This one indian grocery store guy was soo offended me calling uncle in dallas. Where i couldnt even stop laughing. He def. Older than me. Ur thoughts?

spacer.png

I think it is better to avoid calling uncle-aunty to strangers unless they are in seniors category.  It is good to built rapport first before giving such titles. Most conversations can be handled with "Excuse me, I have a question", etc. 

Uncle, sir , bro,  should be left in India lol Even sir is fine as even Americans at times use Sir.  But among tamils atleast they call each other "Ji" sollunga ji, eppaid irukeenga ji. 

If you are not related to the person, do not call them uncle or whatever. In this case, guy was at his workplace and to him it may have sounded inappropriate. 

Words lose their meaning if thrown around like that, uncle and nephew/niece relationship is one of platonic intimacy.

16 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Would be very offended if someone called me uncle.

So "Aunty" or "Miss" :wp1:

Actually the terms Uncle/Aunty are very desi ( used by Phillipinos a lot too ) . However, some people find these terms offensive, regardless of the age gap they imply, while others are genuinely hurt by them. At work,  "dear," "son," or "uncle" could lead to a call from HR

On 11/1/2025 at 6:00 AM, Rajiv said:

So "Aunty" or "Miss" :wp1:

Actually the terms Uncle/Aunty are very desi ( used by Phillipinos a lot too ) . However, some people find these terms offensive, regardless of the age gap they imply, while others are genuinely hurt by them. At work,  "dear," "son," or "uncle" could lead to a call from HR

Most of the times its "madam" or "ma'am". That is quite annoying too.

If its a traffic havaldar wanting a bribe its always "madam"

On 10/27/2025 at 11:39 PM, Chaos said:

This one indian grocery store guy was soo offended me calling uncle in dallas. Where i couldnt even stop laughing. He def. Older than me. Ur thoughts?

spacer.png

I think he was offended by an uncle calling him an uncle 

On 11/4/2025 at 6:57 PM, Mariyam said:

Most of the times its "madam" or "ma'am". That is quite annoying too.

If its a traffic havaldar wanting a bribe its always "madam"

I can imagine them saying "Mai'dum" :wp1: