Team Selection today. Make your Predictions

Ganguly- "I agree with the system that whoever is picked in the Indian team is being given a long rope. But I think Rohit Sharma's talent in Test cricket has not pushed forward as it has done in the limited-overs formats. He has struggled more on overseas tours and on pitches which offer more seam and bounce," he told India Today.

"I think he has got a fair rope, but i don't think the selectors are going to find anything more about Rohit with the 13 Test matches we play in India. I would pick Pujara any day ahead of Rohit because he's a better player at the Test level. His record in India is as good as Rohit and he got a hundred in South Africa as well," Ganguly further added.

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/sandeep-patil-selection-committee-virat-kohli-odi-captaincy/1/762481.html

Rohit is one of the worst batman ever to represent India in test cricket. Even if you give him 100 test matches, he will always struggle on pitches which got bit of spin/pace/swing. I am really disappointed with buddy system that has been going on when it comes to batting, and sometimes i feel Kohli is bit insecure when it comes to Tests, he knows Rahane/Vijay/Rahul have been performing better than him recently. If Pandey comes in then you might have 4 batsmen who can perform better than him, and he can't afford that. Players like Rohit will always be below him and by keeping him in the team, Kohli might be avoiding having sword on his head in near future. Because even someone who has no knowledge of cricket has seen how Rohit has been performing from last few years. 

45 minutes ago, wanted_desi said:

Rohit is one of the worst batman ever to represent India in test cricket. Even if you give him 100 test matches, he will always struggle on pitches which got bit of spin/pace/swing. I am really disappointed with buddy system that has been going on when it comes to batting, and sometimes i feel Kohli is bit insecure when it comes to Tests, he knows Rahane/Vijay/Rahul have been performing better than him recently. If Pandey comes in then you might have 4 batsmen who can perform better than him, and he can't afford that. Players like Rohit will always be below him and by keeping him in the team, Kohli might be avoiding having sword on his head in near future. Because even someone who has no knowledge of cricket has seen how Rohit has been performing from last few years. 

kuch bhi :facepalm:

Mumbai squad for the tour game: Aditya Tare (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Surya Kumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Kaustubh Pawar Jay Bista, Sufiyan Shaikh, Arman Jaffer, Parikshit Valsangkar, Vishal Dabholkar, Vijay Gohil, Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr), Tushar Deshpande, Roystan Dias, Harshal Soni.

Rohit luckily gets another game as NZ is suppose to play against Mumbai a practice game. In practice game opp generally doesnt bowl to any plan they mostly try diff things. Rohit previously has done well in practice games and has been a walking duck in the series. His good score will give another delusion to our captain.

Kismat ho to aisi, Perfomance 0 but chances unlimited.......

Selectors have played it very safe.. Would have liked to see some experimentation on home turf. Was expecting some other left hander in Dhawan's place, maybe Abhinav Mukund.. 

Probably, the only reason Dhawan still holds his spot in the Test side is because he is the only left handed bat in the squad (not including Jadeja as a batsman). With Rahul and Vijay making a strong opening pair, it was time to experiment to get a new one as backup.

Edited by bowl_out
I see how people blamed MS for not picking players in past and Team selection.. So why is VIRAT getting special treatment here going with his special friends Dhawan and Rohit for someone more deserving ? No says any thing about it.

Those Biased fools have no right to Talk about BEING FAIR when they are the once being bunch of hypocrites  (currently on hide out ) which is great. 

This is really stupid. How can you compare Dhoni and Kohli. Dhoni has captained India for almost a decade now. Kohli is a newbie captain. He is certainly going to make mistakes ad and it is good for his learning curve as a captain. No one blamed Dhoni for anything till 2011.

Sent from my Lenovo X3a40 using Tapatalk

2 hours ago, gakgupta said:

Its very simple....

1) Rohit doesn't know where his off-stump is...

2) He doesn't have enough patience to grind it in when going gets tough....

3) Moreover, he didn't shown any improvement in last 3 years...

He is not a test match material.....

