Still Good Enough to Play for India, Need Three Months of Training: Sourav Ganguly

His comments come while talking about the last leg of his career to Bengali newspaper Sangbad Pratidin.

“If I was given two more series in ODIs, I would’ve scored more runs. If I hadn’t retired in Nagpur, I would’ve scored runs in the next two Test series too. In fact even now give me six months to train, let me play three Ranji games, I’ll score runs for India in Test cricket. I don’t even need six months, give me three, I will score runs,” said Ganguly.

“You might not give me an opportunity to play but how will you break the belief inside me?” asked the former India captain.

Ganguly also talked about, when he was dropped from ODI side after being best performer in 2007-08.

“It was kind of unbelievable. I was dropped from the ODI side despite being one of the highest scorers of that calendar year. No matter how good your performance is if the stage is taken away from you then what will you prove? And to whom? The same thing happened with me,” Ganguly added.

Link - https://www.news18.com/cricketnext/news/still-good-enough-to-play-for-india-need-three-months-of-training-sourav-ganguly-2720267.html

2 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

Thank god he didn't proclaim he could captain India to overseas glory if given the captaincy on Aus tour.

sometimes i get the feeling he really wants to say that loud but cant, but after this statement i expect that anyday 

6 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Ranji men Dhawal unadkat ko to khel loge lekin international men archer , starc, rabada, cummins , fergueson, thomas ko kaise kheloge 

Bhaiya Ranji me bh almost har team 1-2 140+ bowler khelte hain....halua nahi hai

Im not talking about plate group

Bowling ka standard domestic cricket me bh improve hua hai

Playing to the gallery, talking to a Bengali newspaper. He was performing badly from 03-06 when he was dropped rightfully by GC. Fought his way in, could have played more if not for being forcefully retired. He can’t even hold his bat now, let alone playing professional cricket at international level. This was how much Tendulkar is bent out of shape now

7 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Ranji men Dhawal unadkat ko to khel loge lekin international men archer , starc, rabada, cummins , fergueson, thomas ko kaise kheloge 

Scoring runs there wont be a walk in the park either. The seam attacks of most teams are decent plus Eden provides mostly seamer friendly conditions.

Dada never misses an opportunity to gloat though. Will have to give him that.

14 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Scoring runs there wont be a walk in the park either. The seam attacks of most teams are decent plus Eden provides mostly seamer friendly conditions.

true, i meant somehow even if he ll manage there what about international cricket. I knw now our domestic pacers have many high pace bowlers like rajpoot, siraj, saini, mavi , avesh etc etc

Just chill guys he is joking. But there is one thing, which I don't like about him is his overwhelming optimism in commentry. Jahan india ki g*nd fati padi hoti hai 5-6 wkt k baad but dada wil still say this partnership can create serious damage to the opposition.

20 hours ago, shychipmunk said:

Dada was just joking, no need to take these comments seriously and grill him on this basis. Take it as a joke and forget it !

No, he was may be serious but we can take it as a joke :nice: