Vickydev Posted February 23 Posted February 23 Worse than the loss, is seeing people here react negatively on each other Its a harmless thread, a bit of fun. Hopefully its just the high emotions after the loss Mariyam and BacktoCricaddict 1 1
Mariyam Posted February 23 Posted February 23 3 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said: The loopsided amount of international finals and IPL finals being awarded to this to placate the political overloords is very obvious now The IPL finals are played at the home of the defending champs. Gujarat Titans won the previous edition so NaMo stadium held this final. The next IPL final will be at the Chinnaswamy. Now that BCCI has spent ginormous amounts on this stadium fitting it with state of the art seats/ acoustics etc, it would be criminal to not give the stadium a large share of the games. rollingstoned 1
rkt.india Posted February 23 Posted February 23 Calling some stadium panauti is just a cope. Laaloo, Lord and BacktoCricaddict 3
Gollum Posted February 23 Posted February 23 15 minutes ago, Mariyam said: The IPL finals are played at the home of the defending champs. Gujarat Titans won the previous edition so NaMo stadium held this final. The next IPL final will be at the Chinnaswamy. Now that BCCI has spent ginormous amounts on this stadium fitting it with state of the art seats/ acoustics etc, it would be criminal to not give the stadium a large share of the games. 2024 IPL champs KKR 2025 qualifier 2 and final were scheduled in Eden. Then for no reason, shifted to Ahmedabad. It was a huge controversy, you forgot? wanted_desi and Mariyam 2
rollingstoned Posted February 23 Posted February 23 21 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: We've seen enough. Finished our chances of WCs twice now - 2023 and 2026. Feel for Bumrah that he has to carry this team and then has to bear the curse of this manhoos stadium. I say get some Shiv Sena folks and Bengalis. Shiv Sena can dig the pitch and Bengal folks can burn the stands and stadium down the way they almost did to Eden Gardens in 96. I can't bear any more torture of this manhoos stadium. I don't even recall one good memory at this god-forsaken venue. Final tak to rukh ja bhai. Ultimate_Game 1
Mariyam Posted February 23 Posted February 23 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: 2024 IPL champs KKR 2025 qualifier 2 and final were scheduled in Eden. Then for no reason, shifted to Ahmedabad. It was a huge controversy, you forgot? I did forget about that controversy. TBH as a stadium, Eden is terrible. Poor quality stands and entry and egress. NaMo is simply a better stadium. But I see your point. Not denying the not so subtle tilt towards NaMo stadium.
Lord Posted February 23 Posted February 23 The only thing is that pitch here is not suited for white ball, that too T20. Doesn't need tampering to be poor for hitting
Laaloo Posted February 23 Posted February 23 1 minute ago, Lord said: The only thing is that pitch here is not suited for white ball, that too T20. Doesn't need tampering to be poor for hitting It's not suitable for our hitters you mean. No issues for good teams to win here batting first or chasing. Lord 1
Forever Indian Posted February 23 Posted February 23 12 minutes ago, Mariyam said: I did forget about that controversy. TBH as a stadium, Eden is terrible. Poor quality stands and entry and egress. NaMo is simply a better stadium. But I see your point. Not denying the not so subtle tilt towards NaMo stadium. The tilt is as blatant as it gets. Ahmedabad never had a cricketing tradition similar to the likes of Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Delhi or even Mohali/Chinnaswamy. The only reason this stadium got all that forced investment and favoured scheduling is due to the ruling party which is undeniable. vvvslaxman, wanted_desi and Mariyam 3
vvvslaxman Posted February 23 Posted February 23 The comments can show nobody likes this stadium lol It is a sh***y stadium with large capacity. Unless people from other parts of the country come this is going to be empty most of the time. Your energy level has to hit through the roof when India plays. People don't understand the importance of crowd in bringing our team to life with vocal support. You don't go silent on them. There were many many articles about this stadium and its pitiful crowd. Not the first time India has collapse in a crunch game. Rmemeber we were two down for not much in 2011 final. Big games, important games of India should be given to cities where they get actual cheering. Let Namo stadium host all the minnow matches. The Silent Shame How the Ahmedabad crowd ruined the World Cup Final atmosphere https://ganpy.medium.com/the-silent-shame-a15944b8044f Ultimate_Game 1
LordPrabhzy Posted February 23 Posted February 23 47 minutes ago, Mariyam said: I did forget about that controversy. TBH as a stadium, Eden is terrible. Poor quality stands and entry and egress. NaMo is simply a better stadium. But I see your point. Not denying the not so subtle tilt towards NaMo stadium. Have you seen videos of NaMo stadium from folks who are walking in the corridors, using toilets. Really horrible management, basins overflowing, kachra everywhere, bathrooms dirty. No matter how fancy you make the seats look on TV, the same problems plague any stadium
LordPrabhzy Posted February 23 Posted February 23 31 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: The comments can show nobody likes this stadium lol It is a sh***y stadium with large capacity. Unless people from other parts of the country come this is going to be empty most of the time. Your energy level has to hit through the roof when India plays. People don't understand the importance of crowd in bringing our team to life with vocal support. You don't go silent on them. There were many many articles about this stadium and its pitiful crowd. Not the first time India has collapse in a crunch game. Rmemeber we were two down for not much in 2011 final. Big games, important games of India should be given to cities where they get actual cheering. Let Namo stadium host all the minnow matches. The Silent Shame How the Ahmedabad crowd ruined the World Cup Final atmosphere https://ganpy.medium.com/the-silent-shame-a15944b8044f Its because of this non traditional cricket culture- Gujarat has never had a traditional test venue like the other Tier 1 cities with iconic matches from history. You cant manufacture that by dumping a 100k + capacity stadium and use it all the time. That money could have been spent making a new stadium like that in Delhi, or upgrading Eden or Wankhede etc OR ffs stop using this black soil in NaMo, get Perth like ptiches made, matches will be more entertaining with ball coming on to the bat nicely! Ultimate_Game, putrevus, Lord and 1 other 1 3
zen Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) What we are missing is that Ahmadabad could have been designated as a showcase center for cricket and maybe other sports in future. Which means that it will get India’s most toughest matches versus strongest teams and KO games where teams in form show up. Therefore, it will not have a record of a venue hosting tons of Ind v BD/AFG/etc. Basically, it could be seen as India’s Lord’s, Melbourne, etc. Obviously, there would be unrealistic folks thinking that India has to win every tournament it hosts (not happening), that my city is not a key anymore (well world moves on, new venues gain importance), etc., but that is a part of the change. You can’t make everyone happy. In a decade it is likely that people will automatically picture Ahmedabad as a venue hosting important marquee games. Edited February 23 by zen
vayuu1 Posted February 23 Posted February 23 2 hours ago, Mariyam said: The IPL finals are played at the home of the defending champs. Gujarat Titans won the previous edition so NaMo stadium held this final. The next IPL final will be at the Chinnaswamy. Now that BCCI has spent ginormous amounts on this stadium fitting it with state of the art seats/ acoustics etc, it would be criminal to not give the stadium a large share of the games. Everything is good except pitch
putrevus Posted February 23 Posted February 23 54 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said: Its because of this non traditional cricket culture- Gujarat has never had a traditional test venue like the other Tier 1 cities with iconic matches from history. You cant manufacture that by dumping a 100k + capacity stadium and use it all the time. That money could have been spent making a new stadium like that in Delhi, or upgrading Eden or Wankhede etc OR ffs stop using this black soil in NaMo, get Perth like ptiches made, matches will be more entertaining with ball coming on to the bat nicely! Spot on plus why play so many important matches in this stadium only.
