Is Suryakumar Yadav just Kela 2.0? Soft Runs Specialist

jalebi_bhai

Is SKY just another soft runs specialist ala KL?  

21 members have voted

1. 1. Is SKY just another soft runs specialist ala KL?

• Yes
    • No

10 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Bhavuk mat ho ja. Just made an observation.

High risk theek hai but high pressure handle karne ki ability bhi honi chahiye.

We often start to consider failure games as high pressure and successful games as low pressure. International cricket its high pressure.......

These have been dodgy pitches so just give him break. Bahut jaldi hai bolna that he doesnt perform in pressure situation. Many here use to consider iyer a pressure player but reality was he was just a limited player who scored when things easy for him . 

13 minutes ago, Majestic said:

He has been a disappointment that's for sure in this series.

KL Rahul is better than him though because of his success in Tests with an average of 35.

No he is not. KL Rahul has lot of mental issues.

19 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Rahul has more tighter technique and better defense which is why he got into Indian test setup back in 2015 and is still seen as the top two Test opener in the country

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

He has been a disappointment that's for sure in this series.

KL Rahul is better than him though because of his success in Tests with an average of 35.

This is why combination is important. On surfaces some players may not get going. Others have to step up. You have to work as a unit. Problem for us is collective failures.   Pant is one guy who fails in most of the situations.   He has to wait. We are not shunning him permanently. He just has to wait for an year or so. 

19 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

This is why combination is important. On surfaces some players may not get going. Others have to step up. You have to work as a unit. Problem for us is collective failures.   Pant is one guy who fails in most of the situations.   He has to wait. We are not shunning him permanently. He just has to wait for an year or so. 

I agree, Pant hasn't done well in his T20 international career and even in IPL in last three years, it has been hit and miss. There is no need to hurry him in this format, maybe give him some time and reinvent his game as his problem is shot selection and this can be fixed with some months away from this format, simply play IPL till then and come up with another 600 run season and he can be back to the team.

Go with players who are in form and hitting the ball well on current form.

7 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

`

Don't think he was voluntarily selfish. Didn't get the timing going.

If u carefully watch his inning vs SL, there was not a single stroke making effort in any of the first 15 balls he faced.   All were short arm jab or only defensive strokes.  Only in the later part of his inning, he some showed intent but could hardly connect anything despite having faced 29 balls.  

9 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

He's giving me KL Rahul 2.0 vibes. Either scoring runs in inconsequential games or demolishing sub-par attacks. Both are also romantically involved with Shetty girls. 

Discuss.

But he dint score yday.

Don’t trust him in high pressure situations or against high quality attacks on neutral pitches (non-flat)

Only wish Rahul had the same attitude and drive to go with his talent. 

I would take SKY anyday over current Rahul but Rahul has 10 times the natural talent of SKY who has worked hard to get where he is.

Yeh apni pehli ball aise time kerta hai jaise dressing room main set ho kay aya ho. 
 Too early to conclude but might struggle against top tier bowlers.

10 hours ago, maniac said:

Don’t trust him in high pressure situations or against high quality attacks on neutral pitches (non-flat)

Only wish Rahul had the same attitude and drive to go with his talent. 

I would take SKY anyday over current Rahul but Rahul has 10 times the natural talent of SKY who has worked hard to get where he is.

KLR is frustrating.  He needs to get his act together before Kohli and Rohit age.

No. Remember that without his contribution, we would have ended up losing to even Hong Kong. So even though it was a minnow team, it was a high pressure situation that he batted in, as we were heading towards an embarrassingly low total. If he is to be faulted for minnow bashing, then what kind of bashing do KL and Kohli deserve for their tuk tuk batting against the same minnow? SKY"s game is high risk and can fail often. Accept it and move on. We need to try out more fearless batsmen like Patidar,. Tewatiya etc so that we don't rely on just 1-2 batsmen. We are doomed for failure in this format because we prefer stat padding leeches over genuine match-winners.

On 9/9/2022 at 1:02 AM, putrevus said:

Dunno why two poster liked your post. There is no mention of any particular format, it talks all formats combined. SkY is nothing at the moment in other formats.

Most of his runs for mi have come while batting at the top or three, great batsman of bad bowling but doesn't quite have the sense or ability to consistently play a high risk game against good attacks because his shot selection is virtually afridi level, India have a few options to try but for now sky is fine at number 4/5, pant is on the edge unless he opens ahead of kl that could be a master stroke giving room for Sanju samson or tripathi at four.