Sachin.. if he played for Aus/Eng

Vk1

would he have been an even better player?

I think so..

the incredible amount of pressure that he was subjected to.. TVs being switched off the moment he got out in ODI chases.. the craze.. being the best player in the team by miles from 90s..  weight of the nation on his shoulders.. remember him telling about that centurion 2003 game.. people reminding him to win that match an year before the actual match.. 

Now contrast that with the other players of his era and current era.. sure they would be under pressure to perform but the criticism levels and public anger is no way near to ours... if steve smith walks in some busy street in sydney.. probably few aussies might say hi / some might take a selfie.. basically the pressure to excel is mostly personal / team goal for them.. for sachin it was 1 billion hearts pumping for his success

Well, for one thing, he would've played against the Indian bowling "attack" of the 90s a few times.  That alone was enough to bump his avg up by a couple of notches (considering that his avg in both those countries is pretty close to his overall avg).  

Overall, his test average may have been higher, his LOI average and SR too.  But, I imagine he would have had < 170 tests and < 380 ODIs and thus fewer runs overall.  

Sachin had an entitled career. He could pursue his personal milestones and play without the pressure of ever being dropped, something most cricketer face. I am not sure a country with competitive sporting heritage would allow such things 

The pressure for playing for your country is similar whether the population is 1B or 100M. Using the same logic, other top Ind, Pak and BD cricketers can improve their performances too in a hypothetical scenario 

Such threads/discussions are primarily an acknowledgement that Sachin wasn’t as good as what many fans believed. So the reason has to be something else .... 

Well for starters he would not have been the "God". Most of Sachin's riches, adulation and fandom is due to the fact he is an Indian.

If you are talking about the mega pressure of burden on the shoulders of Tendulkar, well Indian cricket might have suffered with losses in 90s due to supposed lack of support, not Tendulkar's game.He amassed thousands of runs, glut of centuries and acquired crores of rupees worth contract. So, in that way his game didn't suffer. (It didn't matter to him whether the TVs were switched off when he got out, how is that even a point lol)

Mind you ever top level Indian cricketer is subjected to immense pressure & public scrutiny,  you have to only marvel at likes Kohli, Dhoni, Dravid etc in addition to Sachin, for their continuous success. But if given the chance again they would never like to born in any country other than India, for being born in India has made them larger than life figures and brought in the moolah. 

India has a larger (passionate) football fan base than total population of many European and South American countries. Therefore Baichung Bhutia faced more pressure than a Figo or Modric, hence.......

Pressure, weight of the nation etc is same. Anyone representing his/her country is subjected to it, whether it be a national footballer from Bhutan or cricketer from India. 

No brainer. He'd be playing even more freely.

Add another minimum 10 hundreds in both Test/ODI formats if he was playing against India. Forget all that he would not have to deal with match fixers( a captain itself :lol:), a below par team for nearly what half his career and atleast he would have had a lower order who would have scored the 12 runs against Pakistan in Sennai. Couldn't score 12 *ing runs. :facepalm:

Could have even concentrated more on his bowling.  May not have 100 100's but would have won more WC's and some test 100's. I personally prefer the latter.

Hell if not for him we would never even have the envious 11-0 or whatever it is against Pakistan in WC's as he was the set the tone for that inglorious streak with his 3 MOTM's. 

6 hours ago, zen said:

Sachin had an entitled career. He could pursue his personal milestones and play without the pressure of ever being dropped, something most cricketer face. I am not sure a country with competitive sporting heritage would allow such things 

T

Posts like these just show to me how self-loathing suck ups some Indians are. Then how can you take such people's opinions seriously?

In his last SIX years of test career, Ponting didnt cross 50 average even once, he averaged below 45 in 5 out of them and below 40 in 3 out of those 6, including twice in last 3 years of his career

Meanwhile, in his last 6 years, sachin averaged over 45 in 4 out of 6, including average of 68 and 78 (mainly during our over seas tours) in last 3 and half years. After averaging 47, he played just 1 and half years before retiring. unlike ponting, who played for 4 more years after last averaging over 45 in a clanedar years

Yet indians will fall over backwards claiming how strict aussies were. I am sure some of you still wish you were slaves of western people and could worship them and fall at their feet

Edited by New guy
9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

I doubt they wud have let him played 200 test had he played for Aus 

In his last SIX years of test career, Ponting didnt cross 50 average even once, he averaged below 45 in 5 out of 6 and below 40 in 3 out of those 6

Meanwhile, in his last 6 years, sachin averaged over 45 in 4 out of 6, including average of 68 and 78 in last 3 and half years. After averaging 47, he played just 1 and half years before retiring. unlike ponting, who played for 4 more years after last averaging over 45 in a calnedar years