Laaloo Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) We should move the next two matches with zimbabwe and windies to here now that we know the pitch very well batting first or chasing and we are acclimated well to the conditions now. Why play in Chennai or kolkata where we haven't played a game this tourney? Edited February 23 by Laaloo putrevus 1
zen Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Laaloo said: We should move the next two matches with zimbabwe and windies to here now that we know the pitch very well batting first or chasing and we are acclimated well to the conditions now. Why play in Chennai or kolkata where we haven't played a game this tourney? Ahmedabad has multiple pitches. It is likely that the TM or whoever keeps selecting from tough pitches assuming “non subcon” team would struggle relatively, ignoring that a sword can cut both ways, and the fact that many top players are now used to Indian conditions due to IPL. Miller could have played more games at Ahmedabad than many India players. So it is probably better to play on sporting pitches, maintaining consistency. Edited February 23 by zen maniac 1
LordPrabhzy Posted February 23 Posted February 23 (edited) 31 minutes ago, zen said: Basically, it could be seen as India’s Lord’s, Melbourne, etc. youre comparing India with Eng/Aus who have 6-7 marquee test grounds only who can then rotate their matches and have marquee events in Lords and Melbourne But those grounds have a 100 year + history of hosting cricket. You cant purposefully build a new stadium, put the nations leader name on it an then dump all important matches straight away. The 4 key centres for Indian cricket historically have been Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai and Kolkata but BCCI obsession to placate state boards means random riff raff cities in Tier 2 and 3 are hosting test matches. Already the ICC event management by BCCI is so bad and no foreign fans like to come to india.. It would be epic if Eng/Aus fans were half the stadium to support their teams but BCCI dont give a * about them. So lets focus on improving fan experience first than making giant stadiums in all part of the country to please political overlords I know youre Gujji but why does Ahmedabad NEED to be the centre of cricket- for a population who isnt generally sporty the state is getting all cricket attention from BCCI, CWG infrastructure, Olympic bids.. while the rest of the country be like urm hello? You ot focus on setting businesses and making business viable for companies- thats your strength focus on it. Leave sports and cricket to the rest of the country Edited February 23 by LordPrabhzy
zen Posted February 23 Posted February 23 2 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said: youre comparing India with Eng/Aus who have 6-7 marquee test grounds only who can then rotate their matches and have marquee events in Lords and Melbourne But those grounds have a 100 year + history of hosting cricket. You cant purposefully build a new stadium, put the nations leader name on it an then dump all important matches straight away. The 4 key centres for Indian cricket historically have been Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai and Kolkata but BCCI obsession to placate state boards means random riff raff cities in Tier 2 and 3 are hosting test matches. Already the ICC event management by BCCI is so bad and no foreign fans like to come to india.. It would be epic if Eng/Aus fans were half the stadium to support their teams but BCCI dont give a * about them. So lets focus on improving fan experience first than making giant stadiums in all part of the country to please political overlords Ahmedabad appears to be designated as the marquee venue. Who cares about the history as most stadiums will not have history associated with those in Australia and England. Even Wankhede is a relatively new stadium preferred over the old Branbourne. Countries like India will usually build new venues to create their “history”. Laaloo 1
Forever Indian Posted February 23 Posted February 23 35 minutes ago, zen said: What we are missing is that Ahmadabad could have been designated as a showcase center for cricket and maybe other sports in future. Which means that it will get India’s most toughest matches versus strongest teams and KO games where teams in form show up. Therefore, it will not have a record of a venue hosting tons of Ind v BD/AFG/etc. Basically, it could be seen as India’s Lord’s, Melbourne, etc. Obviously, there would be unrealistic folks thinking that India has to win every tournament it hosts (not happening), that my city is not a key anymore (well world moves on, new venues gain importance), etc., but that is a part of the change. You can’t make everyone happy. In a decade it is likely that people will automatically picture Ahmedabad as a venue hosting important marquee games. It is blatantly clear that Ahmedabad has been forced as this marquee venue without any rhyme or reason other than that it is the PM's home state. What will happen after the PM changes and he is from a new state, should we make that as the "new temporary" marquee stadium? That is the issue here more than anything! "In a decade it is likely that people will automatically picture Ahmedabad as a venue hosting important marquee games. " - In a decade whoever is the PM (especially if from opposition party) will probably shut down the stadium stating it is sub-par for any international matches, what then?... Ultimate_Game, Gollum, New guy and 1 other 1 2 1