MechEng Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 1 hour ago, Cricketics said: Hmm, interesting. Can’t. say much then. Definitely sounds racist to put it in a book a long time after the event had taken place but then it also still shows frustrating tone that he had not forgotten the incident which made him think and put it like the way he did. He could have called Jamaicans 'unsporting' or at worst 'violent', both these words are justified. But what Gavaskar wrote in his book is not justified at all, I can imagine the contempt West Indian cricketers had for Indian cricket team if they read this. Gollum and GoldenSun 1 1
Mariyam Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 According to the Indian right wing, all commies are anti Indian. Prakash Karat, for eg. Yeh Holding kya cheez hai phir. BeautifulGame and Rightarmfast 2
gattaca Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 12 minutes ago, Mariyam said: According to the Indian right wing, all commies are anti Indian. Prakash Karat, for eg. Yeh Holding kya cheez hai phir. lol come on the commies are as useless as rocks. What development they have done in WB or what they have they done for kerala.
jalebi_bhai Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 Is there a single commentator out there who is truly non-partisan? Don't think so. It's about being relatively balanced. The closest someone gets to that is maybe Simon Doull. With regards to Holding, more than hate, I feel he's still butt-hurt about the 83 WC loss. We prevented the WIndies from winning three in a row so good Ol' Mikey is still upset about it.
express bowling Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 (edited) 9 hours ago, kosingh said: Man some of you guys will not be happy until every commentator doesn't completely kiss India's ass. We don't need more Ravi Shastri type people in the commentary box People need to be neutral while performing their job as commentators. I believe that is the basic necessity of the job ... to convey to the viewers or listeners what is going on with accuracy and without bias. They should criticize both teams when needed and praise both teams when apt. This applies to Indian commentators too. Criticize Rahul for flashing at a wide delivery and getting out ... I would like it. Indian pacers taking wickets and it is due to the pitch ... SA pacers taking wickets on the same pitch and it is because they are good ... and that is bias. Edited January 29, 2018 by express bowling AuxiliA, Rightarmfast and Temujin Khaghan 3
adi B Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 9 hours ago, goose said: give it a rest. not everything need be viewed through the prism of anti/for India. he is a wonderful commentator He's good when India are not playing .I have heard him since late 2000s when India tours away ,he's blatantly biased against India
Gollum Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 1 hour ago, jalebi_bhai said: Is there a single commentator out there who is truly non-partisan? Don't think so. It's about being relatively balanced. The closest someone gets to that is maybe Simon Doull. With regards to Holding, more than hate, I feel he's still butt-hurt about the 83 WC loss. We prevented the WIndies from winning three in a row so good Ol' Mikey is still upset about it. Ian Bishop, Viv Richards, Ponting, Ian Chappell, Bob Willis..pretty sure there will be more if we look closely. ravishingravi 1
jalebi_bhai Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 28 minutes ago, Gollum said: Ian Bishop, Viv Richards, Ponting, Ian Chappell, Bob Willis..pretty sure there will be more if we look closely. The ones in bold are quite partisan if you ask me. Bishop and Viv I agree with.
Gollum Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 2 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said: The ones in bold are quite partisan if you ask me. Bishop and Viv I agree with. Chappell aur Bob Willis to sabka bajate hein, they always sound fair to me. I followed Bob Willis during our 2014 tour there and 2016 return tour, he was very neutral and appreciate/critical irrespective of the nationality of the players.
Oldhere Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 5 hours ago, Cricketics said: Where you guys hearing Sanjay then? Because I did not hear Sanjay Manjrekar at all? I have seen a lot of criticism here for Sanjay on this tour’s commentary from many in India? Pre and Post match shows. Also, dont know why Sony is doing this crap but every session for half an hour they would have Harsha, Manjerekar, Kartik and Rhodes commentating from there Mumbai Studios. Nice way to save money. Cricketics 1
Austin 3:!6 Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 (edited) Holding once said in an interview in SKY Sports that IPL is the reason for the downfall of West Indies Test cricket. May be that is why he holds a grudge on BCCI/India. I think we should pardon him. He only follows cricket sporadically and more into Horse racing now. Mikey these days spend more time and has more knowledge about Newmarket horses than cricket. Edited January 29, 2018 by Austin 3:!6
vvvslaxman Posted January 29, 2018 Author Posted January 29, 2018 20 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: Holding once said in an interview in SKY Sports that IPL is the reason for the downfall of West Indies Test cricket. May be that is why he holds a grudge on BCCI/India. I think we should pardon him. He only follows cricket sporadically and more into Horse racing now. Mikey these days spend more time and has more knowledge about Newmarket horses than cricket. That 1983 world cup grudge. Other west indian cricketers are not like him. Bishop is always impartial.
Suhaan Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 (edited) 28 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: That 1983 world cup grudge. Other west indian cricketers are not like him. Bishop is always impartial. Another westIndian to name is Steve Buckner always gave dubious decisions against Indians, had nasty animosity against us Edited January 29, 2018 by Suhaan
mishra Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 13 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: He goes long way back. Be it is putting down Sunny or Sachin he has always put down Indians. May be after bucknor incident Culd be, Its small country. They all know each other and mingle very often. I know few, who start guessing their relationship or island with person just by surname. People have right to like dislike criticize opinion. Lets accept it
mishra Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 8 minutes ago, Suhaan said: Another westIndian to name is Steve Buckner always gave dubious decisions against Indians, had nasty animosity against us Bucknor was very fair and one of the best till that fatefull Autralia tour where probably he hid that age had caught upon his professional skill
goose Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 16 minutes ago, mishra said: Bucknor was very fair and one of the best till that fatefull Autralia tour where probably he hid that age had caught upon his professional skill disagree . that 2008 tour was the straw that broke the camel's back.
Gollum Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 Those harping about Bucknor, Venkatraghavan was equally harsh against WI, esp Lara. I remember more howlers against Lara by Venkat than against SRT by Bucknor. And the fact is Venkat was a great umpire in his days, very fair. So we can't put down everything to bias, may be some umpires make more mistakes when a certain team is involved. Same Bucknor helped us draw the Lord's test in 2007 which later helped us win a series in Eng after 22 years !!!
Sean Bradley Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 (edited) I think Holdings is one of the few commentators who speaks his heart out and has a clear Anti BCCI, Anti IPL agenda when he offers his views on subjects related to India. But as much as he hates the IPL or the BCCI, i have also seen him speak good things about Virat Kohli and praise Indian Cricket at certain times. Believe it or Not, the bookies, the match fixers, the commercialization of game itself has flourished when India became a super power in the game of Cricket, and like all old men he is entitled to his views as long as he doesn't hurt religious or fundamental sentiments of any country, we all should be open to criticism. I have a friend who hates cats from the core of his heart, i have seen him chase and shoo away cats , he would even pelt stones at them at certain times, one day out of curiosity i asked him, why does he hates cats so much, he said to me that he had a pet parrot once who was killed and eaten by a cat, maybe Holding is just going through this sort of a phase Edited January 29, 2018 by Sean Bradley Gollum 1
vayuu1 Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 if we're going to start making judgements on someone's character based on snippets and behaviour here and there then Virat Kohli is the devil incarnate. He is no doubt about it, after all he is a daredevil. Sent from my vivo 1601 using Tapatalk Wall2018 1
vayuu1 Posted January 29, 2018 Posted January 29, 2018 Don't think anything wrong with that statement, I mean who provokes others to kill for no reason, only barbarian does. Sent from my vivo 1601 using Tapatalk