Yet indians will fall over backwards claiming how strict aussies were. I swear Indians have no bigger enemies than fellow indians. They will lie, cheat, do whatever just to show other countries are superior and Indians are somehow bad at everything. This is called the indian crab mentality because if you put crabs in a jar, and if one tries to escape, others will pull him back

i can also gaurantee you will completely ignore the facts in this post and repeat this lie again the next time about how Aussies are so strict 

Edited by New guy

Would Sachin have been the same Sachin had he grown up in Aussie system in 80s? Everything would have been different IMO, psyche, fitness, approach to the game, technique etc. He might have become better than Ponting against pace/bounce and worse than Rahane against spin for all we know. Fitter and better fielder but not that good a part timer after bowling in those pitches. Tougher competition in Aus, so he might have been dropped for some time. Too hypothetical. Regarding Aus vs Ind bowlers we never know...enough examples of great players not firing against mediocre teams. Lara was magical against Aus and mediocre against Ind, how do you explain that?

Some argue that if Nole were 15 years older he wouldn't have won more than 2-3 majors since courts were super quick and low bouncing till circa 2002 SW19. That Nadal without modern racquets (source of his insane FH top spin) wouldn't have enjoyed as much success on clay in 80s and 90s. But they forget that it wouldn't have been the same Nole/Rafa had they been born in another era, never mind another country which opens up even more possibilities.

Something similar with Fischer or Anand, that they would have been much greater than Kasparov had they grown up in USSR system...might be true but not necessary, whatever unique players they became is the product of their environment. And in USSR for every Karpov who was pampered many were deliberately not allowed to grow beyond a point by Kremlin, thing is we never know.

Sachin in Aus might have taken up another discipline, even as cricketer depending on his background (if Indian origin) might have faced so much racism that he might have quit the sport despite promise. He was privileged to be from Bombay and a Brahmin which gave him a head start, also no financial troubles, supporting/strong family behind him, a great mentor/coach. The things we take for granted in India......

Depends mainly on whether sachin is the same Indian Maharashtrian guy who was either born/grown up in Aus/Eng or some Aussie/Brit white equivalent of him. 

If former, then the chances of him reaching where he has reached playing for India are bare minimum.... for obvious reasons. 

If latter, then it could have gone either way. Would he have had the same passion for the game had he been brought up in those countries where cricket is barely the second most popular sport?  Would he be as good against spin? Most importantly would he have played 200 Tests and 500 ODIs without the "God" like following that he had here?:dontknow:

@Global.Baba  ji , can you please open your fourth eye, run a simulation and bless us with answers ? :pray:

P.s - paaji should be a white ass chad not a curry brown pajeet again. :nono: 

if possible make him a foot taller too. :peep:

To add to the points made above by other posters - in LOIs, he wouldn't have been allowed to pick and choose series at will. And he wouldn't have been picked for the 2011 world cup because there is no legend quota in Australia or England also. The Aussies cut off world cup winning captain Steve Waugh just 2 years after he led the team to a world cup title. 

In test cricket though, its a different deal. Sachin would have played more tests and likely accumulated more runs and centuries. All in all, it's a wash - gains made in tests negated by loss in ODIs. 

2 hours ago, New guy said:

Posts like these just show to me how self-loathing suck ups some Indians are. Then how can you take such people's opinions seriously?

In his last SIX years of test career, Ponting didnt cross 50 average even once, he averaged below 45 in 5 out of them and below 40 in 3 out of those 6, including twice in last 3 years of his career

Meanwhile, in his last 6 years, sachin averaged over 45 in 4 out of 6, including average of 68 and 78 (mainly during our over seas tours) in last 3 and half years. After averaging 47, he played just 1 and half years before retiring. unlike ponting, who played for 4 more years after last averaging over 45 in a clanedar years

Yet indians will fall over backwards claiming how strict aussies were. I am sure some of you still wish you were slaves of western people and could worship them and fall at their feet

I m now convinced you have a Sachin picture beside Hindu gods. "Jaiii sreee sachin" is part of your puja. 

Your information is biased and totally wrong. India toured Aus at the end of 2011/2012 and these are pointing scores.

62,60,134,7,221,60 for all 4 Test matches. I rather take this. He retired at the end of 2012. So kindly keep your Mr.Ailiaaa bajana to yourself. 

Guy doesn't have a single 250 in Test cricket. You want us to believe he the best player ever. Atleast pointing has a 250+

Pointing has a highest score of 140* in WC finals prob more than Sachin has in all finals combined :phehe:

Let's not even talk about captaincy. It was proved sachin was a dud when it gets to captaincy and we are comparing him to 3 time WC winner here. 

Edited by Rasgulla

What I find funny in this thread is Thailam fans lecturing about test batting. Thailam fans should stick to discussing Pant's batting rather than Sachin or Ponting's :phehe:

Sachin's test average in Aus is 53+. He would have had a successful career representing Australia.

Dhoni's test average in Aus is 19. The only way Dhoni would have come close to any where near Australian test team is by baby sitting Gilchrist's kids or Haddin's kids. :phehe: