1
coffee_rules Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Because they tried talents like Shivam Dube nevada 1
Khota Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 50 minutes ago, AKane said: Which was the last major tournament we won? And if we don't win with the experience should we hold the experienced non-performers accountable? Because they are never held accountable.....and the experience keeps adding up to no avail. Once again, I said you need the best XI. If they are very experienced, it is fine and it is fine if they little experience.
Khota Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 2 hours ago, Chakdephatte said: And who is the best? Umesh? You do need Umesh for depth. He is not that bad.
AKane Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Games are also part of entertainment....Even in a sedentary game like chess that fellow Ivanchuk was liked because of the way he used to play esp vs Kasparov. The best entertainment I got in cricket was the Brisbane test where a bunch of no name inexperianced players like Gill, Sunder, Thakur, Siraj took the game to the Aussies .... and of course Pant. nevada, Adorable Fan, Mosher and 1 other 2 2
The Realist Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Selectors Strategy Document leaked... rollingstoned, Mosher and mani sha 1 2