However, he is very valuable resource in ODI's

And he does not know to learn also as he knows his captain wants him in team at any cost

Rohit's style of batting is not suited for Test cricket. In LOIs, he scores a lot of runs by playing lofted shots and exploiting fielding restrictions. No such luxury in Test cricket. Teams plug off his scoring areas and target his shoddy defensive technique.

Putting aside all the sports psychology, unless he learns to pick gaps better, I don't see him playing much Test cricket for India. He needs to keep the airy-flairy stuff for tamasha cricket and learn how to grind.

51 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Rohit's style of batting is not suited for Test cricket. In LOIs, he scores a lot of runs by playing lofted shots and exploiting fielding restrictions. No such luxury in Test cricket. Teams plug off his scoring areas and target his shoddy defensive technique.

Putting aside all the sports psychology, unless he learns to pick gaps better, I don't see him playing much Test cricket for India. He needs to keep the airy-flairy stuff for tamasha cricket and learn how to grind.

Since when has merit and performance been the main criteria for team selection.

Most of us are aware that its who you know and who you are friends with that decides if you are picked.

Patil is by a distance the worst selector in world cricket. The same old friends/relatives are endlessly recycled. If there was any justice rohit sharma would be the nail in his coffin.

10 hours ago, gakgupta said:

Its very simple....

1) Rohit doesn't know where his off-stump is...

2) He doesn't have enough patience to grind it in when going gets tough....

3) Moreover, he didn't shown any improvement in last 3 years...

He is not a test match material.....

However, he is very valuable resource in ODI's

uske paas tailunt hai.

5 hours ago, New guy said:

For some reason everyone, including Kumble seems to rate Rohit. I wish I had that power in my profession, to impress people without doing anything. 

for that you need talent.

Kuldeep Yadav to Gambhir, OUT, shout for leg before and given. Gambhir not happy with the decision and has a word with the umpire. Coming to the delivery itself, it was nicely tossed up on middle and leg and Gambhir is drawn forward. He misses the front foot defence and the ball spins away to hit him right in front of the stumps. Gambhir had been troubled by Kuldeep Yadav throughout and now perishs to him...

That's interesting, given Gambhir is particularly strong against spinners. Well done Kuldeep Yadav

Edited by fineleg
10 hours ago, The Realist said:

Since when has merit and performance been the main criteria for team selection.

Most of us are aware that its who you know and who you are friends with that decides if you are picked.

Patil is by a distance the worst selector in world cricket. The same old friends/relatives are endlessly recycled. If there was any justice rohit sharma would be the nail in his coffin.

It seems to me that there still is a belief among the team management that he'll eventually click in Tests, like he did in ODIs. I don't share their optimism. 

Like you pointed out, extraneous factors may also be there.

Ohh God i just realised, we are playing 2nd test in kolKata, Rohit Sir jee ka lucky ground where he might score a big one and ticket booked for next 20 matches. :wall::wall::wall::wall::wall:

Also a practice game Against Nz where Nz would bowl at with no plan n far less intensity. That means he a golden chance to secure his place for next 30 test matches. :afraid::afraid::afraid::afraid::afraid:

While writing this i cud only imagine him giving a sarcastic smile over our misery

Untitled-11.jpg 

This joker Patil keeps giving interviews of how they have been very brave made great selection n have great bench now, thanks to their effort, loosers, Indian team selection have been worse apart from WI n SA due to a partner even Bongs n retrograde Brits now nurture n introduce young talent but we dont

On 9/13/2016 at 9:24 PM, fineleg said:

Kuldeep Yadav to Gambhir, OUT, shout for leg before and given. Gambhir not happy with the decision and has a word with the umpire. Coming to the delivery itself, it was nicely tossed up on middle and leg and Gambhir is drawn forward. He misses the front foot defence and the ball spins away to hit him right in front of the stumps. Gambhir had been troubled by Kuldeep Yadav throughout and now perishs to him...

That's interesting, given Gambhir is particularly strong against spinners. Well done Kuldeep Yadav

From what i heard, players found it hard to read his hand under the lights.....Incidentally, all of his wickets (except one) were under the lights....

Having said this, he had bowled really well on those flat, useless tracks