Should ICF arm chair pundits say sorry to Shastri?

G_B_

This is like that Pant-Tendulkar thread. Some of us provided examples of Vihari being a better bowler than Kumble & Rohit being a better test batsman than Sachin since they have now won in Aus unlike their predecessors.

John Buchanan was the biggest example of being at the right place at the right time. Shane Warne himself questioned his weirdness.

I also noticed how the torrid 4-1 in Eng is already forgotten by beating this poor Aus side.

Edited by Clarke

Whoever becomes the Coach & Capatin of india from now on , will have lot to celebrate in next 3-4 years .

Its immeterial who are they . Thats because the pieces of the puzzle are falling in place .

The pace attack should maintain their current level or may go up a bit as better pacers than Umesh , even Ishant will come in. 

Current spin department is good enough for another 3-4 years.

Will have an impact WK batsman who is matured .

Should be having a better opening pair than the one we saw for last 1 year or so.

Middle order too will be better than the current with Gill holding an important position.

In a professional set-up  ...  

Anyone who delivers results deserves praise. The same applies to Shastri.  

Similarly,  anyone who cannot deliver results needs to be held accountable. 

A big praise for Shastri  for winning in Australia.  Well done  !

And he should be held accountable for the losses in South Africa and England.

Edited by express bowling

Shashtri jee was revolutionary to Indian cricket. His insight was so helpful that he lead us to first ever series win in Australia. One liners like "Go out and smash them" and allowing players to skip practice to play Fifa on PS4 had a deep impact on the players. He is like father figure to that Indian team. I kindly request Indian GOVT to get rid of Gandhi jee and re print every single note with shashtri jee' s face on it.  It will encourage young generation to well in their life. 

Peace and love..  Ram ram ram ram 

Edited by Rasgulla
25 minutes ago, Clarke said:

This is like that Pant-Tendulkar thread. Some of us provided examples of Vihari being a better bowler than Kumble & Rohit being a better test batsman than Sachin since they have now won in Aus unlike their predecessors.

John Buchanan was the biggest example of being at the right place at the right time. Shane Warne himself questioned his weirdness.

I also noticed how the torrid 4-1 in Eng is already forgotten by beating this poor Aus side.

It's been forgotten  cause we are winning in Aus for the first time ever.

It's also not as if we had a glorious record in England when Shastri was not coach. This decade has been a **** show in England as far as test cricket goes 

Based on your logic guru Gary was in the right place at the right time with many greats not needing coaching. 

No need to say sorry to any body..... they are  highly paid professional people  who earns accolades at the expense of interest, time,money  and mental moods of lakhs and lakhs of fans.. So when they do not produce results especially because of their own school kid level blunders they thoroughly deserve to be severely  criticized.  On the other hand when they do well they need to be deservedly appreciated too.Shastri still deserve to be criticised more than  appreciated as of now. This because he was the one  who was in charge when hacks like Dhawan,Rohit,Kartik etc were played  in SAF & ENG where eventually we lost series. All in all Shastri is still far from adequate as a high quality coach.

5 minutes ago, Rasgulla said:

Shashtri jee was revolutionary to Indian cricket. His insight was so helpful that he lead us to first ever series win in India. One liners like "Go out and smash him" and allowing players to skip practice to play Fifa on PS4 had a deep impact on the players. He is like father figure to that Indian team. I kindly request Indian GOVT to get rid of Gandhi jee and re print every single note with shashtri jee' s face on it.  It will encourage young generation to well in their life. 

Epic :hysterical:

Being at the right place at the right time does wonders.

But then history is written by winners and Shastri will go down as the coach who helped us win a series in Aus.

Back in 2010 end, Dhoni seemed like an invincible captain in tests.

Number 1 ranking and an ALMOST win in SA series (only because of a screw up by our inept bowlers). People used call Dhoni a brilliant tactician even in tests and used to cite the home game where he populated the offside with fielders to induce an Aussie collapse.

What happened next is there for everyone to see.

Not saying same will happen to Shastri as this is a young team with the greatest bowling attack in its history.

Truth can be a mysterious thing.

If people think Shastri is the reason why we won the series in Aus, more power to them.

Ironically, this guy almost ended the career of the VERY GUY who has helped us win this iconic series. :phehe:

Still at the end of the day, results talk and BS walks. I suppose.

So congrats to fans and Shastri. :cheer:

6 minutes ago, Rasgulla said:

Shashtri jee was revolutionary to Indian cricket. His insight was so helpful that he lead us to first ever series win in India. One liners like "Go out and smash him" and allowing players to skip practice to play Fifa on PS4 had a deep impact on the players. He is like father figure to that Indian team. I kindly request Indian GOVT to get rid of Gandhi jee and re print every single note with shashtri jee' s face on it.  It will encourage young generation to well in their life. 

Is it a typo .. ? Did you mean Rum ..rum...rum

Edited by prudent_kreeda
Just now, G_B_ said:

It's been forgotten  cause we are winning in Aus for the first time ever.

It's also not as if we had a glorious record in England when Shastri was not coach. This decade has been a **** show in England as far as test cricket goes 

Based on your logic guru Gary was in the right place at the right time with many greats not needing coaching. 

On paper we had the team to win in England, heck even after the loss of BK & Bumrah we had half a chance to win that series. Shall I count the number of blunders they made during the series? Is it only hindsight that shows us Kuldeep need not have been played at Lord's or Ashwin at Rose bowl? Is he paid to do a job or just admire his beer? Does he come out & apologize to Indian fans after we lose, nope he says this this the best ever team aboard - before backtracking & slime-balling his excuses - like no one plays well abroad why pick only on India? Do you not see the irony, hypocrisy?

10 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

Look who would you have? A leech like Shastri who probably does not get in the way of kohli 

Or

Kumble who constantly clashes with kohli and creates two camps with players pitted against each other?

we don't need either .We need a coach who  is able to deal with every person in the set up   for the  benefit of the team. ' probably does not get in the way '- That means he is just a  good for nothing  money sucking   dummy.

As for Kumble , we don't know  exactly the reasons for his split with Kohli and eventual  resignation from the coaching post.

Great feeling to win a test series in any of the SENA countries.    But no need to say sorry to the coach.    It was a bit of a depleted Aussie batting line up.  We would not hv won the series if Smith and Warner had played.   Being at the right time and right place matters.  

I see a trend emerging on icf.

When we won the champions  trophy in England in 2013 it was same sentiment. Coach Fletcher was apparently did not deserve any credit. 

Personally I don't see any coach in the world ever getting a mark of approval on ICF as India coach.